Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ex-Mother in Law's Pork Chops With Cream of Mushroom Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ex-Mother in Law's Pork Chops With Cream of Mushroom

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2010

      I wish I could give these chops 10 stars! They were fork tender, & the gravy is sublime!! I did tweek a bit- used Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic soup, & stirred in some milk & a dab of sour cream. I briefly sauteed some Vidalia onions & placed them over the chops before adding the soup. Yummy with rice! This is a keeper at my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I've been making a version of this for years. I cube the chops before browning. Then pour the soup over the top of the cubed chops, stir until the soup is creamy, then put a lid on the skillet and simmer for an hour, stirring occasionally. I serve mine with either egg noodles or mashed potatoes. Very tasty, simple recipe. As an addition, I've added a sqirt or two of spicy brown mustard to the soup, as well as a couple shakes of crushed rosemary. Givest it a little something extra flavorwise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      I completely skipped the browning part of the recipe as my pork chops were really thin. Placed 4 in a glass casserole dish and added 1 can of cream of mushroom soup with the rest of the ingredients. Cooked this in a 375 degree oven for about 45 minutes. DH LOVED it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      I was looking for an easy recipes to make with Cream of Mushroom soup. I bought a can of Mushroom soup w/Garlic and since I always have Pork Chops on hand this fit the bill. I did only make four chops that were 1 1/2 inches thick and used only one can of soup. The only difference I made to the recipe was to add about 3 Tbsp of Sour Cream which I stirred into the sauce after I removed it from the oven. It was very tasty served over German style Egg Noodles. Thanks for the recipe. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Tasty and easy. This also works well with chicken. no need to fry the chicken, just put in pot and pour soup and soup can of milk over. Have not made these recipes in years, thanks Kathy for bring them back.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      Love this gravy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      easy and Delicious, took no skill as i have none but it turned out just fine!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      I am no stranger to porkchops prepared this way, my Mother used this same recipe with outstanding results. I used store brand cream of mushroom soup, thinking it works ok for the few things I do use it for... it did NOT work well with this recipe. The chops came out perfectly tender but the gravy suffered because I skimped on the soup. Do use a brand name soup and you won't be dissapointed. I am happy to have this recipe saved so I can be reminded to make it more often. Thanks BamaKathy for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      Just wanted to thanks you...had this last night. I'd bought some really thick pork chops and did not know how to cook them without them drying out...I only had 2 huge chops and I used 1 can of cambells fat free mushroom condensed soup. I also added garlic (2 cloves chopped). Browned and then added to oven dish.. 1 hr later they were perfect and fork tender..we had with roast potatoes and brocolli...delicious and super simple thanks again...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      KCShell's review tipped me over to try this recipe. Variations of this pork dish have been around for decades, but never, ever did I give one a try until today. These are just wonderful moist and tender chops and as it's said in Cajun country...we drink our gravy! Yep, drinkable gravy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      There are 2 reasons why I think this is an outstanding recipe. First, browing the chops in butter and using 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup. In years past, I have used a similiar recipe but browned the chops in a small amount of oil and then tried to be cheap and use only one can of soup for 6-8 chops. With your changes, my pork chops were to die for and my 14 year old said, "I love this kind of meat" Well, it was the SAME kind of meat we had a week or two ago, just not made your way! I know we are all trying to cut back on calories but this is one recipe where you should just make it like it is written. Thanks for allowing me to make a dinner in which everyone was happy for once!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      This was sooooooo good!! I only changed it slightly, but it does not take away from the basic recipe. First, I only needed 3 chops, so I used 1 can of soup. After removing the chops from the skillet, I tossed in a half cup of sliced fresh mushrooms and sauteed them for a moment before adding the soup to the pan. I scraped the bits from the bottom of the pan. After this was stirred smooth, I mixed in a splash of milk. This I poured over the chops and continued as written. Served over wheat egg noodles and a broccoli medly on the side. This was just mouthwatering, and the chops were sooo juicy. My 13 year old wanted me to make it tomorrow, or the next day, or the next day after that. We were licking our plates! Thanks sooo much!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      Make these all the time as I love pork chops. Is simple, quick, and delicious. I like to put a layer of sliced onions under the chops because nearly everything is better with onions! You won't be disappointed so go ahead and make these. Deserves at least 10 stars! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      I halved this recipe using 4 pork loin chops. I threw in half an onion as the chops were browning and would have added some canned mushrooms if I would have had some. Super easy meal when served over noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2013

      omg I just made this for dinner and it was amazing. it was quick and so yummy best meal I have had in awhile

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      My husband and son are both picky eaters and they loved this! I did change a few things such as adding green beans into the pork chop/mushroom dish during the last 15 min of baking and used mashed potatoes instead of noodles or rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      I also made this years ago and the only difference is that I just put the mushroom soup in the skillet with the pork chops and put a lid on it for about 45 minutes. Delicious. I had almost forgotten about this recipe. Thanks for the reminder. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      Really good. I served these with some herbed couscous and my family really enjoyed this. Its easy to prepare too. I didn't bake this as it was too hot outside to start the oven but I did cook these in my electric skillet and it turned out great. Thank you for sharing with me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      I made this for my family and EVERYONE enjoyed. The little ones and the adults. But instead of adding seasoning salt I used garlic salt and pepper. I made about 10 porkchops and put then inot a large pan (for when I put it in the oven). I used 3 cans of cream of mushroom (large ones,) and prett much made the soup and chops into a soup. And sauteed half an onion and placed them over the soup. When they were done, I used the remaining mushroom soup as gravy for the mashed potatoes I made. Everything came out delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      Made a lot of gravy for the noodles, and it certainly was easy, but I thought the flavor was bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ex-Mother in Law's Pork Chops With Cream of Mushroom

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 660.0
     
    Calories from Fat 405
    61%
    Total Fat 45.0 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 15.7 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 191.1 mg
    63%
    Sodium 942.7 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 53.6 g
    107%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites