Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabulous Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabulous Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    126 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 126

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2002

      OMG!!! This stew is so yummy and was perfect for the cold, harsh weather we have been having. Very easy. I just put all the ingredients in the crock. I used a 28 oz. can of tomatoes and that was just right. Cooked all day. The meat was so tender and well seasoned. No other beef stew for us from now on. This is the one. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      i love your recipes. this is another winner. my family liked it so much that i had to quadruple it today so there would be enough for seconds!! the house smelled wonderful. i used lots and lots of carrots, an onion, 4 or 5 celery, 2 envelopes of onion soup, 4 14oz. cans of stewed or cut up tomatos plus 6# of stew meat and the seasonings in your recipe. i ran out of room for potatos. this will be the only beef stew recipe i use from now on. thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      A truly great stew and will be a regular in our house. I did add an onion and about 2 tbl. of Kitchen Bouquet. Thanks NurseDi for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2002

      Wonderful! This will be our stew choice from now on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      This was so good! I wasn't sure if I'd like the tomatoes in it or not, so I just used a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of the 28 oz can. I'll do the same thing next time. I love that this is a crockpot recipe; it makes it a lot easier and the house smells good while it's cooking. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2002

      This was a very easy to prepare recipe for a family supper. The stew was ready in about 5 hours. Next time I will add a large can of tomatoes instead of a regular sized can and maybe reduce the amount of onion soup mix. Quite tasty for a one dish crockpot meal! Thank you for posting, NurseDi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      I'm really sorry to say, but this was not good. I was looking for a simple beef stew recipe and thought this would fit the bill, but it did not. As many of the other reviews stated, it's too tomato-y--it reminded me of that quick weight loss soup with the cabbage and onion and tomatoes...gross. I added lots of other stuff to this one to make it palatable, and will not be making it again. The stew I typically make has a tomato juice base, and it does not turn out nearly as acidic as this one, so I'm guessing the canned tomatoes are just not my thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      This is far too tomatoey and bland for our tastes. The one packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix didn't give it near enough flavor. I'm really surprised this recipe has so many fans. It was more palatable the second day according to my husband.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This beef stew was delicious! I cooked it on warm/low for 11 hours. The potatoes (baking) were firm so I was afraid they were going to be hard, but they were definitely cooked all of the way through and added a great texture. I added frozen peas, diced onions, and barley and it turned out great! My husband thought it was the perfect stew consistency! Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      For us, I would say 4 1/2 stars. The stew had great taste and we all liked it. I did have a problem with the potatoes not being cooked. I am not sure what happened there. I cut them into 3/4 " cubes and thought they might be mushy but no, they were still hard after 7 hrs on low. So, I picked them out and boiled them on top of the stove in the stew broth for a further 25 minutes and they never did get soft. I was using "white potatoes" from Prince Edward Island. No idea what happened there, but definitely not the fault of the recipe. I don't know why the last review was only 1*...this is definitely a very good stew. I will make this again but will use different potatoes next time. Thx so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2002

      The BEST!! I am amazed that something so easy could taste this good. I made your stew yesterday and it was most delicious. We just finished off the left-overs and it was even better today. Others have said thick and chunky--well that about sums it up. Thanks Nurse Di.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2014

      This stew is so delicious and just perfect for the cool fall weather! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2014

      This Beef Stew is absolutely delicious! Watch the salt though. If you're going to add the entire package of onion soup mix don't add any more salt or the broth tastes too salty. This is my Slow Cooker Beef Stew recipe now. Won't use any other recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2014

      Thanks for a great recipe. I followed some of the tips offered and added a can of Beef Broth rather than the bullion and used Fire Roasted diced tomatoes eliminating the seeds while adding flavor. I also added a couple of Bay Leaves, a cup of Merlot and a bit of Kitchen Bouquet. I also browned my meat first the day before since I was cooking some Chicken Fried Steak. I cooked mine on High for 7-8 hours and kept checking to make sure the potatoes were done. The meat was still tender (I added it after a couple hours) when the potatoes were done. I had cut them in quarters and they were the medium sized White potatoes which another reviewer had problems with. Still in the end they were tasty and everything was cooked properly. I did add the corn starch but since I had so much other extra liquid, I just took a half cup of juice from the pot and mixed in the starch and poured it back in for a half hour. It was perfect. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      This was quite delicious. I had to add a little more liquid but that was because my roommate brought home the wrong type of tomatoes. No biggie. I really liked this and served it with homemade cornbread. Will make again! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      This is amazing my family enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing. It made the house smell amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      Super recipe...quick to put together and fabulous taste...I used the smaller can of tomatoes as suggested by some of the other reviewers...we didn't have any leftovers...thanks for sharing this...it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      This is a keeper for our family. I was pleasantly surprised at how much flavor this stew had. My family loved it! Kudos!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      Family liked this. Maybe a tiny bit to much tomatoe but fine. I added an onion an an extra clove of garlic. Peas would have been nice but none on hand. I cooked 5.5 hrs on high and added potatoes and celery after an hour or 2 of cooking and added carrots 45min before done added the corn starch mixture with only 30min left. Will make again might reduce tomatoes? Great comfort food for the snow storm we had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      This stew was amazing! The only change I made was using 1/2 the amount of tomatoes since DH is not a big fan. This was so easy to put together, will be making this again. Made for I Recommend Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabulous Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (436 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 454.1
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    16%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1156.2 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    35%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    43%
    Protein 43.8 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites