58 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm a pro cake decorator, and this is a good icing for beginners, practice or "informal" cakes. I made a few changes to use for a wedding cake. First, add 1/2 tsp. extra meringue powder for a stronger foundation to decorate on. I also added a little more flavoring, 1/2 tsp. extra of each. If very white icing is desired, use Wilton's White White Icing Dye, it "bleaches" out the ivory color, also I used clear vanilla. Oh, and PLEASE use a stand mixer if you don't want to buy a new hand mixer each time you make icing! A food processor can work, but a stand mixer makes a much smoother icing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emtpixie August 26, 2004

You do not have to look any further for a butter cream icing recipe... I use this on all of my wedding cakes, special occasion cakes, etc. In the summertime, I reduce the butter to 1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) and add the additional 1/2 in extra Crisco (vegetable shortening). It holds up in the extreme humidity we have here in our state, and keeps the icing from melting. I add 2 tablespoons of meringue powder and use only 8 oz. of cream... it whips up, does not get "aerated holes", and has a slight crust... that makes it perfect for the design work I use on the professional cakes. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, as it is one I have used for years... it is one which will give you a great reputation as a baker of lovely cakes.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lutie July 09, 2009

Absolutely yummy and great to work with! I used an organic trans fat free shortening and it came out perfect!! Used this on your sour cream wedding cake.... holy cow......THANK YOU! *** Edited to add *** I just had to add that I made 2 diff. buttercream recipes tonight. This one and another one that is posted on youtube, cakecentral, etc....this one blows that one out of the water. It has a better taste and a much smoother, bubble-less consistency. This will be my go to from now on.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker July 09, 2010

This was delicious. I'm in course #3 of the Wilton cake decorating. I just couldn't stand the sweet buttercream that Wilton had suggested in their books. This was perfect. The frosting was easy to pipe. My basketweave came out perfect. I used emtpixie sugessions by adding an extra 1/2 teaspoon to the meringue power, vanilla, almond extract and clea butter flavoring. I didn't use the Wiltons dye because I wanted and ivory color. Everyone in my class wanted the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane from Ohio November 15, 2008

For the love of all that is holy, please quit putting fake stuff in BC icing. And no shortening. GAG!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamietawzer February 17, 2010

This was fantastic buttercream frosting. This recipe made enough for me to frost 2 9" rounds, a 9x13 rectangle, and a dozen cupcakes. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RdhdA8 June 15, 2008

AWESOME icing!!! My customer wanted a buttercream/cream cheese icing, so i made the recipe as printed and then added 8 oz. of cream cheese...WOW!! yummy!! This will be a keeper. Thanks so much!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamela J June 03, 2006

I made this for my husband's birthday and I have to say it just didn't do much for me. First, I made the mistake of not sifting the sugar, so there were little white flecks (which would be fine unless you add food coloring. But my main complaints were the ingredients, compared to other frostings I have made: Using shortening instead of all butter in the recipe really takes away from the flavor. It makes it taste less rich than 100% butter. Next time I would replace the shortening with butter (yes, I'd be adding butter to my butter). Also, if I made it again I would omit or greatly reduce the teaspoon of almond flavoring. I love almond and thought it would be delicious, but the flavor was way too prominent. When I taste the recipe, the flavor reminds me of watered down marzipan. Not what I was looking for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
topdog ollie September 24, 2014

Looking for the perfect decorating frosting that got rave reviews for taste? This is it!! I had to use regular brown vanilla and half n half out of necessity and didn't have butter flavoring and it was great. Just enough to decorate my daughter's 4th birthday three-tiered cake with basic borders and a little piping. I'm not an expert by any stretch but this will be my go-to for kid's birthday cakes from now on. Thanks SO much for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz October 06, 2012

I will never make another buttercream frosting recipe again! I've tried so many with so-so results, but this was out of the park good! The flavor is wonderful and it gets nice and smooth! It also get's that "pro" frosting "crust" when it sets up! Love love love!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jollymae May 24, 2012
Extra Special Buttercream Icing