Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Excellent Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Excellent Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    117 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 117

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2008

      Excellent indeed, my husband can't keep his hands off of these. I used my mini cheesecake pan for the cakes and they came out the picture perfect tall little cakes which I topped with the frosting but skipped the glaze as we wanted to have it a bit less fattening. I wouldn't hesitant to bring these anywhere.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      I looked and looked for a carrot cake recipe that had all of the "goodies" in it and was also moist and tender - after all of my searching I have at LAST found it with this recipe!! I put golden and regular raisins in the mix along with the nuts and coconut. On of the reasons that this cake came out so wonderful, was the buttermilk glaze that was put on it while warm. It's a wonderful cake and my family LOVED IT! It's a KEEPER!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I have to admit that I didn't actually eat any of this- but it got RAVE reviews from the party I made it for. Best carrot cake ever, was one of the comments. Just looking at it, it was a BEAUTIFUL cake, and I'm going to keep the icing recipe around as it is DELICIOUS. Edit: Ok. I've made this three times now. Hearing all the raves constantly finally got me to try it. I don't think I'll ever be able to eat a different kind of carrot cake. Ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      I have made this cake several times and my family loves it. You really do need to use the Buttermilk Glaze. No changes are needed in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      I made this for my mother's birthday, carrot cake is her absolute favorite. I must admit, I have only made the box version in the past, so this was an all new experience. I really liked it, as did my family, but I do have some suggestions. My crushed pineapple had some chunks in it, making some bites primarily pineapple. Next time I will run the pineapple, coconut and walnuts through the food processor to make everything a more even consistency. I believe we'll like it much better that way. But to each her own, and overall I think this is a great recipe. PS - Use the glaze and frosting, it really isn't too much like you might think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      This was OK but it really didn't do it for me. I felt it lacked spiciness and was far too moist. I only made the cake - I didn't make the glaze or frosting. I noticed a lot of the other reviewers commented on how wonderful the glaze was so maybe that's what I did wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Loved this recipe. A colleague at work had requested a carrot cake for my bake sale. Well received by everyone ...notes and/or minor changes include carrots, used my food processor to grate, included walnuts, used 3/4 cup coconut (as per a review I read). Baked the cake in 9 X 13 pan for 45 mins. I agree with several reviewers, half the buttermilk glaze, I thought that if I poured all the glaze, I would saturate all the wonderful flavors. Got rave reviews for the frosting, only change, I used 1/4 cup butter instead of 1/2 cup. Colors were great, as well, as the texture, very moist. Frosting is not required, its good with just the glaze. Thank you for a great recipe MizzNezz :) Update - I baked the carrot cake a secound time, its definitely a five star recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      Very moist and delicious, I would cut on the coconut next time though, maybe add more carrots as it was a mouth full of coconuts! But it definitely was a very creative version of carrot cake, will make again for parties!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      This is the first carrot cake I ever tried to bake myself and it will be the last. Amazing flavour and moisture and it gets better with age! Doesn't always survive that long though... I halved the glaze and skipped the frosting, the cake itself is rich enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      OMG - Yum, Yum, Yum!!!! I'm very picky with my carrot cake and instead of purchasing a dry carrot cake with gross frosting from the bakery I tried this recipe for my son's 1st birthday party. It was a hit!! I poured it into 3 round pans and doubled the frosting, so it was gigantic and sprinkled chopped walnuts on the sides of the cake for the appearance. SO yummy!!!! Thank you so much MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      Oh my goodness it just doesn't get any better than this!!! The best carrot cake ever. I also put walnuts on top of the cake and put it in the fridge tastes great chilled. My daughter to one bite and said mmmmmmm good and that says it all for me. Will definately make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      Best carrot cake I have ever made...excellent is all I can say...thanks for the receipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Definitely a great carrot cake recipe! I agree that it is better the next day. I made only a half recipe of the buttermilk glaze, but I wish that I had made the full amount. The icing amount as given was perfect for a 9x13. It does make ALOT of cake, so be prepared to share!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      YUMMY! This was my first time cooking with buttermilk. Also, my first time making a carrot cake. It really wasn't that hard...a bit time-consuming, but so worth every minute!! It's so great that I couldn't wait to share it with family & friends. I love it! Everyone else says, "mmm, best carrot cake ever!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      I made this for my boyfriend's family for easter, and they loved it! I baked it in a bundt cake pan (much prettier!) and used half the glaze. I probably could've cut the frosting in half too, since I had LOTS leftover. Even though it seems like a lot of ingredients, it's really not that hard to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      This carrot cake truly lives up to its name. My modifications: The recipe didn't say what kind of coconut to use, so I used 1 cup unsweetened fresh frozen grated coconut. I cut the sugar to 1 3/4 c and only used half the buttermilk glaze to cut down on sugar and still turned out rich and moist. Very generous amount of cream cheese frosting for my 9 x 13 pan. Love this cake! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      What an awsome recipe. The best I have ever had, including some from very wellknown pastry shops. For the Glaze, be sure to use a larger pan than you think you will need. The mixture foams up very high and I caught mine just before it bubbled over. I followed the recipe exactly as written but added a sprinkle of lemon zest to the top of the frosting. It looked very festive on our Easter table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      This took more time to put together than some recipes, but it was well worth the effort. A very dense, moist, and delicious cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      This recipe is the BOMB!!!! I served this to my neighbors at a get together and several called the next day to see if I had any left. The beggars ! warning.... it's addictive. Best to bake it the day ahead and refrigerate to meld flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Excellent Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 854.2
     
    Calories from Fat 385
    45%
    Total Fat 42.8 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 20.7 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 620.6 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 114.7 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 93.8 g
    375%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes