8 Reviews

I can't see how this got such a very negative review. It's meatloaf, and a very good one. My family gave it a thumbs up. Sauce is delicious. Perhaps the reviewer put the meat in the food processor too and made it way too dense. In any case, don't serve anything to guests if you haven't tried it first.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toadflax December 07, 2011

I made this recipe on Dec.6th.for the " Bargain Basement Event " in the Cooking Games Forum. I did make a couple of changes to the recipe and they are as follows, the amount of onions were upped to 1/2 cup. Also, 1/2 cup of finely chopped celery was added with the onion then saute' d in a bit of margarine until softened.Then I continued with the recipe as it was written. The last change was, instead of putting into a loaf pan the meatloaf was free- formed and placed in a rectangular baking dish and baked at the suggested baking temp.(If free-forming, I would suggest adding a bit more bread crumbs to hold the shape of the loaf better.) Even with me free-forming, the amount of topping was perfect for this loaf. After letting "rest " for a few minutes, it sliced very well. And I consider myself a " Meatloaf Expert " :) and I have to tell you, " This is one of the best meatloaves that I've ever had ". Thank you for posting such a " Classic Comfort Food " recipe. " Keep Smiling :) "

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � December 07, 2011

I have been making this for years, the original recipe called for 1 pound of ground beef and 1/2 pound pork sausage. I also saute the onion. It has been a family favorite for 40 years!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsgrammyof3 August 08, 2014

This has been our meatloaf recipe for over 20 years. Simple, moist and delicious. The topping is the best!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chktrk January 09, 2013

We liked this meatloaf. It was moist and with great flavor. The only thing I omitted was the nutmeg. Thanks Cindi :) Made for PAC Fall 2012

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 30, 2012

I have always used tomato sauce or canned tomatoes in my meatloaf so I wasn't quite sure what to expect of this recipe. It was moist and tastey with a very slight hint of sage. I loved loved loved the sauce on top!! I will use this recipe again but will probably add a can of tomato sauce. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in Oklahoma April 26, 2006

This truly delicious meatloaf was my mother-in-law's go-to recipe for a quick, family comfort food dinner. I've made a few alterations that I think really amp up the flavor and texture. 1- America's Test Kitchen recommends adding a tiny bit of baking soda to ground beef recipes that cook for a long time. It changes the pH just enough to avoid any trace of the dreaded rubbery texture inherent in so many recipes (like rubber meatballs). You'll never taste it in the finished meatloaf, and it truly does as advertised. 2- The star flavor in this recipe is the nutmeg in the piquant sauce, so I use 2 tablespoons of nutmeg, but I add it to a quadrupled quantity of the other piquant sauce ingredients. Prior to this change, I had to police the family -- making sure none them scraped off the top of the meatloaf when I wasn't looking to get a larger portion of piquant sauce for themselves! Now, I have extra to serve at the table, and no one is tempted to make a piggy of the self,...but just in case, I keep it in front of me! 3- PREP: I prefer a free-formed meatloaf baked on a rack covered with foil and punctured with a toothpick or skewer about every 1/2 inch to 1 inch -- so the fat can drain away from the meatloaf. To make clean-up quicker, I set the punctured rack in a sheet pan that I've covered with foil. BAKING: A meatloaf formed into a ring has more surface area for more piquant sauce (yum!), and it cooks quickly and evenly. For Valentine's Day, I form it in the shape of a heart. To get the perfect done ness, I use a digital thermometer set to alarm at 155° -- easy. My family likes this meatloaf served with roasted salt & vinegar potato wedges and steamed carrots. Add an unfrosted applesauce cake, and it's 1960 again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacemaker427 . July 16, 2015

I was having family over for dinner, I felt this recipe was okay for the event, well it was a total disaster!!! I followed directions carefully and the flavor was horrifying, simply horrible. My family was disappointed and so was I.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mexicanqty August 27, 2006
Everyday Meatloaf