117 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This carrot cake is by far better than any I have ever tasted. I agree with Jeff, it is worth at least 100 stars. The cake is moist and tender and the buttermilk glaze adds another layer of richness. The cream cheese frosting is sweet and sooo creamy. Talk about a sugar high--wowie!! Thanks MizzNezz, you have really outdone yourself.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalie Z March 26, 2003

Wow!! Not enough starts in the universe to rate this one. Carrot cake is my husband's favorite, so I chose to make this my first recipe tried from zaar... he is still floating somewhere close to the ceiling! I thought there were so many recipes here I might have to try dozens of the same thing to find the one we like best... believe me, this is the ONLY carrot cake recipe we will try! Easier to make that I thought from the description. Flavors of ingredients blend so beautifully, and the cake stays so wonderfully moist!! To us, the walnuts were integral, and next time I think I will even chop them even finer so they are in every morsel of the cake. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady March 26, 2003

If I could give this 100 stars I would, This is by far one of the best you have come up with so far Inez!!It does take a little extra time but is WELL worth it!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff Hixson February 14, 2003

This carrot cake was excellent, I have to admit. My husband said it was the best one I've made so far from Zaar. I didn't care too much for the coconut so next time I think I will substitute it for more shredded carrots. My favorite part of the cake was the buttermilk glaze and the icing. OMG...don't get me started on the icing. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanette G September 15, 2003

All I can say is WOW!!!! This is the best carrot cake I've ever eaten. It will certainly appeal to anyone who has a serious sweet tooth. It's incredibly moist. Definitely a "keeper".

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sadielady June 10, 2003

Oh my! I agree, this recipe deserves more than five stars! This cake was SOOOOOO good! The secret to this awesome cake has to be the glaze. The glaze absorbed into the cake and made the cake very moist and flavorful. The icing was heavenly. I baked the cake for 50 minutes and it was done. I had to use a bit more than one box of powdered sugar in the frosting (probably because the butter and cream cheese were at room temperature). My DH raved about this cake and several of his coworkers requested for the recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas May 21, 2003

I love carrot cake without raisins and am very picky about cream cheese frosting. This cake is by far the best ever in every way--wish I could rate it 100 stars! So super moist and the coconut adds such a nice texture! Only thing I dp different (and I have made this 5x or more!)is I only use 1/2 of the buttermilk glaze on the cake. I also use less powdered sugar in the frosting--I like it really cream-cheesy. MizzNezz, you are the reason I come back to this site so often!! Thank you for sharing you wonderful recipes!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KailuaGirl4Ever April 11, 2004

My only complaint is that the calories are listed in the recipe! If only I were ignorant of that I could have enjoyed with no guilt! This is above a five star rating, thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom of Five December 03, 2003

This is the BEST carrot cake I have ever had, without a doubt! I agree with everyone who gives it 100 stars! Excellent texture and soooooo wonderfully moist. It is a little more work than other cakes, but well worth it. Also, every time I make it I seem to get faster at it! Oh, also, I usually make this in a 13x9 Air Bake pan, but I have also made it in two regular 8x8 glass pans. The Air Bake pan works GREAT for this recipe since it keeps the cake so flat on top (rather than doming up towards the middle). The flat top keeps the buttermilk glaze from running to the sides, so every piece is equally moist!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaggieB September 01, 2003

This carrot cake is phenomenal - soft, moist (as a good carrot cake SHOULD be!) and flavorful. I was even able to convince my SO that he actually does like carrot cake with this recipe. Followed it exactly, with the exception of only using about half the glaze (I brushed it on with a basting brush, let it soak in/dry, and repeated). As noted, definitely more delicious on day two, after the flavors have had a chance to blend.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fidgety smidgets May 03, 2010
Excellent Carrot Cake