117 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Totally awesome! The glaze definitely adds a lot to this cake. I made this for a family dinner and everyone liked it. As another reviewer noted, it is easier to make than the instructions sound. The only thing with the glaze is that it needs to be stirred constantly to avoid scorching. No need to look further for a great carrot cake!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary K. W. August 14, 2009

Others have said it and I agree. This cake is worth much more than 5-stars. It is over-the-top. I have had some carrot cakes that were just too dry and easy to choke on. This one is moist and the frosting is so rich. WOW!!! Thank-you MizzNezz. Truly the best!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariav23 February 11, 2004

You are right this is the best cake I've ever tasted, No joking you guys, this cake is great please make this cake one time you will love it, just absolutely love it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.McInnis Davis September 18, 2003

This Carrot Cake was wonderful. Little extra work then your average Carrot Cake but was well worth it. It will be one of my favorite receipes to serve to my guests for dinner.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chooch September 03, 2003

I think this excellent carrot cake was the far best cake I have ever made. I missed the pineapple ingredient and it still was the best cake ever. Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingmom101 June 20, 2010

FAB-U-LOUS!!!! My first go at a carrot cake, I divided the batter into two 9-inch cake pans. I don't think it got quite done in the middle and a little too done on the outside so I will go with the reviewer who reduced the temp and extended the cook time next time(there will be a YUMMY next time!) I messed up the glaze so I doubled the icing recipe and smothered the cake knowing that since it would be i nteh fridge overnight it would soften the edges, it did and the cake was WONDERFUL! I won't even take it to work to share the leftovers- I want it all to myself!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*PickyKids* April 05, 2010

Let me be reviewer101 with a well deserved 5 star rating. Delicious! I used about 2/3 of the glaze and found that to be perfect for us. Certain to be repeats of this wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 March 08, 2010

This carrot cake is just amazing! I made it for New Years and we couldn't quit eating it.It's so moist with the pineapple and the buttermilk glaze.It's definately the most delicious carrot cake I've ever made.I was worried the buttermilk glaze would be too rich so I only made half but next time I'll go ahead and use it all.I plan on making it again for Easter.It's sooo good but beware it's also addictive!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
officemaintenance February 25, 2010

I don't usually try "new" recipes out on company, but made this for Christmas dessert. MizzNezz sums it all up--excellent. Thanks for sharing and making us bakers look so good. Everyone loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers December 25, 2009

WOW! Excellent is an understatement. I can't wait to make this for company. It's definately show off food. Good job Mizz!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherrirod October 22, 2009
Excellent Carrot Cake