127 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We Loved this stew! I did omit the celery and added a can of beef broth and tomato soup and it turned out EXACTLY like the stew my mom made for years and years and I never thought I'd see it again...until yesterday...Thank You NurseDi!!! I love all your recipes but am especially grateful for this one!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rharris98 January 14, 2003

Hey this was to "DI" for!!!!! LOL....I also added an onion and when I came home from work I found I had 2 additional kids for dinner so I added a can of corn and a can of peas to stretch a little. Served it over corn bread and EVERYONE had seconds. Thanks DI for this great additon to my repritoire of "comfort" foods!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE October 04, 2002

So easy and so yummy! I did not make any changes and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahMarie December 29, 2003

I added a can of cream of mushroom soup. This is a great stew slow cooked all day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe October 23, 2010

Super recipe...quick to put together and fabulous taste...I used the smaller can of tomatoes as suggested by some of the other reviewers...we didn't have any leftovers...thanks for sharing this...it's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonP March 05, 2013

A truly great stew and will be a regular in our house. I did add an onion and about 2 tbl. of Kitchen Bouquet. Thanks NurseDi for sharing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garnet September 20, 2002

+ 5 more stars...this was absolutely the best stew. Very flavorful. The only change I will make the next time is to double the recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirley King May 02, 2009

Wonderful! This will be our stew choice from now on. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie May 09, 2002

OMG!!! This stew is so yummy and was perfect for the cold, harsh weather we have been having. Very easy. I just put all the ingredients in the crock. I used a 28 oz. can of tomatoes and that was just right. Cooked all day. The meat was so tender and well seasoned. No other beef stew for us from now on. This is the one. Thanks Nurse Di.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust November 08, 2002

This is great and so easy! I was out of canned tomatoes, but had half a package of dried tomatoes which I used along with 2 cups of water. A bit sweeter than using just regular tomatoes but good anyways! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ April 21, 2012
Fabulous Beef Stew