Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabulous Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabulous Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    126 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 126

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2003

      We Loved this stew! I did omit the celery and added a can of beef broth and tomato soup and it turned out EXACTLY like the stew my mom made for years and years and I never thought I'd see it again...until yesterday...Thank You NurseDi!!! I love all your recipes but am especially grateful for this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2002

      Hey this was to "DI" for!!!!! LOL....I also added an onion and when I came home from work I found I had 2 additional kids for dinner so I added a can of corn and a can of peas to stretch a little. Served it over corn bread and EVERYONE had seconds. Thanks DI for this great additon to my repritoire of "comfort" foods!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      So easy and so yummy! I did not make any changes and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      I added a can of cream of mushroom soup. This is a great stew slow cooked all day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      Super recipe...quick to put together and fabulous taste...I used the smaller can of tomatoes as suggested by some of the other reviewers...we didn't have any leftovers...thanks for sharing this...it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      A truly great stew and will be a regular in our house. I did add an onion and about 2 tbl. of Kitchen Bouquet. Thanks NurseDi for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      + 5 more stars...this was absolutely the best stew. Very flavorful. The only change I will make the next time is to double the recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2002

      Wonderful! This will be our stew choice from now on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2002

      OMG!!! This stew is so yummy and was perfect for the cold, harsh weather we have been having. Very easy. I just put all the ingredients in the crock. I used a 28 oz. can of tomatoes and that was just right. Cooked all day. The meat was so tender and well seasoned. No other beef stew for us from now on. This is the one. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      This is great and so easy! I was out of canned tomatoes, but had half a package of dried tomatoes which I used along with 2 cups of water. A bit sweeter than using just regular tomatoes but good anyways! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      This recipe deserves more than 5 stars:). I let it cook for 10 hours in the crock-pot. We enjoyed it for lunch today. It was easy and so deliciuos. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

      WOW! I think this is the best recipe for beef stew I have ever tasted. I followed the recipe except for the cornstarch, which I realized I did not have, so I blended a few of the cooked potatoes together and added those for thickness. My DH had THREE bowls! This will be the only beef stew recipe in my house! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      i love your recipes. this is another winner. my family liked it so much that i had to quadruple it today so there would be enough for seconds!! the house smelled wonderful. i used lots and lots of carrots, an onion, 4 or 5 celery, 2 envelopes of onion soup, 4 14oz. cans of stewed or cut up tomatos plus 6# of stew meat and the seasonings in your recipe. i ran out of room for potatos. this will be the only beef stew recipe i use from now on. thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2002

      Fabulous is the perfect word for this stew. I had to use a large can of crushed tomatoes - I didn't have whole ones, and I got a late start so I cooked it on high for approximately 5 1/2 hours adding dumplings for the last half hour. I also had to use frozen sliced carrots and I put those and cut up red potatoes in the microwave for about 10 minutes before adding them to the crockpot - mine never come out soft enough if I don't do that. I also added some brown sugar for our own taste. It was so thick I didn't have to thicken it at all. Everything was tender and delicious - loved by all. Thanks again NurseDi for another five star winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2002

      This stew recipe tasted so good. I don't know what I would do without Lipton's Onion Soup Mix. It really adds some incredible flavor. The broth was good and thick. We ate it after cooking for 6 hours on low because we just couldn't stand it any longer. The smell made us weak. My husband and I give this high marks. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      Fantastic recipe! This comes out perfect. The soup mix is a wonderful addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      Awesome recipe. I made several adjustments, because of what I had in the pantry or to suit our personal tastes. Still it is a great basic stew recipe. We ate the leftovers for several days and my husband continued to rave about it to the very last drop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Loved it. My very picky husband actually approved. I made it with one can of beef stock instead of bouillon. I used 6 potatoes, stewed tomatoes and didn't need the cornstarch, cold water. Yummy. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2002

      Fabulous is just the right word to describe this stew. I made it last weekend when my parents were here. We all thought it tasted yummy. Chunky with a thick broth. Great seasonings too. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2002

      The BEST!! I am amazed that something so easy could taste this good. I made your stew yesterday and it was most delicious. We just finished off the left-overs and it was even better today. Others have said thick and chunky--well that about sums it up. Thanks Nurse Di.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabulous Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (436 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 454.1
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    16%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1156.2 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    35%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    43%
    Protein 43.8 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes