Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Extra Special Buttercream Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Extra Special Buttercream Icing

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-57 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2007

      Followed recipe using 6 ounces of the cream and 1/2 tsp butter extract everything else as stated. Worked perfectly! Good thickness and texture for spreading. I will make this again. Made this for White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake which also was a superb recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      GREAT just how it is, but I have substituted some of the whipping cream with liquid coffee creamer (flavored) and it got rave reviews!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      This is a really nice, easy to work with buttercream! For me, it's not quite 5 stars as I used 1 1/2 lbs of sugar for the sweetness to be just right, and I think that even 1/2 tsp of butter flavoring is too much. (I balanced adding less sugar by adding less whipping cream.) This is a keeper for me, but with modifications! Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Everyone that has tasted this icing on my cakes loves it, the only problem I have with this icing is making the Wilton roses, can't seem to get the right consistency. It works great on any other decorations I do. Wonderful icing!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      I searched and searched for a good buttercream icing recipe and now I have the best! This was extremely easy to make, and is the best I've ever tasted! I won't use another recipe for icing again -- I think it can easily be adapted to different flavors (chocolate, for instance) by adding cocoa powder. Thanks for a TERRIFIC recipe! This one is a 5-star winner!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      I found this icing to have WAY too many air bubbles. I couldn't smooth it out. Taste was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      WOW! I have never cared much for icing in the past. I made your fabulous white almond sour cream cake, and decided to use your icing recipe as well. It is OUTSTANDING! In fact, both are worthy of wayy more then 5 stars! If I need icing in the future..this will be it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      love the texture, it whipped up so nice and light! the taste is more like sugar than anything...next time I will use all butter. don't worry, this is a keeper! it was a snap to make in my kitchenaid... thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      Turned our really good. I didn't have any whipping cream so I just thinned with milk. I'm sure it is to die for with the whipping cream. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      the BEST ever. Will never use another for a buttercream recipe. Outstanding on sugar cookies, cinnamon rolls and cake. Awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      Wonderful icing! I am making a cake that looks like building blocks for a baby shower...This was my first time making a BC icing and this recipe was simple and it came out awesome! The sweetness was just right, and it had a great flavoring. I did use the meringue powder, and may use a bit more for the icing decor. Since it was my first time, I taste tested the icing on my co-workers and everyone LOVED it...so thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      Paired this with the sour cream almond wedding cake. Filled the layers with raspberry jam and buttercream, lovely combo. I made 3 batches for a stacked 14", 10", 6" all 3 in. deep (2 layers of cake 3 layers of filling) with enough to fill and frost a backup 10". My usual buttercream is expensive and labor intensive, thanks for this fine alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      I used this frosting for my niece's graduation cakes. Everyone loved the frosting! My sister told me that people are still commenting on how how much they liked the cakes! I did add the meringue powder. However, I did not add the butter flavoring - I used real butter and that gave it enough of a butter taste for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2004

      Used this with your sour cream wedding cake recipe - yep, this will be on my DD's wedding cake. I would like it to crust a little more so I am going to sub a bit of whole milk for a bit of the cream. Loved the flavor - so did the kids. They don't want any flavor changes whatsoever! Thanks for both recipes. I'll give you an update after the wedding next summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2004

      Used it on the white wedding cake recipe of yours....incredible. I had to make it, believe it or not, in the food processor....cut down on the amount of sugar a bit, and it was incrdible. It will be on our wedding cake on our table this june!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      Taking another reviewers advice, I did switch the mixing around. I added all the whipped cream in the first set of directions, and I used all 6 oz. I added the powered sugar in 4 cup increments. I decorate cakes and was looking for a frosting that matches the local bakery, and this came very close. I will definately use this recipe again. Oh, also I used 2 tsp of vanilla and no almond extract (personal preference). Thank you Donna for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2004

      I would make a couple changes in the order of mixing. Adding all the powdered sugar before any cream made it difficult to combine. The taste was fine but I still had to thin down with more milk. LaRena

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Extra Special Buttercream Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (1463 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 984.5
     
    Calories from Fat 517
    52%
    Total Fat 57.4 g
    88%
    Saturated Fat 26.9 g
    134%
    Cholesterol 85.7 mg
    28%
    Sodium 379.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 121.2 g
    40%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 118.4 g
    473%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    butter flavoring

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites