Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Extra Moist Lemon, Sour Cream and Vanilla Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Extra Moist Lemon, Sour Cream and Vanilla Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2009

      FANTASTIC pound cake. I only have regular sized bundt pans, and I don't think all the batter would have fit in any of them. I used a 10" tube pan, with 4" high sides. Baked til it tested done, around 1 hr., 20 mins. was perfect. I followed the recipe, except I switched step 5 and 6, doing 6 before 5. I didn't beat the flour a long time, just til it was fully incorporated, slowly adding the sifted mixture with the mixer running on low. In my cake experience, beating cake batter makes for a tough cake. I finished it off with a lemon-limoncello syrup made with 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice, 1/2 cup granulated sugar, and 1/2 cup limoncello. Simmered til sugar was dissolved. When cake was 10 minutes out of the oven, I poked holes in it, and while still in the pan, I soaked it with the lemon syrup. It came out of the pan beautifully when completely cool. I did line the bottom of the tube pan with waxed paper, and I greased and floured the pan generously. This cake has a great lemon flavor, probably one of the best I've ever tasted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      If I could give this 10 stars I would. What a wonderful dense and moist cake, I have to say that this is by far the BEST lemon cake I have ever made and eaten and ALL my guests agreed and asked for the recipe. YUMM!!! :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      This is a fantastic cake. If I could give it 6 stars I would. I only ever make the half quanitity. I had to make quite a few changes to it - I couldn't get the lemon pudding mix so I doubled the lemon juice. I didn't have lemon extract - so I left it out. I used vanilla extract (which is twice the strength of the essence), but still added the full amount. Also I substitute vegetable oil for the butter (I use 1-2 tablespoons nuttelex/margarine and fill the rest of the measure with oil). This cake is so moist and yummy. It also freezes beautifully. I have made it three times now and never bothered with any form of icing - it is perfect the way it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      So excellent! I didn't use the glaze. No need! The crumb was soft, light, fluffy, tender, moist and the cake rose so high. I baked it for 1 hour 20 minutes . Thank you for such a wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      I will start off by saying I LOVE sweets. I often have dessert for breakfast. That being said this cake has a lovely texture . Unfortunately it is devastatingly sweet ,almost inedible to me . If I were to make it again I would make it with 2 cups of sugar instead of 3 because the jello mix is so sweet that together with 3 cups of sugar it's way too sweet even without an icing. If your looking for a pound cake with a delicate lemon flavor look elsewhere .

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      This pound cake is absolutely fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Wow can you say divine... my 11yr old made this for his school carnival, someones gonna be lucky to take it home. Its such a fresh flavor, makes me think of summer time. We truely love this cake proud to welcome it to our family! LaGrande,Oregon...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      Amazing is a great word to describe this cake! So moist and dense! I had a leftover piece 3 days later and it was still amazing:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      This pound cake is AMAZING. I never eat any lemon flavored desserts, but I couldn't stop eating this. I will DEFINITELY make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      The best lemon pound cake so far

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      So very good. Lots of compliments. Used a lemon glaze on top. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      Very good. Took it to a church potluck. Others who tasted it liked it well. I think I will add a little lemon yogurt to the batter next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      If I was Rachael Ray I'd give this 5 big "YUM-O's" along with the 5 star rating! Easy, delicious and a huge winner with the family!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      it is so great!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2014

      Great tasting cake. I baked it in two loaf pans as I have never had good experience with getting cakes to come cleanly out of bundt pans no matter how much non-stick spray I use. Unfortunately, the same thing happened with the loaf pans. But the cake has a really good flavor and the stuck parts of the cake were good enough to eat, too. It didn't look good but it tasted great. I had to add to my previous review. My husband loves banana nut bread. So since this recipe made enough for two pans I added 1 over-ripe banana and some chopped walnuts to half the batter (without lemon pudding and lemon extract. I used vanilla pudding instead) He said it's the best banana nut bread he's ever eaten

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      Great, easy to follow recipe. I always add a few extra drops of lemon abstract and a little extra lemon juice and zest. I accidentally added baking powder, instead of baking soda, but it still came out great. I also poked holes all the way around and all the way through to the bottom and drizzled on lemon glaze, that I'd made and had leftover from another recipe. I also used 2 cups of sugar instead of 3, as a previous reviewer suggested, since the package of lemon pudding was included in the recipe. I probably could've let the cake stay in the oven an extra 10-15 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2014

      I used a Wilton silicone bundt pan but didn't cook correctly. Even after 1 hr. 35 min it still wasn't done in the middle. Tested done but wasn't when I took it out of the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2013

      My very first pound cake requested from my sister whom is pregnant...WE LOVED IT!! Thanks a million

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      So I have made this several times. I've made exactly like the recipe for my hubby who loves lemon pound cake, and I have done it with vanilla pudding and no lemon extract or juice for my dad who doesn't care for lemon...i just add extra vanilla extract. My dad says this is the best pound cake he's ever had. And that is a real compliment due to I have several older family member that make killer pound cakes. But this one is the BEST!!! The sour cream keeps it moist and the pudding does something to it to make it out of this world! Thank you for this recipe. Will be the only one I use from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      I don't know what went wrong with my cake... I have made it twice with the same results. Didn't change any part of the recipe. except to bake it 1 hr 20 minutes..

      I used a bundt pan.. and the cake split in half. didn't look very nice on the plate, but tasted good. Is it suppose to have two textures to it, when it is baked. I used large eggs, I was wondering, if that was my problem. I did notice a couple of reviews, used a tube pan, maybe I will try it once more. I also sprayed the pan with pam for cakes. Maybe that is the problem.
      Don't take this as a criticism please. the taste is great. just did something wrong, and would like to know how to fix it. Thanks to anyone out there who can help me....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Extra Moist Lemon, Sour Cream and Vanilla Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 545.5
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    36%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 143.6 mg
    47%
    Sodium 307.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.6 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 50.9 g
    203%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites