83 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was excellent and did NOT taste like it started out its life as a "box cake"! I used a Duncan Hines Lemon cake mix and followed the recipe exactly (using light sour cream instead of regular full-fat). However, in my oven, using a bundt pan, it took about 50 minutes at 350F to totally cook through. I also made a glaze of butter, lemon, a sprinkle of ginger, and confectioner's sugar (aka caster sugar) which I drizzled over the top while the cake was warm (I poked some holes in the top and sides of the cake with a bamboo skewer so the glaze would seep in). The cake was beautiful and tasted great, especially with a small scoop of Gifford's Wild Maine Blueberry ice cream on the side. Next time, I am considering adding some minced, dried lavender flowers to the batter or possibly to just the glaze (instead of ginger) for a slightly different flavor. A small slice is very satisfying, and I think that we probably got 20 or more slices from this cake. Thank you for posting this easy, tasty recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette May 20, 2010

This was great. Took it to a potluck and everyone loved it. No leftovers that's for sure. I just dusted it with conf. sugar, but I think I'd like to try a lemon glaze next time. One problem: I thought the directions were a bit vague. I bake alot and knew that the oven temp. and baking time were average, but someone who is new to it might get confused. It's 350*, and 35-40 minutes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pies & cakes & cookies ohmy! July 08, 2005

good cake! beat all ingredients together for about 2 minutes and bake at 350 degrees for about 45-55 minutes. used a glaze of 1/2 mixed lemon juice and orange juice and 2 cups powdered sugar. poured over hot cake slowly (while still in pan) and then let cool completely. very good results! thanks for the recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie61 June 27, 2010

My daughter used this recipe to make cupcakes for my son's graduation party. The lemon flavor was really good and the texture just right.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas July 11, 2013

This cake was wonderfully lemony but wasn't anything special. I used a Duncan Hines lemon cake mix and Jello lemon pudding. The cake looked and tasted like a doctored cake mix cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie May 28, 2010

This is the one! We served this at my nephew's funeral repast yesterday and everyone was saying, "Oh my Lord, it's Aunt Elsie's lemon cake!" I made it in a tube pan just like she did. When I told them I got it from this site, I had to print it out for all of them. I am sure my mother would be aghast to know that her secret is out. Thank you so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosalynd R. February 16, 2005

This is a delicious, moist cake. We'll be having it for our Easter meal this year (which also happens to be my birthday). Can't wait to have it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuestick April 01, 2015

Made this for Mother's Day this year. It was super moist and lemony! I remember reading someone else's review saying it tasted like lemonade in a cake. I must agree, it's tart with a lemon aroma and lovely lemon color but has a balanced sweetness. Next, I'd like to figure out how to make it from scratch. If you are in a bind for time though, this box mix recipe makes beautiful results. I baked in two nonstick loaf pans and I believe it took approx. 30 mins. Did not need frosting or icing, it was sweet enough as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yellorose310 August 31, 2014

Extremely excellent cake! Got rave reviews! Next time I will drizzle some limoncello over top!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) February 01, 2014

Simple, good and easy to make lemon cake if you're not looking to bust out all the measuring tools and mixer. I used Duncan Hines Lemon Cake Mix and Jello Instant Lemon Pudding. I'm not a fan of extracts so I left it out but still continued following the recipe. I used a bundt pan for baking but thought that the cake looked better without flipping it as the top of the cake showed off that beautiful bright lemon color. I made a simple icing, generously drizzled over the top and then added more fresh lemon zest on top of the icing. The cake was moist and still very lemony even without the extract. I've added a picture so you can see how it looks outside he bundt pan, but without flipping it. Personally I think it looks way better that way. This will be my go to quick lemon cake recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akatei December 28, 2013
Extreme Lemon Bundt Cake