Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabric Softener Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabric Softener

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2007

      This recipe shows a serious lack of understanding about what fabric softeners, and more importantly, the recipe ingredients are supposed to do. Fabric softeners of this type work by binding up the calcium and magnesium in hard water. The bicarbonate in baking soda is what does this. The vinegar is neutralizing some of the baking soda, without adding any benefit. This is only working because the vinegar didn't neutralize all of the baking soda. A better recipe would be to just use less baking soda (washing soda would work better) and no vinegar. Your friendly neighborhood chemist, Glenn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I'm sorry but this didn't work for me. My washing machine has a center cup dispenser for fabric softener and this left the baking soda in the cup. I shook it up good too before pouring in.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      This is a wonderful recipe. But if you have a machine that tosses and doesn't fill for final rinse, be careful, it will spot and take the hue out of browns, yellows and some dark colors.I am talking about front loading washing machines.When in doubt use on light colors or whites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2005

      I really loved this everything is so soft. Made major mistake last time I made it. Had quart jar and poured vinegar in too fast, what a mess. To make matters worse, after it died down I did it again.The softener is wonderful I am a klutz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      i love thrifty and downy makes me itch good job

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2005

      Be careful when using baking soda in the laundry. I have used it on heavily soiled laundry and since it is a mild abrasive it can also cause fading. Not in the sense that the water turns color, more like the color becomes "rubbed off".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      This is a great alternative to the store bought fabric softener. I was fearful that it would leave the clothes smelling of vinegar, but there wasn't even a hint of it. The laundry was soft and clean smelling. I do love the smell of Downey, but towels aren't very absorbant with it. I will use this home-made version for my towels from here on. I'm so happy to have found this recipe, thanks for posting colorboyswife.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2004

    • on April 18, 2004

      Sorry, I had high hopes for this, but it didn't soften my clothes much -- maybe I needed to use more? Also the baking soda would not stay dispersed, even with vigorous shaking right before use. I ended up with a blob of unused baking soda in the bottom of the container.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      I can't believe it, but this really works... and VERY well at that! No static cling and everything is soft, just like when I used the dryer sheets but without the scent (which never really stays on your clothes anyway.) Thank you so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2004

      Personally, I think the smell of Downey is highly overrated - this substitute is a must for any thrifty laundress! I added it during the rinse cycle - my towels and my husband's work clothes were soft & static free and I saved money. Thanx colorboyswife!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      I love soft clothes but I hate the oily feel you get after a while using fabric softeners. This cures that problem! The clothes are soft! And the towels absorb water again! Thank you so much! I no longer have to dry my kids with 'sandpaper' towels!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      Wow, this is going to save a lot of $ for us. The first load I must not have added enough(was very lg load) and I wasn't impressed but tried again on reg size load & everything was soft & no static.I love the fact that there's no sent to give me a headache.THANKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      I couldn't agree more with the other reviewer of this recipe. This was super wonderful - it worked like a charm! I used it this evening on my lightweight clothes and on some heavy bath towels as well. I hung them outside on the drying rack. Hours later, the clothes have dried and are wonderfully soft. Thank you so much for posting this! Made my day:-) Merry Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      For all of the price conscious women (and men)...this does exactly what she says! I have been using it for about two weeks now, both in my dryer and hanging clothes outside...which I love to do! Today I gave it a real test and hung clothes outside on a cold, calm day. I had both lightweight white stuff and heavy knit colored clothes. They are wonderfully soft. Good stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabric Softener

    Serving Size: 1 (1874 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes