31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After reading all the reviews, I took the advice of chef #67656 and used both Splenda (3/4 cup) and Splenda brown (1/4cup), stirring both into the dry flour and cocoa mixture. My addition was a tablespoon of instant coffee crystals to negate any chemical aftertaste. It did the trick! I used 3 egg whites and 1 egg yolk. As did Chef #79888, I whipped the egg whites into a soft meringue then folded them into the batter. Mine was perfectly done after a mere 20 minutes convection bake time. I had no trouble with the cake sticking to the pan even though I just used cooking spray on the bottom. While it was hot, I smeared it with sugar free orange marmalade as a pretend frosting. I was *very* impressed with the results, both in texture and taste! If you did not know, you would never guess that it was essentially fat free. Thanks for posting this recipe! I am sure to use it often!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie March 23, 2008

love this cake.... I've lost 3 stone and wanted something to take the edge off my chocolate fix and found this excellent cake that's quick,easy and full of flavour

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessiechelsea May 08, 2012

I made this yummy cake tonight, it totally satisfied my chocolate craving. I made it a bit different- I whipped the egg whites to soft peaks in my kitchenaid then followed the recipe, adding a tsp of gelatin. I spread the batter in a parchment lined jelly-roll pan and sprinkled the batter with 2 Tbs of chocolate chips. I baked at 330 degrees for 30 mins. After it came out of the oven and cooled, I sliced it length-wise and filled it with a tub of fat free cool whip. YUM! Will definitely make again. ETA: I made these again, still yummy- but if you do cupcakes be sure to spray your papercups with cooking spray or the cakes will stick to the wrapper like glue. Bake for 20 mins for cupcakes. ETA #2- I keep coming back to this recipe- if I could give it 10 stars I would. Its to die when topped with a smear of peanut butter.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuperSpike February 13, 2008

I made this yesterday,and it's discusting. Had to cook for 1hr 30ins and was still stodgy and tastes horrible. Have had to throw it away.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 09, 2015

Instead of sugar or splenda, I used stevia to lower the sugar content. Also, to make it moist I used chocolate instant pudding! Turned out moist and delicious! Def. making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 09, 2015

If you have to do anything to "negate chemical aftertaste" it tells you that you shouldn't eat this. Chemical anything is bad and that includes artificial sweeteners. You can still make a healthier cake with natural ingredients. Won't be making this ever.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aymelynn February 07, 2013

I made this with just a couple of changes such as vanilla yogart, and 1/4 of brown sugar and added pecan pieces. I also used a pudding whipped cream frosting and served this at a gathering for couples and it was a success! No one knew it was low cal until I told them. I will most def make this again. Especially since my husband is a junkaholic and snack sleeps. This way I don't have to worry about him having a sugar overload in the middle of the night. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nennia1967 January 12, 2013

The best low fat cake iv ever made, i used 3/4 cup splenda and 1/2 cup sugar and wiped the egg whites and it worked really well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acampbell10 October 18, 2012

I made this for DH's birthday. It had a much better texture than other low fat cake recipes that we have tried. But it had a little bit of an odd taste to it. I think it may be from the yogurt. I will make it with sour cream next time. Hopefully that will resolve the issue. If it does, this will be my go to recipe for low fat chocolate cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom September 23, 2012

My cake turned out moist and with a nice texture, but not sweet at all! Next time I will double the Splenda sugar mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
707160 January 06, 2012
Extreme Low-Fat Chocolate Cake