30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I thought this was okay but didn't really wow me..good for low fat but I just couldn't get past the texture...it's very spongey just like a microwave cooked cake and that doesn't really appeal to my tastes...always good to try something new though so thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** December 22, 2010

I'm amazed by this chocolate cake and cannot believe that it's sugarfree. This will be my go to diabetic friendly dessert along with the "absolutely sugar free frosting"...in choco, of course. It seriously did not taste like sugar free or low fat. I did follow another reviewer's advice and did half spenda and half brown sugar splenda...but I used the splenda recipe for brown sugar, which is pancake syrup mixed in with the splenda. I didn't add the coffee crystal though, and the recipe didn't need it for my taste. Just try it:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilorchid82 November 09, 2010

Fortunatley for me, Kitten adds some little hint or tip to the intro of her recipes. I come away always knowing something more than just how to make her recipe. Nothing prepared me for the biggest surprise I've had in a long time. Not only is it easy to make,but it's even easier to eat! The texture is soft, chccolate-y and just plain 'ol good! Thanks to you, Kitten, I now can have something sweet and deliscious while I'm trying to lose a few pounds! I don't know why in the world this recipe doesn't have ten tons of 5-star reviews!! It's so aswesome, I highly recommend this recipe, you'd never guess it was low-fat! I don't even frost this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER June 30, 2010

A great low fat cake that satisfied my chocolate craving! I did use the half white sugar and half Splenda, plain yogurt, and two whole eggs. Topped with a dollop of Cool Whip and had a very nice dessert. Made and reviewed for Kitten's Recipe Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 February 04, 2010

Thank you so much for this great recipe. I used 1 cup splenda and 1/4 cup sugar and it turned out great. I also added 1/2 cup of milk chocolate chips (maybe next time i'll use 1 cup ;) ). At first when it was still hot it tasted like a very lowfat cake which was not that good, but then when i left it for 2 hours I was suprised that it tasted really really yummy. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mahoush8 February 01, 2009

I have never tried a low-fat cake before and really didn't know what to expect. I was pretty happy with this one. The texture came out kind of spongy which is different than what I'm used to but the different texture wasn't bad. As far as taste goes you can tell it's a low-fat cake, but what I did was add half a bag of semisweet chocolate chips and this made all the difference. I know they add a bit more calories and fat but they REALLY turned this cake into something special. I will definitely be making this again, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieNS January 31, 2009

Not awesome, but good enough for my craving. I was hoping it would taste a little more chocolate. It's only 2 WW points a serving, so I certainly can deal with that. I didn't have plain or vanilla FF yogurt, so I used some strawberry we had on hand. Don't think my DH will like it, but that just means more for me :) I will probably do what someone else suggested and freeze servings of it for when my craving is at it's worst!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
star4586 December 10, 2008

I have made this many times. I have a teenage son that has to watch his fat content due to a medical condition. This has become a family favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brhein November 30, 2008

Great cake! I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and added 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips. Doesn't help keep the fat down, but it was really good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elysiafrancis May 01, 2008

This is a wonderful light and tasty cake. It's not as sinful as a regular chocolate cake but it is perfect when you are on a diet and still want your chocolate!! Used about 1 cup sugar and used low-fat vanilla yogurt. Thanks Kit! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie March 11, 2008
Extreme Low-Fat Chocolate Cake