Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ev's Roast Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ev's Roast Chicken

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2007

      The seasoning mixture in this recipe is "spot on". Instead of using regular paprika, I used Spanish smoked paprika (also known as sweet smoked paprika and pimenton), which added another dimension of flavor. I only had garlic and onion powders on hand, so I used them instead of fresh or granules. At home during the cooking time, I was surprised by how each ingredient's fragrance filled the kitchen at different times. I was also surprised by the amount of liquid and fat that rendered out of the chicken, and was glad I had cooked it in a 9x13 pan. The end result was moist, succulent and delicious, and I really appreciated the ease of preparation. There were leftovers, so I found that most of what rendered from the chicken were juices which jellied when refrigerated and which made it easy to remove the TBSP of fat that remained. Thank you for sharing your creation, Ev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      Sensational marinade with remarkable results. This is such a simple concept, but the taste and ease of preparation makes this a true winner. I bumped the oven up to 300 degrees F and roasted for about 4 hours. This is a lazy (wo)man's dream come true. Thanks, evelyn/athens, if this is any indication of your cooking expertise, I'll be amassing your other recipes in my cookbooks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2003

      This long, slow roasting method turns a humble bird into something glorious. Creating the marinade paste was quick and simple, as was rubbing it on the chicken. I followed Evelyn's recipe and directions exactly which were clear and easy to follow. After 5 hours away from home, I returned to the most heavenly aroma and a delectable meal. Great recipe Evelyn, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2004

      Evelyn, we loved this! I cooked it firstly in a slow cooker for too long so it was dry. I think to do this successfully, you would need to be home to watch it. (Maybe it only needed 5 hours) The second time, it came out so moist and tender, I believe the lemon juice contributed, as I often stuff my chicken with lemon halves. We enjoyed the flavours and it took 5 minutes to put together. I can't praise it enough. I did add some chilli flakes the second time and liked it. Simon's words were "It looks just like store bought chicken".. Don't be offended, that's just the way he is :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      I loved the taste of the seasonings! I used this on chicken, the slow cooking made this fall apart tender! I used the rub on salmon, it was good too! Thanks evelyn! I definetaly will be cooking this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2003

      Wonderful roast chicken! I did use minced garlic and the combination with the ground mustard is packed with flavor! I made a "sauce" with more of the mustard, garlic & lemon and poured over baby red potatoes and roasted with the chicken. This chicken just falls off the bone and was sooo juicy. Thanks for posting, this is yet another keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      What an easy and tasty way to fix a chicken! I used garlic and onion powders and cooked at 300 degrees for a little over 4 hours. The chicken fell off the bones it was so tender. Next time I'll put the chicken on a rack so it won't sit in all that fat. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      I doubled the rub ingredients and stuffed the bird with sliced lemons, and I inadvertently ended up marinating it for 48 hours. Next time I will do the same thing. This was a great, easy, delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      I LIKE IT! I followed the recipe exactly. I like the idea of putting the breast side down for the first four + hours and then turning it up. I found the meat could use a touch more flavor and will increase the salt a bit the next time I make it. Thanks for posting, evelyn, another great recipe on recipezaar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      This chicken was moist and very very delicious. I did not use the olive oil at all but rather poured some chicken stock in the bottom of the pan that I used to baste the chicken occasionally. The entire family enjoyed it. A definate keeper. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This is the best chicken I have ever had.It is so moist and so tasty.I did not slow cook this as the recipe states.I cooked it in a 375 oven on convection roast for 1 hour 45 minutes.My chicken was about 5 lbs.I am going to use this on my Christmas turkey this year.I'll double the ingredients for that one.Fantastic recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Really great and full of flavour with a fantastic aroma during cooking! Towards the end I checked because I thought it might have needed a crisp up of the skin, but decided not to and left cooking at the original temperature. I'm glad I did that because the herbs and olive oil gave it a firm and delicious crust that was a bit different to a regular roast chicken and made a really pleasant change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Very tasty and very moist. I did cook on a roasting rack in a roasting pan, don't know if that made a difference, but I needed to up the oven temp to 350 for the last hour. I will make again and not use roasting rack and see if that makes a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      this was so fab!! I accidentally marinated it for two days definitely not my intention but I think it made for a more flavorful chicken. The skin was so crisp and the meat was so moist!!! I added crab boil to the rub instead of olive oil and it gave a spicy flare. The juice from the chicken made an excellent gravy, I will definitely make this again. It didnt it require any basting!! THanks for posting!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      Super delicious! I have a rotisserie so I wasn't able to cook for 5 hours but I loved the mix of seasonings on the chicken. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      My husband really liked this, I used this as a rub on the outside and actually stuffed the chicken from a different recipe Herb and Spinach Stuffing for an Herb Roast Chicken which I just posted. My cooking time was different from this since I just used this as a rub on the outside and then used the rest of the other recipe for the inside and cooking time. Next time, I would like to try marinating it like everyone says to do, I just didn't because I didn't have the time. Thanks for a great recipe and I will post the stuffing one. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      This dish was a huge hit. I used fresh garlic & onions, Spanish smoked paprika & put some small onion & lemon segments in the cavity before cooking. Yet another wonderful recipe from evelyn/athens - thank you:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      Perfect chicken..very moist..also used fresh garlic and onion..well make this again..Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      We had this tonight and it was so yummy. The smell coming from the oven was great. Followed the recipe, using crushed fresh garlic instead of granules. Marinated overnight and roasted it on 125C for 4 hrs and turned up to 180C for 1/2 hr to crisp the skin. Thanks Evelyn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      This is going in my Outstanding Cookbook.I've roasted a few chickens in my days and this is the Best.The aroma all afternoon was to die for.I much prefer it to the Sticky Chicken because of the salt in the other one.I took a picture but it does not do justice to this great recipe.Thank you so much for posting. Happy Cooking1 Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ev's Roast Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (60 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.0
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    72%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 53.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 487.4 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes