127 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG!!! This stew is so yummy and was perfect for the cold, harsh weather we have been having. Very easy. I just put all the ingredients in the crock. I used a 28 oz. can of tomatoes and that was just right. Cooked all day. The meat was so tender and well seasoned. No other beef stew for us from now on. This is the one. Thanks Nurse Di.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust November 08, 2002

i love your recipes. this is another winner. my family liked it so much that i had to quadruple it today so there would be enough for seconds!! the house smelled wonderful. i used lots and lots of carrots, an onion, 4 or 5 celery, 2 envelopes of onion soup, 4 14oz. cans of stewed or cut up tomatos plus 6# of stew meat and the seasonings in your recipe. i ran out of room for potatos. this will be the only beef stew recipe i use from now on. thank you!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patticakes October 17, 2002

A truly great stew and will be a regular in our house. I did add an onion and about 2 tbl. of Kitchen Bouquet. Thanks NurseDi for sharing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garnet September 20, 2002

Wonderful! This will be our stew choice from now on. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie May 09, 2002

This was so good! I wasn't sure if I'd like the tomatoes in it or not, so I just used a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of the 28 oz can. I'll do the same thing next time. I love that this is a crockpot recipe; it makes it a lot easier and the house smells good while it's cooking. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG February 19, 2010

This was a very easy to prepare recipe for a family supper. The stew was ready in about 5 hours. Next time I will add a large can of tomatoes instead of a regular sized can and maybe reduce the amount of onion soup mix. Quite tasty for a one dish crockpot meal! Thank you for posting, NurseDi!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev October 14, 2002

I'm really sorry to say, but this was not good. I was looking for a simple beef stew recipe and thought this would fit the bill, but it did not. As many of the other reviews stated, it's too tomato-y--it reminded me of that quick weight loss soup with the cabbage and onion and tomatoes...gross. I added lots of other stuff to this one to make it palatable, and will not be making it again. The stew I typically make has a tomato juice base, and it does not turn out nearly as acidic as this one, so I'm guessing the canned tomatoes are just not my thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitterstitcher October 05, 2010

This is far too tomatoey and bland for our tastes. The one packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix didn't give it near enough flavor. I'm really surprised this recipe has so many fans. It was more palatable the second day according to my husband.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri Lou May 13, 2010

This beef stew was delicious! I cooked it on warm/low for 11 hours. The potatoes (baking) were firm so I was afraid they were going to be hard, but they were definitely cooked all of the way through and added a great texture. I added frozen peas, diced onions, and barley and it turned out great! My husband thought it was the perfect stew consistency! Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lgcoffin January 07, 2009

For us, I would say 4 1/2 stars. The stew had great taste and we all liked it. I did have a problem with the potatoes not being cooked. I am not sure what happened there. I cut them into 3/4 " cubes and thought they might be mushy but no, they were still hard after 7 hrs on low. So, I picked them out and boiled them on top of the stove in the stew broth for a further 25 minutes and they never did get soft. I was using "white potatoes" from Prince Edward Island. No idea what happened there, but definitely not the fault of the recipe. I don't know why the last review was only 1*...this is definitely a very good stew. I will make this again but will use different potatoes next time. Thx so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word December 29, 2008
Fabulous Beef Stew