Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Extreme Low-Fat Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Extreme Low-Fat Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2008

      After reading all the reviews, I took the advice of chef #67656 and used both Splenda (3/4 cup) and Splenda brown (1/4cup), stirring both into the dry flour and cocoa mixture. My addition was a tablespoon of instant coffee crystals to negate any chemical aftertaste. It did the trick! I used 3 egg whites and 1 egg yolk. As did Chef #79888, I whipped the egg whites into a soft meringue then folded them into the batter. Mine was perfectly done after a mere 20 minutes convection bake time. I had no trouble with the cake sticking to the pan even though I just used cooking spray on the bottom. While it was hot, I smeared it with sugar free orange marmalade as a pretend frosting. I was *very* impressed with the results, both in texture and taste! If you did not know, you would never guess that it was essentially fat free. Thanks for posting this recipe! I am sure to use it often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      love this cake.... I've lost 3 stone and wanted something to take the edge off my chocolate fix and found this excellent cake that's quick,easy and full of flavour

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I made this yummy cake tonight, it totally satisfied my chocolate craving. I made it a bit different- I whipped the egg whites to soft peaks in my kitchenaid then followed the recipe, adding a tsp of gelatin. I spread the batter in a parchment lined jelly-roll pan and sprinkled the batter with 2 Tbs of chocolate chips. I baked at 330 degrees for 30 mins. After it came out of the oven and cooled, I sliced it length-wise and filled it with a tub of fat free cool whip. YUM! Will definitely make again. ETA: I made these again, still yummy- but if you do cupcakes be sure to spray your papercups with cooking spray or the cakes will stick to the wrapper like glue. Bake for 20 mins for cupcakes. ETA #2- I keep coming back to this recipe- if I could give it 10 stars I would. Its to die when topped with a smear of peanut butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      If you have to do anything to "negate chemical aftertaste" it tells you that you shouldn't eat this. Chemical anything is bad and that includes artificial sweeteners. You can still make a healthier cake with natural ingredients. Won't be making this ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      I made this with just a couple of changes such as vanilla yogart, and 1/4 of brown sugar and added pecan pieces. I also used a pudding whipped cream frosting and served this at a gathering for couples and it was a success! No one knew it was low cal until I told them. I will most def make this again. Especially since my husband is a junkaholic and snack sleeps. This way I don't have to worry about him having a sugar overload in the middle of the night. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      The best low fat cake iv ever made, i used 3/4 cup splenda and 1/2 cup sugar and wiped the egg whites and it worked really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      I made this for DH's birthday. It had a much better texture than other low fat cake recipes that we have tried. But it had a little bit of an odd taste to it. I think it may be from the yogurt. I will make it with sour cream next time. Hopefully that will resolve the issue. If it does, this will be my go to recipe for low fat chocolate cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      My cake turned out moist and with a nice texture, but not sweet at all! Next time I will double the Splenda sugar mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      Yummy! Made it today and cant even tell it is low fat. Like the other reviews stated i used 1/4 cup brown sugar (not splenda) and 3/4 cup splenda. I also frosted it with pudding frosting recipe 54411 using sugar free pudding and cool whip and non-fat milk. I will absolutely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      I thought this was okay but didn't really wow me..good for low fat but I just couldn't get past the texture...it's very spongey just like a microwave cooked cake and that doesn't really appeal to my tastes...always good to try something new though so thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      I'm amazed by this chocolate cake and cannot believe that it's sugarfree. This will be my go to diabetic friendly dessert along with the "absolutely sugar free frosting"...in choco, of course. It seriously did not taste like sugar free or low fat. I did follow another reviewer's advice and did half spenda and half brown sugar splenda...but I used the splenda recipe for brown sugar, which is pancake syrup mixed in with the splenda. I didn't add the coffee crystal though, and the recipe didn't need it for my taste. Just try it:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Fortunatley for me, Kitten adds some little hint or tip to the intro of her recipes. I come away always knowing something more than just how to make her recipe. Nothing prepared me for the biggest surprise I've had in a long time. Not only is it easy to make,but it's even easier to eat! The texture is soft, chccolate-y and just plain 'ol good! Thanks to you, Kitten, I now can have something sweet and deliscious while I'm trying to lose a few pounds! I don't know why in the world this recipe doesn't have ten tons of 5-star reviews!! It's so aswesome, I highly recommend this recipe, you'd never guess it was low-fat! I don't even frost this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      A great low fat cake that satisfied my chocolate craving! I did use the half white sugar and half Splenda, plain yogurt, and two whole eggs. Topped with a dollop of Cool Whip and had a very nice dessert. Made and reviewed for Kitten's Recipe Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Thank you so much for this great recipe. I used 1 cup splenda and 1/4 cup sugar and it turned out great. I also added 1/2 cup of milk chocolate chips (maybe next time i'll use 1 cup ;) ). At first when it was still hot it tasted like a very lowfat cake which was not that good, but then when i left it for 2 hours I was suprised that it tasted really really yummy. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I have never tried a low-fat cake before and really didn't know what to expect. I was pretty happy with this one. The texture came out kind of spongy which is different than what I'm used to but the different texture wasn't bad. As far as taste goes you can tell it's a low-fat cake, but what I did was add half a bag of semisweet chocolate chips and this made all the difference. I know they add a bit more calories and fat but they REALLY turned this cake into something special. I will definitely be making this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Not awesome, but good enough for my craving. I was hoping it would taste a little more chocolate. It's only 2 WW points a serving, so I certainly can deal with that. I didn't have plain or vanilla FF yogurt, so I used some strawberry we had on hand. Don't think my DH will like it, but that just means more for me :) I will probably do what someone else suggested and freeze servings of it for when my craving is at it's worst!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      I have made this many times. I have a teenage son that has to watch his fat content due to a medical condition. This has become a family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Great cake! I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and added 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips. Doesn't help keep the fat down, but it was really good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      This is a wonderful light and tasty cake. It's not as sinful as a regular chocolate cake but it is perfect when you are on a diet and still want your chocolate!! Used about 1 cup sugar and used low-fat vanilla yogurt. Thanks Kit! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      This was excellent for a low fat recipe. Definitely curbs that sweet tooth. The only thing was that the consistency was a little bit chewy..very different from a traditional full fat chocolate cake, but hey, it is low-fat! Still great though! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Extreme Low-Fat Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (64 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.8
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    36%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 265.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 15.6 g
    62%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites