118 Reviews

I totally agree with reviews! Mega star rating. I was concerned the coconut might be overpowering -- but it wasn't. Just added a nice crunch. I did follow other reviewers and did not use entire amount of glaze on cake -- but that glaze did add a nice touch. Agree...best carrot cake I've ever had!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo in Arlington September 06, 2012

This was a wonderful cake recipe. It was so moist. It melted in ours mouths. Thanks for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn June 03, 2012

I love MizzNezz's recipes -- she's a great cook. And I love sweet and rich. But this cake is just too much (never thought I'd hear those words coming out of my mouth!!) But think about it -- 3 cups of sugar, plus a pound of confectioners...a cup of butter...corn syrup...oil AND pineapple? I actually felt a bit sick after eating a 2 x 2 inch piece. I might try this without the buttermilk glaze and see how that goes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MzStevied March 02, 2012

Forgot to mention that I skip the glaze and just use the frosting, and it's still plenty sweet and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
InfernoKit April 12, 2011

This is the best carrot cake ever! I've made it twice now. I think the buttermilk glaze put it over the top!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omnislash April 21, 2009

This cake certainly lived up to its name - it was truly excellent! My mom had been craving carrot cake so decided to make one for Easter and chose this recipe. She made it in 2 9-inch round pans, leaving out the coconut but using the walnuts, then using only half the glaze and 3/4 of the icing. It was the hit of Easter dinner! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 April 12, 2009

I'm so sorry I forgot to review from before. I used your recipe to make the 12" layer on my daughters wedding cake. I also made a chocolate 8" and a vanilla 10". This was the only layer that was all gone! I had made it previously with the cream cheese frosting, but it went well with the buttercream also. A co-worker wants me to do her wedding cake in all carrot and this will be the recipe I use! Thanks so much for helping me make this yummy, quality cake for my friends and family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom George April 07, 2009

This is a great recipe but to be fair, I did not make it per the recipe. I am reviewing it, though, because I had to make a substitution (OMG I had no pineapple!!) and wanted to share this in case you also were missing pineapple. After reading all the reivews I HAD to make this cake....so instead of pineapple, I used a cup of ricotta cheese, which I normally use in any box cake I make. I figured it would help retain the moistness like the pineapple and it did!! I love pineapple and will be making this per the recipe soon, but it is nice to know how fabulous this cake is even with a missing ingredient! Thanks MN

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef JenR April 04, 2009

I didn't like carrot cake until I tried this one. It was really, really good! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeMiddleton March 12, 2009

I figure I had better write a review on this since I end up making it about once a month. I've tried a couple other carrot cake recipes that are posted here on zaar, but none of them are as good as this one. After making it the first time, I made a couple of modifications. I cut the sugar to 1-1/2 cups, because the only coconut I can get is sweetened. And I increased the cinnamon to 2 Tbs and added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, because we like it spicy. I also added a cup of raisins. Excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi the grate March 08, 2009
Excellent Carrot Cake