Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Express Bagel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Express Bagel Recipe

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2008

      This is a great recipe. I used regular flour and active dry yeast but I let the dough rise twice. The bagels look and taste just like bought bagels and were much less expensive. Double the recipe if you want six large bagels.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      This is only my second time making bagels(made a batch last night using a different recipe and wheat flour which did not go so well)and this time they came out quite nicely. I didn't leave as large a hole as I should have when forming and when they puffed up during baking I ended up with slits. (No problem for me they still tasted good). I also had to leave them in the oven about 30 minutes or so. They still had sort of a 'doughy' look to them at the 15 minute mark. Now that I know how they turn out I'll definitely be making them again and i'm sure my technique will improve as I do. Thanks for such an easy and quick recipe..*****update, I made these again with a few changes and they came out awesome!! After kneading the dough 15 minutes I let it sit for about an hour in a warm microwave. I then cut dough into smaller balls, put in some add ins and let them rise again for 20 minutes. I then shaped them, broiled them for 4 minutes then gave them their water bath for 7 minutes. Popped them in the oven for about 25 minutes and they came out fantastic.*****Will definitely be making these this way again in the future.... .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      These were absolutely delicious. I didn't have any bread flour on hand, so I used all-purpose and they were still great. We will be making these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      I just made these bagels and they are excellent and so easy!! I'm a novice at baking, but they turned out perfect and taste much better than bagels from the grocery store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Perfect Bagels, I thought I'd ruined them after the simmer stage, but once baked, they looked wonderful! <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      This was such an easy and fun (yes, I think kneading bread is fun!) recipe!! I was a little disappointed with the plain bagels I made but the apple cinnamon and banana nut were great!! Next time I might use half all-purpose flour instead of using all bread flour just to lighten them up a little bit. This such a great base recipe. Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      Excellent recipe! just loved it, they are just like the ones you buy at bakeries or frozen. Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      I was so proud to make my own bagels for the first time, but they tasted rather like plain pizza, with a whole in the middle, if you know what I mean! What did I do wrong?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      I had no idea bagels were this easy to make. This is such a simple recipe to follow, and my family absolutely LOVED them. They are better than any bakery bagel we've purchased in town. The bread flour is a must. Covering the dough with plastic wrap sprayed with olive oil works better than a damp towel too. Be sure to knead the dough the full 15 minutes. Don't skimp on the effort. And be sure to only boil them for the 15 seconds as recommended on each side. I got a phone call and left one in for about 40 seconds. It crinkled for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Express Bagel Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.6
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    40%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 389.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes