Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ev's Baked Feta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ev's Baked Feta

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2003

      Bake this on the longer side to ensure that the feta softens up well. I used fresh basil and rosemary instead of oregano for mine which smelled wonderful. Goes really well with a crusty Italian bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      Oh my gosh - what a fabulous starter! We love feta and all the other ingredients, and the finished dish was just absolutely unbelievable. I've never had baked feta, and wondered if it would really soften up nicely - the answer is YES! I used the best greek feta I could find, and made exactly as directed, and four of us tore through two big baked slices in no time. Next time, the only change I would make is to bake the cheese in a gratin dish, covered with foil, so that we don't lose any of the oozy olive oil and bits of cheese. Super easy appetizer that we'll also be making a lot over the summer, as it is just as good warm as it is hot! We might also try the individual packets on the grill for ease of use. Definitely try this one - it's unusual, tasty, and just a lush, wonderful taste. Thanks, ev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2004

      This turned out absolutley delicious. I wanted to adjust the recipe to feed a crowd rather than individual servings so I used to 3X4 inch squares of feta about 1-1/12 inches thick. I also chopped the tomatoes rather than leaving as slices. I put it all in a baking dish just big enough to accomodate both squares of cheese. I covered the dish with foil and baked for about 25 minutes. This was so delicious and flavorful and I will serve this to my guests again and again! Thank you Ev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      This was just heavenly. I didn't change a thing and the finished product was absolutely delicious. We love Feta and this sure is a nice way to enjoy it. Thanks Ev.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2003

      I cannot find words to describe how good this was! I make it on a regular basis now. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2003

      I made this exactly as the recipe stated and cooked for the 15minutes. I and my guests just loved the flavour and this is going to be used as a starter quite often in my place. I had ripe sun ripened vine tomato which collapsed well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Took this camping so marinated the cheese before leaving home--flavored it nicely. Cooked it over the campfire for an elegant appetizer in the woods!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Wow! Kiss the cook for this one! So very simple, and just a wonderful presentation! Thnx for sharing it, ev! Made for the Voracious Vagabonds of ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      This was so easy to throw together, and absolutely delicious. I had something else in the oven at 350^, so I put the packets in at that temp and just baked them for a bit longer. Next time I will use a bit less cheese and a bit more tomato. Wonderful on top of the crusty bread. Made for ZWT6--Whine and Cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      came out great! added medi olives in mine and it was delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I made this to go along with some pita bread points. It was delicious together and a great appetizer before my dinner party with guests. Got nice compliments as everyone took their first bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I made this for guests last night-it was VERY well recieved. I made it in a gratin dish with the tomato chopped over the cheese. I used a really good lemon infused oil and we loved dipping our bread in it before slathering the gooey cheese and tomato on top. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      Salty, warm and good. However, it was a bit oily and I kept wishing it had tomato sauce instead of sliced tomato. Next time I'll do that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Delicious! I made a bit for myself on a night when I didn't feel like eating an entire meal and I ended up splitting it with my mom, who just adored it. The following night she made a big batch in a baking dish. She chopped up the tomatoes and the feta so that it all mixed together in one big wonderful, melty mess. We've made it like that several more times. A definite keeper; thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      This is sooooo good. I used tomato and basil feta and used grape tomatoes because of the time of year but otherwise followed it to the T. Made it this weekend and then made some for work and it did not last long. Thanks for another wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Loved this!!! Baked it a little longer that suggested, about 20-25 minutes and it was perfectly creamy. Would be a great dinner party app. Thanks evelyn/athens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      This was AMAZING!! Our guests were so impressed with this recipe! Loved the oregano and garlic combination as well. This is a very impressive dinner party appetizer. Served this with crusty italian bread and it was SO wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      really yummy! whatever you do-don't add salt!!!! delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      I bake feta the same way, except I add a slice of green bell pepper to each. I place each parcel in a baking dish to ensure that no liquid spills in the oven (it shouldn't), but I also do this for convenience as it's quicker and easier to remove them from the oven. I then transfer each sealed parcel to individual gratin dishes for serving. The red pepper flakes gives it a nice kick. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      FABulous! Left out the salt entirely as I didn't read the instructions well enough, but didn't miss it! This will be made again and again this summer - thank you so much for the recipe, Ev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ev's Baked Feta

    Serving Size: 1 (39 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.4
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    95%
    Total Fat 13.5 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    feta

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites