Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabulous Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabulous Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    123 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 123

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2002

      OMG!!! This stew is so yummy and was perfect for the cold, harsh weather we have been having. Very easy. I just put all the ingredients in the crock. I used a 28 oz. can of tomatoes and that was just right. Cooked all day. The meat was so tender and well seasoned. No other beef stew for us from now on. This is the one. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      i love your recipes. this is another winner. my family liked it so much that i had to quadruple it today so there would be enough for seconds!! the house smelled wonderful. i used lots and lots of carrots, an onion, 4 or 5 celery, 2 envelopes of onion soup, 4 14oz. cans of stewed or cut up tomatos plus 6# of stew meat and the seasonings in your recipe. i ran out of room for potatos. this will be the only beef stew recipe i use from now on. thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      A truly great stew and will be a regular in our house. I did add an onion and about 2 tbl. of Kitchen Bouquet. Thanks NurseDi for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2002

      Wonderful! This will be our stew choice from now on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      This was so good! I wasn't sure if I'd like the tomatoes in it or not, so I just used a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of the 28 oz can. I'll do the same thing next time. I love that this is a crockpot recipe; it makes it a lot easier and the house smells good while it's cooking. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2002

      This was a very easy to prepare recipe for a family supper. The stew was ready in about 5 hours. Next time I will add a large can of tomatoes instead of a regular sized can and maybe reduce the amount of onion soup mix. Quite tasty for a one dish crockpot meal! Thank you for posting, NurseDi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      I'm really sorry to say, but this was not good. I was looking for a simple beef stew recipe and thought this would fit the bill, but it did not. As many of the other reviews stated, it's too tomato-y--it reminded me of that quick weight loss soup with the cabbage and onion and tomatoes...gross. I added lots of other stuff to this one to make it palatable, and will not be making it again. The stew I typically make has a tomato juice base, and it does not turn out nearly as acidic as this one, so I'm guessing the canned tomatoes are just not my thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      This is far too tomatoey and bland for our tastes. The one packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix didn't give it near enough flavor. I'm really surprised this recipe has so many fans. It was more palatable the second day according to my husband.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This beef stew was delicious! I cooked it on warm/low for 11 hours. The potatoes (baking) were firm so I was afraid they were going to be hard, but they were definitely cooked all of the way through and added a great texture. I added frozen peas, diced onions, and barley and it turned out great! My husband thought it was the perfect stew consistency! Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2002

      The BEST!! I am amazed that something so easy could taste this good. I made your stew yesterday and it was most delicious. We just finished off the left-overs and it was even better today. Others have said thick and chunky--well that about sums it up. Thanks Nurse Di.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      This was quite delicious. I had to add a little more liquid but that was because my roommate brought home the wrong type of tomatoes. No biggie. I really liked this and served it with homemade cornbread. Will make again! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      This is amazing my family enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing. It made the house smell amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      Super recipe...quick to put together and fabulous taste...I used the smaller can of tomatoes as suggested by some of the other reviewers...we didn't have any leftovers...thanks for sharing this...it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      This is a keeper for our family. I was pleasantly surprised at how much flavor this stew had. My family loved it! Kudos!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      Family liked this. Maybe a tiny bit to much tomatoe but fine. I added an onion an an extra clove of garlic. Peas would have been nice but none on hand. I cooked 5.5 hrs on high and added potatoes and celery after an hour or 2 of cooking and added carrots 45min before done added the corn starch mixture with only 30min left. Will make again might reduce tomatoes? Great comfort food for the snow storm we had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      This stew was amazing! The only change I made was using 1/2 the amount of tomatoes since DH is not a big fan. This was so easy to put together, will be making this again. Made for I Recommend Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      This was great stew, made it the other day and shared it with B & SIL, everyone loved it and asked for more so next time I will double the reciepe. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      Oh so yummy! The only things I did differently was to dredge the beef cubes in flour and brown them before adding to the mix, as a result it was thick enough the cornstarch was not needed. Oh, and I added a bay leaf. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      Wonderful recipe! I dont like roast meat, but using it in this dish made it the best I ever had! It is the only way I will use up my roast from now on! I did make some adjustments per what I had on hand. I used a 15oz can of tomato sauce instead and also garlic powder instead of whole cloves. I doubles almost everything depending what fit in the crockpot! But this turned out to be the best I had. Kids loved it and Hubby loved it. This is a keeper!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      This is great and so easy! I was out of canned tomatoes, but had half a package of dried tomatoes which I used along with 2 cups of water. A bit sweeter than using just regular tomatoes but good anyways! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabulous Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (436 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 454.1
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    16%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1156.2 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    35%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    43%
    Protein 43.8 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites