19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved this recipe. I made a couple of changes. First of all, I love pumpkin so I added the whole can. Secondly, I used all brown sugar instead of splenda. They were moist and great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bettytams October 15, 2007

Very nice. We ran out of fiber bars and I found these. With the fiber in pumpkin and the oatmeal, these make a nice change. Since I had everything on hand, easy on the pocket book and tasty, to boot! I only wish I could boost up the protein.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Squeaky Worm August 19, 2013

I changed the serving size to 4 in case these did not come out right .. Well next time I will make a full batch. I opmitted nuts but added dried cranberries and shredded coconut .. these were really good thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerbare October 17, 2009

This is really good! Like another reviewer, I used a whole can of organic pumpkin in it (1.75 cups) and instead of spleda or regular brown sugar, I used 1 cup of demerara sugar. The demerara sometimes makes baked goods a little crunchy because it doesn't always disolve the same as conventional sugar, so I put the pumpkin, eggs, milk, maple syrup and vanilla in a 4 cup pyrex measuring cup, stirred in the demerara sugar, and then let is sit for about 15 minutes before mixing it in with the dry ingredients and raisins. I soaked the raisins in hot water for 15 minutes, also, before combining all the ingredients. These turned out very cake or muffin-like, and they might fall apart if someone tried to eat them on the run like a pop tart. I'm wondering if I let them sit a bit and then freeze them in individual servings if they might hold together a bit better than they do right out of the pan. These taste wonderful, though, and I'll definately be making them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeacemongerNC January 23, 2008

These have a great flavor and were super easy to put together. The raisins plumped up nicely and mesh well with the pumpkin. I was expecting something a little more like a granola bar, but the texture is more similar to that of bread pudding: very soft, chewy, dense.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
groovyrooby November 07, 2007

AHHH,,,these are wonderful. I made a few minor adjustments also...only because of what I had on hand, not because of your recipe. I only used 1 egg because I used a whole can of pumpkin instead of just 1 cup. And, I used 1/2 Craisins, 1/2 raisins. And, one other thing,,I didn't have Splenda on hand and so I used Equal. I also cut and froze individually to have whenever. Thanks for sharing Resa!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB November 04, 2007

These are wonderful!! I cut and froze indivually for us to grab and go. I did reduce the brown sugar to 1 cup and didnt use the slenda at all. I also added cranraisans instead of raisans. Very much like a quaker breakfast bar. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KLC October 21, 2007

Wow, this is delicious and, using brown sugar Splenda in place of brown sugar, it's low in everything that's bad for you. What a treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo July 03, 2007

I used 1/4 cup of sugar free syrup instead of the maple syrup and took out the brown sugar. I also used egg beaters instead and added a pinch or two of nutmeg. I baked it at 350 for the first thirty min. then turned it down. It took about 45min. Very good. tastes just like the quaker breakfast squares

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawn brooks749 January 16, 2007
Everything Breakfast Bar