117 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you MizzNezz! When I asked my son what kind of cake he wanted me to make for his birthday, he said carrot. I had not found a recipe I liked and worried that I would disappoint him unitl I saw your recipe and all of the wonderful reviews. Well, I am here to add anoter 5 star review for this recipe, though I wish I could rate it even higher! Each part: the cake, glaze and frosting was a hit individually and when combined........fireworks!!!! Thank you for making my son very content on his birthday (and my family looking forward to the next birthday to come!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elinor_ochoa January 18, 2009

I cannot believe that I forgot to rate this recipe. This is one of my most fav. MizzNezz recipies! It's easy, hassle-free and comes out perfect each time you make it!! The only change I make is to add almonds in place of walnuts - a personal preference. It's very moist and tastier the next day! Thank you MizzNezz. We love this cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunbeam December 13, 2008

You know it's good when church ladies tell you it's the best they've had and tell you they've died and gone to heaven. I thought I overcooked it and was afraid it would be dry, but it was so moist and delish despite cooking it too long! I can't wait to make this again for my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihvhope December 01, 2008

I make this all the time and it always comes out perfectly. The recipe is great on it's own, but it's also yummy when we add raisins, nutmeg and even tiny pieces of apple (whatever I have on hand)! This is my "go to" recipe when it comes to carrot cake. Everyone LOVES it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love Junkie November 30, 2008

This is really an outstanding recipe. I served for dessert following Thanksgiving dinner and it was fabulous. I have neighbors coming over to try it after the rumor got around the neighborhood. I followed the recipe as written and it was perfect - twice.... Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big LeeH November 29, 2008

I will NEVER use another carrot cake recipe. This is worth the extra effort and worth MANY more than 5 stars. I was looking for a recipe that had everything. (I did add 3/4 c. of raisins, note to self!). I have gotten sooo many compliments on this cake. I also used two 9 inch round pans and made a layer cake. I glazed both layers while they were still warm. And put them in the fridge for a few hours before frosting. If you can, this is a good one to make 1-2 days in advance....the flavor only gets better!! MIizzNezz, thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doxiemom November 15, 2008

This was awesome. The addition of the glaze made this a stand out. I would add though that it might be a little too much glaze, I think I would cut it in half next time. I made two 9 inch round cakes and made this into a layer cake. My next carrot cake will be this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee July 12, 2008

WARNING!!! THIS CAKE IS ADDICTIVE...MAY CAUSE YOU TO RADE THE FRIDGE IN THE WEE HOURS OF THE NIGHT FOR THAT LAST PIECE. Not enough stars for this cake!!! Should be 10 stars. ABSOLUTELY THE BEST Carrot Cake I have ever had. I truly believe the buttermilk glaze sets this one apart from all the other cakes. Super moist and great texture. I used only about 3/4 of the glaze because it's really sweet. I've made this cake 3 times now and have gotten rave reviews everywhere I've taken it. Will not use any other Carrot Cake recepie from now on. THANK YOU MizzNezz!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
titakisses May 27, 2008

Wow! Are you kidding me? I love carrot cake and this is the BEST I have ever tasted: commercial or home-made. Lasts and tastes great even days later. Couldn't thank you enough. 5 stars X a million.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marci May 26, 2008

Oh my gosh. Wow, the BEST carrot cake I have ever had. One I wish I had NEVER found as two of us ate the whole thing. I did not have the walnuts and added more carrots. It was so moist yet held together so well. MizzNezz post no more sweets you hear? Thanks Sally

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jockey May 21, 2008
Excellent Carrot Cake