Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Extreme Low Fat Sweet-And-Sour Skillet Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Extreme Low Fat Sweet-And-Sour Skillet Chicken

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2011

      I was hungry for sweet & sour chicken so I did a Google search. When Kittencal's name popped up I knew I found the right recipe - and I was not wrong. Thank you once again for providing a delcious meal to our table!!! This meal was probably the brightest part of my entire week. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us. I'm adding it to my favorites cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      Very yummy!!! Used boneless skinless chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts. Doubled the sauce and added carrots as suggested by others. Mixed my cooked rice directly in with it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      Fabulous! I had really BIG veggies, so I doubled the sauce. Even my husand, who won't order sweet and sour chicken in restarants because it's 'too swee', loved this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      Very good and easy! I added carrots for color and nutrition...served over quinoa. My five and seven year olds gobbled it up and asked for seconds. This will be added to my regular menus...also should mention I cooked in a wok. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      This was absolutely delicious! A perfect dish to start off the typical New Years resolution. Only additions I made was adding a little bit of garlic powder while the chicken was boiling in the chicken stock and then added some red pepper flakes while the sauce was thickening. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Wonderful! Prepared just as you wrote it. Husband loved it but being a saucy wench I'd double the sauce next time. We have a fur brood of seven ourselves. Gotta love the animals. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      My family absolutely loved this recipe. It was perfect when I doubled the sauce and the vegetables. It was great. This will be a family favorite!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      I've made this many, many times. It freezes very well, so I use it for OAMC too. Just omit the veggies for freezing, and add them on cooking day. So very delicious over brown rice! I add thinly sliced carrots too, and about a tsp of fresh grated ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      Pretty good and very easy to make. We added mushrooms and carrots instead of the celery. We used the pineapple juice and added a couple TBSP of OJ concentrate. It was strange starting with stock instead of oil but it still tasted good. We will make this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      This really was delicious! I had lots of red bell peppers but no green bell pepper so I just used two reds, and I used a can of crushed pineapple, using the juice in the can for the juice component. Followed the rest of the recipe as slated, served over rice. Really great recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      This is delicious! I used snap peas and broccoli instead of celery and green bell peppers. Thank you for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe! I made mine a little less low-fat by sauteing in olive oil instead of chicken broth, and I left out the celery and green pepper and added some broccoli. I used fresh pineapple and a little less soy sauce than the recipe called for. I also subbed rice wine vinegar for the white vinegar. We ate this over brown basmati rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      We loved it! It was so good. I'm going to double the vegetables next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Really good. I left off the celery and used crushed pineapple. Served it over brown rice and this was easy and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      I was looking for low-fat recipes for my son and ended up making it for my hubby since it has that Chinese flair to it. We both loved it and it is now on our regular rota. I always use pineapple but sometimes I don't have peppers and have to omit them with still great results! Fabulous low-fat, healthy and quick meal. Great for a weekday meal when there isn't much time after work and looks like I've taken hours to do it! Thanks for posting this Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      My absolute new favorite figure friendly recipe for an Asian Chicken Dish. To cut sugar and make it a bit more WW friendly, I used low-cal OJ and upped the veggies in sub for rice. Thanks Kittencal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      Delicious!we loved it and will be making it again. A couple of oddities in the recipe, cornstarch not mentioned in the instructions, but easy enough to know where and when, and Soy sauce in the instructions but not in the ingredient list, so I added a tablespoon, nice it gave it a bit of colour, chicken is so dead white cook by this method. I also didn't have any red pepper in so I doubled up on the green pepper, in any case none of this mattered it was delicious! served over brown rice. (I have to tell you, I was interupped right at the point that it was ready to serve, left it on very low for 45 minutes!! by the time we were able to sit down and eat the pepper has lost it's colour and the sauce had almost disapeared. I added another half pepper and about 1/4 cup of the leftover pineapple juice with a bit of water, stirred it up while reheating it and thank gawd it worked!!, just shows what a great recipe this is!!) thanks for sharing a real keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      Excellent! We have leftover chicken so we sauted the vegetables in broth, then added cooked chicken. Definately a keeper. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      This was just devine and really hit the spot as a quick midweek dinner. Should probably mention that I am not a big fan of sweet and sour dishes found in too many Chinese-American restaruants - too sweet, too oily and too clumpy. If you are looking for more typical fare, this may not be your cup of tea. I loved that the sauce while lighter in consistency, had the same tang that one does look for in a sweet and sour dish. Also because the sauce was not so thick it allowed the flavors of the veggies to actually come through. I made two small changes to the preparation. had a bit of minced ginger (less than 1/2 teaspoon) and tossed that into the original broth. Also added a couple of carrot chips to add color and boost the amount of vegetables in the finished dish. Yummy! Thanks Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Extreme Low Fat Sweet-And-Sour Skillet Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (280 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 418.4
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    12%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 114.1 mg
    38%
    Sodium 1799.8 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 35.3 g
    141%
    Protein 43.5 g
    87%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    salt and pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites