87 Reviews

This is awesome! I'm making it for my son's second birthday. This is the second time I've made this cake...albeit shamefully, I always bake from scratch! I made three batches (big cake). I ran out of sour cream and had to use about 1/4c strawberry yogurt on the last one, and while it tastes great still, it's got dark flecks for some reason. Oh well, icing works wonders!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Hook October 08, 2009

Fabulous! I was craving lemon today, but was in no mood to try something complicated like lemon meringue pie, so I made this instead. I followed the recipe as is (including the optional ingredients), except I added the zest of two lemons, then used the juice of the second lemon for the glaze. There's no such thing as "too much lemon" in my book, and this fit the bill! Even so, it's not so overpowering that the non-lemon-lovers of the world wouldn't like it too. Thanks for a great (and easy!!) recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladybug810 August 01, 2009

This is divine! My mother is in the hospital and she told me the only thing she could think of that she truly wanted to eat was a piece of her lemon cake. I had never made a lemon cake and didn't know how. The conversation was changed and I forgot to ask for the recipe. So I used this one. Boy, I'm glad it did! This is wonderful. My mom told me this was the best lemon cake she'd ever had (and she doesn't admit I can make something better than her...EVER..LOL). I did add icing, even though it really didn't need it (but I love icing anyway). I used 2 c. conf. sugar and 1/4 lemon juice. This was moist, sweet, and 'twangy'. It was just perfect. I found the perfect lemon cake with just one try! Thank you sooo much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovin2cook July 31, 2009

Somehow I had never tried a lemon cake before this one. Now I know better than to try any other as this one was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julieannie July 07, 2009

Everyone loes this, not just the lemon lovers! I made it my own by making a glaze out of lemon juice and sugar, heated to make a glaze, and add a few dollops of lemon pie filling to the batter towards the top. It's not extreme unless you use ALL of the ingredients, optional or not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indigosmom June 10, 2009

This cake was very good. Thank you for the recipe. I used it as a base with a little vanilla icecream, dallop of whipcream and fresh raspberries~ it went over VERY well :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez Michelle May 25, 2009

OMG this cake was amazing. It is amazing moist. You won't be able to stop eating it. I didn't even get a chance to put a glaze on it. We have been eating it plain. The lemon flavor is just right. Not to much and not to little. I couldn't believe how easy it was to make. Two thumbs up Donna.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
parisdiamond2000_2655157 May 10, 2009

I made this for my husband's birtday party and got pretty good reviews. I made 2 cakes, and baked each one in a 12x15 sheet pan. Then, I cut them into 1.5" squares and layered lemon curd between the layers and topped it with Luscious Lemon Frosting, and a few craisins for color. All in all, I think it went over better than the turtle cake I made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'-4-5 May 05, 2009

This cake turned out to be OK. I was skeptical about the box cake ingredient and my intuition that it would taste like th box cake was right. I used the lemon glaze with 1 box confectioners sugar, 2 tblspns lemon zest, 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice and that made the cake sooooo good for that reason I rated it 3 stars because you can fix it to fit your liking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prncssbianca April 19, 2009

Getting ready to make this for Easter. The directions are a bti vague. Do you still mix all the ingredients for the cake mix according to the box then add the remaining ingredients listed in the recipe? Or is it just the cake mix plus the other ingredients listed in the recipe?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simmy778 April 09, 2009
Extreme Lemon Bundt Cake