Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Excellent Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Excellent Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    117 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 117

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2003

      This carrot cake is by far better than any I have ever tasted. I agree with Jeff, it is worth at least 100 stars. The cake is moist and tender and the buttermilk glaze adds another layer of richness. The cream cheese frosting is sweet and sooo creamy. Talk about a sugar high--wowie!! Thanks MizzNezz, you have really outdone yourself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      Wow!! Not enough starts in the universe to rate this one. Carrot cake is my husband's favorite, so I chose to make this my first recipe tried from zaar... he is still floating somewhere close to the ceiling! I thought there were so many recipes here I might have to try dozens of the same thing to find the one we like best... believe me, this is the ONLY carrot cake recipe we will try! Easier to make that I thought from the description. Flavors of ingredients blend so beautifully, and the cake stays so wonderfully moist!! To us, the walnuts were integral, and next time I think I will even chop them even finer so they are in every morsel of the cake. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2003

      If I could give this 100 stars I would, This is by far one of the best you have come up with so far Inez!!It does take a little extra time but is WELL worth it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      This carrot cake was excellent, I have to admit. My husband said it was the best one I've made so far from Zaar. I didn't care too much for the coconut so next time I think I will substitute it for more shredded carrots. My favorite part of the cake was the buttermilk glaze and the icing. OMG...don't get me started on the icing. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2003

      All I can say is WOW!!!! This is the best carrot cake I've ever eaten. It will certainly appeal to anyone who has a serious sweet tooth. It's incredibly moist. Definitely a "keeper".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2003

      Oh my! I agree, this recipe deserves more than five stars! This cake was SOOOOOO good! The secret to this awesome cake has to be the glaze. The glaze absorbed into the cake and made the cake very moist and flavorful. The icing was heavenly. I baked the cake for 50 minutes and it was done. I had to use a bit more than one box of powdered sugar in the frosting (probably because the butter and cream cheese were at room temperature). My DH raved about this cake and several of his coworkers requested for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      I love carrot cake without raisins and am very picky about cream cheese frosting. This cake is by far the best ever in every way--wish I could rate it 100 stars! So super moist and the coconut adds such a nice texture! Only thing I dp different (and I have made this 5x or more!)is I only use 1/2 of the buttermilk glaze on the cake. I also use less powdered sugar in the frosting--I like it really cream-cheesy. MizzNezz, you are the reason I come back to this site so often!! Thank you for sharing you wonderful recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2003

      My only complaint is that the calories are listed in the recipe! If only I were ignorant of that I could have enjoyed with no guilt! This is above a five star rating, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2003

      This is the BEST carrot cake I have ever had, without a doubt! I agree with everyone who gives it 100 stars! Excellent texture and soooooo wonderfully moist. It is a little more work than other cakes, but well worth it. Also, every time I make it I seem to get faster at it! Oh, also, I usually make this in a 13x9 Air Bake pan, but I have also made it in two regular 8x8 glass pans. The Air Bake pan works GREAT for this recipe since it keeps the cake so flat on top (rather than doming up towards the middle). The flat top keeps the buttermilk glaze from running to the sides, so every piece is equally moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      This carrot cake is phenomenal - soft, moist (as a good carrot cake SHOULD be!) and flavorful. I was even able to convince my SO that he actually does like carrot cake with this recipe. Followed it exactly, with the exception of only using about half the glaze (I brushed it on with a basting brush, let it soak in/dry, and repeated). As noted, definitely more delicious on day two, after the flavors have had a chance to blend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      Totally awesome! The glaze definitely adds a lot to this cake. I made this for a family dinner and everyone liked it. As another reviewer noted, it is easier to make than the instructions sound. The only thing with the glaze is that it needs to be stirred constantly to avoid scorching. No need to look further for a great carrot cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      Others have said it and I agree. This cake is worth much more than 5-stars. It is over-the-top. I have had some carrot cakes that were just too dry and easy to choke on. This one is moist and the frosting is so rich. WOW!!! Thank-you MizzNezz. Truly the best!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2003

      You are right this is the best cake I've ever tasted, No joking you guys, this cake is great please make this cake one time you will love it, just absolutely love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      This Carrot Cake was wonderful. Little extra work then your average Carrot Cake but was well worth it. It will be one of my favorite receipes to serve to my guests for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      I think this excellent carrot cake was the far best cake I have ever made. I missed the pineapple ingredient and it still was the best cake ever. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      FAB-U-LOUS!!!! My first go at a carrot cake, I divided the batter into two 9-inch cake pans. I don't think it got quite done in the middle and a little too done on the outside so I will go with the reviewer who reduced the temp and extended the cook time next time(there will be a YUMMY next time!) I messed up the glaze so I doubled the icing recipe and smothered the cake knowing that since it would be i nteh fridge overnight it would soften the edges, it did and the cake was WONDERFUL! I won't even take it to work to share the leftovers- I want it all to myself!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Let me be reviewer101 with a well deserved 5 star rating. Delicious! I used about 2/3 of the glaze and found that to be perfect for us. Certain to be repeats of this wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      This carrot cake is just amazing! I made it for New Years and we couldn't quit eating it.It's so moist with the pineapple and the buttermilk glaze.It's definately the most delicious carrot cake I've ever made.I was worried the buttermilk glaze would be too rich so I only made half but next time I'll go ahead and use it all.I plan on making it again for Easter.It's sooo good but beware it's also addictive!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I don't usually try "new" recipes out on company, but made this for Christmas dessert. MizzNezz sums it all up--excellent. Thanks for sharing and making us bakers look so good. Everyone loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      WOW! Excellent is an understatement. I can't wait to make this for company. It's definately show off food. Good job Mizz!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Excellent Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 854.2
     
    Calories from Fat 385
    45%
    Total Fat 42.8 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 20.7 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 620.6 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 114.7 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 93.8 g
    375%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes