Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Excellent Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Excellent Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    117 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 117

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2007

      I did not realize this recipe was in here already, a co-worker made this for a potluck. We begged her for the recipe! This is the best cake I have ever had, and its not even chocolate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      Probably the best cake I've ever made! It's so delicious. The glaze and the frosting really adds to the cake. I DEFINITELY recommend this recipe to everyone! --- I used yogurt, instead of buttermilk, and didn't add coconut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      This cake was awesome. My son had been requesting this for two months. The recipe does take some time, but is well worth every minute. We used the cream cheese frosting. This one is a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      I brought this to work at a coworkers request (I make something I've never made each weekend) and he LOVED it. I got nothing be rave reviews from everyone who tasted it. I had to use a sub. for the buttermilk and corn syrup since I didn't go to the store and it was still extremly moist!! Wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      I have to say this IS the best carrot cake ever. Call me crazy but as always I make the recipe "as is" and get amused with reviews where they have "changed this" or "omitted this" or "reduced this" to actually make it their own recipe and not yours. Thanks for posting and as Paula Dean once said on her show, "Always try a recipe as is for the first time" if your not satisfied then change it up to suit your own tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      All I can say is WOW! I made this for a co-worker's birthday, and everyone was swooning over it! I did make a few changes - in the cake I left out the nuts by request (not my choice - nuts would have put this one waaay over the top!); I also reduced the sugar to 1-1/2 cups, and reduced the fat by using 1/4 cup oil and 1/2 cup pureed baby food carrots. For the glaze, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup, and in the frosting I only used 1/4 cup butter. This cake is so moist, and the flavor is just incredible. Thank you for posting this recipe - I will most certainly make this cake again (but WITH nuts next time!!) -M =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      I followed this recipe exactly. It is the BEST carrot cake my BF ever has had. It was moist, full of flavor. I baked in three small round pans and made a three layer cake with frosting in between. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      My husband said to double the rating..so 10 stars it is :) This is the best carrot cake ever!!!! Ohhhh so moist. Thanks MizzNezz for sharing such a YUMMY recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      This was a total hit with my co workers and my dwarf rabbit loved the leftover carrot bits. It was commented that this cake is a little bit like a fruitcake but carrot cake style. It was very moist and delicious as all the other reviews have said. I did not have the right sized pan, but it worked fine in the 9x9 I used. Thanks for posting a terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      Love this cake. It just keeps getting better and better. I wouldn't think of serving it for at least 24 hours. I've taken this to a Bible study group a couple of times and now I have been forbidden to bring it again, because it is just too wicked. But that never stopped me before. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      This is the first carrot cake I had ever made from scratch and it got RAVE reviews! I took it to work and was told so many times that it was the best they had ever eaten. I did add about 1/2 cup of golden raisins and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg to the batter. Also, I added the juice of a small lemon to the icing as mentioned by another member. I won't make any other carrot cake! Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      The name suits this cake, it is an excellent carrot cake, will make many times I'am sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2005

      I have tried many carrot cake recipes and this is definately the best. Very moist and rich. I made for a family birthday party and everyone raved! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      This is an awesome recipe. I made this for my mother to take to a potluck, and several people asked for the recipe. Since then I've made it for several different occasions. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      Another "fantastic"! The coconut and pineapple make this just fabulous... I felt that the extra time needed to make this - as opposed to other carrot cakes - was negligible. I do agree with the people who suggested making just half the glaze (and believe me, I like plenty of glaze and I don't skimp on it), but I will use that glaze on other things in the future -- it's great! I also tinted the frosting orange, cut a couple of thin triangles off the sides of the cake to make it into the shape of a carrot, and used green Colored Coconut Flakes (Colored Coconut Flakes) to make a "carrot top" for decoration.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2005

      This is the best carrot cake I've ever had in my life! Followed the recipe to a T and it came out delicious, moist, and perfect! It tasted even better after it was refrigerated and the flavors had time to meld together. My husband took some slices to work with him and everyone raved about it. One co-worker wanted to write me a letter to tell me how good it was and another didn't even like carrot cake and still gobbled it all down! All I can say is thank you Mizz Nezz! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      I suspect this would be a very good carrot cake without the glaze...The glaze however, put this one over the top... I left out the walnuts and I didn't have any buttermilk so I used the milk/lemon juice trick... And the frosting recipe was excellent also... I see no reason to try another recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      Thank-you for my new very moist and delicious carrot cake recipe. I made it for Easter and it was a huge hit! Definitely cannot go wrong with this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2005

      Excellent!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2005

      THANK YOU MizzNezz. My family absolutely loves the recipe!! I made the carrot cake last night and is almost all gone! The cake was very moist and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Excellent Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 854.2
     
    Calories from Fat 385
    45%
    Total Fat 42.8 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 20.7 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 620.6 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 114.7 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 93.8 g
    375%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes