Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Excellent Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Excellent Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    116 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 116

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2012

      I love MizzNezz's recipes -- she's a great cook. And I love sweet and rich. But this cake is just too much (never thought I'd hear those words coming out of my mouth!!) But think about it -- 3 cups of sugar, plus a pound of confectioners...a cup of butter...corn syrup...oil AND pineapple? I actually felt a bit sick after eating a 2 x 2 inch piece. I might try this without the buttermilk glaze and see how that goes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      Forgot to mention that I skip the glaze and just use the frosting, and it's still plenty sweet and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This is the best carrot cake ever! I've made it twice now. I think the buttermilk glaze put it over the top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      This cake certainly lived up to its name - it was truly excellent! My mom had been craving carrot cake so decided to make one for Easter and chose this recipe. She made it in 2 9-inch round pans, leaving out the coconut but using the walnuts, then using only half the glaze and 3/4 of the icing. It was the hit of Easter dinner! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I'm so sorry I forgot to review from before. I used your recipe to make the 12" layer on my daughters wedding cake. I also made a chocolate 8" and a vanilla 10". This was the only layer that was all gone! I had made it previously with the cream cheese frosting, but it went well with the buttercream also. A co-worker wants me to do her wedding cake in all carrot and this will be the recipe I use! Thanks so much for helping me make this yummy, quality cake for my friends and family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      This is a great recipe but to be fair, I did not make it per the recipe. I am reviewing it, though, because I had to make a substitution (OMG I had no pineapple!!) and wanted to share this in case you also were missing pineapple. After reading all the reivews I HAD to make this cake....so instead of pineapple, I used a cup of ricotta cheese, which I normally use in any box cake I make. I figured it would help retain the moistness like the pineapple and it did!! I love pineapple and will be making this per the recipe soon, but it is nice to know how fabulous this cake is even with a missing ingredient! Thanks MN

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      I didn't like carrot cake until I tried this one. It was really, really good! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      I figure I had better write a review on this since I end up making it about once a month. I've tried a couple other carrot cake recipes that are posted here on zaar, but none of them are as good as this one. After making it the first time, I made a couple of modifications. I cut the sugar to 1-1/2 cups, because the only coconut I can get is sweetened. And I increased the cinnamon to 2 Tbs and added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, because we like it spicy. I also added a cup of raisins. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This is a wonderful recipe. I have been making it for years now. It was originally published in Country Magazine and won best recipe for the west. I make this about twice a year. It is a very sweet, moist cake. The buttermilk glaze I have used on other cakes since we are not frosting people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Thank you MizzNezz! When I asked my son what kind of cake he wanted me to make for his birthday, he said carrot. I had not found a recipe I liked and worried that I would disappoint him unitl I saw your recipe and all of the wonderful reviews. Well, I am here to add anoter 5 star review for this recipe, though I wish I could rate it even higher! Each part: the cake, glaze and frosting was a hit individually and when combined........fireworks!!!! Thank you for making my son very content on his birthday (and my family looking forward to the next birthday to come!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      I cannot believe that I forgot to rate this recipe. This is one of my most fav. MizzNezz recipies! It's easy, hassle-free and comes out perfect each time you make it!! The only change I make is to add almonds in place of walnuts - a personal preference. It's very moist and tastier the next day! Thank you MizzNezz. We love this cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      You know it's good when church ladies tell you it's the best they've had and tell you they've died and gone to heaven. I thought I overcooked it and was afraid it would be dry, but it was so moist and delish despite cooking it too long! I can't wait to make this again for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      I make this all the time and it always comes out perfectly. The recipe is great on it's own, but it's also yummy when we add raisins, nutmeg and even tiny pieces of apple (whatever I have on hand)! This is my "go to" recipe when it comes to carrot cake. Everyone LOVES it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      This is really an outstanding recipe. I served for dessert following Thanksgiving dinner and it was fabulous. I have neighbors coming over to try it after the rumor got around the neighborhood. I followed the recipe as written and it was perfect - twice.... Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      I will NEVER use another carrot cake recipe. This is worth the extra effort and worth MANY more than 5 stars. I was looking for a recipe that had everything. (I did add 3/4 c. of raisins, note to self!). I have gotten sooo many compliments on this cake. I also used two 9 inch round pans and made a layer cake. I glazed both layers while they were still warm. And put them in the fridge for a few hours before frosting. If you can, this is a good one to make 1-2 days in advance....the flavor only gets better!! MIizzNezz, thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      This was awesome. The addition of the glaze made this a stand out. I would add though that it might be a little too much glaze, I think I would cut it in half next time. I made two 9 inch round cakes and made this into a layer cake. My next carrot cake will be this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      WARNING!!! THIS CAKE IS ADDICTIVE...MAY CAUSE YOU TO RADE THE FRIDGE IN THE WEE HOURS OF THE NIGHT FOR THAT LAST PIECE. Not enough stars for this cake!!! Should be 10 stars. ABSOLUTELY THE BEST Carrot Cake I have ever had. I truly believe the buttermilk glaze sets this one apart from all the other cakes. Super moist and great texture. I used only about 3/4 of the glaze because it's really sweet. I've made this cake 3 times now and have gotten rave reviews everywhere I've taken it. Will not use any other Carrot Cake recepie from now on. THANK YOU MizzNezz!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Wow! Are you kidding me? I love carrot cake and this is the BEST I have ever tasted: commercial or home-made. Lasts and tastes great even days later. Couldn't thank you enough. 5 stars X a million.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Oh my gosh. Wow, the BEST carrot cake I have ever had. One I wish I had NEVER found as two of us ate the whole thing. I did not have the walnuts and added more carrots. It was so moist yet held together so well. MizzNezz post no more sweets you hear? Thanks Sally

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Excellent indeed, my husband can't keep his hands off of these. I used my mini cheesecake pan for the cakes and they came out the picture perfect tall little cakes which I topped with the frosting but skipped the glaze as we wanted to have it a bit less fattening. I wouldn't hesitant to bring these anywhere.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Excellent Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 854.2
     
    Calories from Fat 385
    45%
    Total Fat 42.8 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 20.7 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 620.6 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 114.7 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 93.8 g
    375%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites