30 Reviews

This coffee cake was really good and I loved that it was made in the microwave! I used a 7-1/2 inch round pyrex dish I had and it worked well. I forgot to try it with the egg substitute (next time :D)..... I did sub the oil in the batter with 2 heaping tablespoons of applesauce but I did use the butter in the topping. It was just a tad dry without the glaze, but with some tweaking for my microwave I am still very happy with the results and my family really liked it too. Thank you for this great recipe, we can't wait to have it again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milkman's Daughter April 10, 2011

Hi Kree, made your microwave everyday coffee cake, it turned out just wonderful.... I had short notice that company was coming over in the afternoon, I needed something FAST and easy, I spoted your recipe,and decided to give it a tr..., I was not dissapointed, for a cake made in the microwave, this turned out super, it was very moist, and had a wonderful taste. I have to admit, I was a bit hesitant, I have never made a cake in the microwave before, but I sure will be making this one again soon. Thank you for a quick and delicious cake recipe, we all enjoyed it very much :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz March 03, 2004

Absolutely delicious! I want to share that if you've got a 1000 watt microwave to cook at 6 min, no longer. Maybe even 5:45 or so. My edges came out slightly tough but the center was perfect. Light and fluffy! That's why I say it'll probably work at less than 6. Also, for my fellow Vegans or any other who doesn't want dairy, I used Earth Balance (vegan butter), Ener-G Egg replacer and Almond Milk instead. I have to say that the glaze tastes just like that of a crispy creme donut. This did take maybe 10 min or so to prepare but glad it only took 6 min to cook. I will be making this often. Thank you for sharing. Oh, also I didn't use Buttermilk Bisquick, just the plain/regular kind. UPDATE Sept. 18, 09: I ran out of Bisquick but wanted to bake this. So I used a Bisquick substitute of: 1C Flour, 1TB Crisco, 1.5 T Baking Powder, 1/4T Salt. That made about 1.25C of mix. So, if anyone chooses to sub with this I'd recommend using 1/2C sugar rather than 1/4. Again, and as always, Great Recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Veganista September 18, 2009

I've made this so many times now; I can't believe I haven't yet reviewed it. Everyone I've made it for raves about it. The only thing I can't seem to grasp is how to get the crumbs to stay crumbly -- they always melt all over the cake in the microwave. I've even tried putting them on in the last few minutes of cooking, but to no avail. Oh well. It doesn't take away from how good this cake it. Simple, easy, FAST. Love, love, love it. Thanks, Kree!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggi Lynn June 29, 2008

I wish I could give this ten stars! My family often asks for coffee cake for breakfast and I just don't ever have the time to make it! The fact that you can bake this in the microwave is awesome! I also make it low fat, low sugar and my kids love it! Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a nice family friendly recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KSJ April 03, 2008

The best microwave cake ever!! I loved it!! Thank you Kree!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shereen April 09, 2004

very easy to put together and 7 minutes in the micro is right on! great flavor, i love micro cooking!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia February 23, 2004

My mom made this a lot growing up. When I was old enough I did too...for a while I had the recipe memorized! It isn't the most delicious coffee cake, but for speed, ease, and cleanup it can't be beat. I adore this recipe and am so glad to see it here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL May 08, 2012

If I could, i'd give this 4 and a half stars. Its delicious, and tastes sort of like cornbread with sweet goodness ontop. I had to eyeball the amount of oil I added. Also, I added 1/2 a teaspoon of vanilla to the glaze because I cant handle the raw sugar taste. I didn't have cinnamon so I sprinkled a little bit of pumpkin pie spice over the top. It's delicious! I'm on my 3rd piece. Oh yeah, I used a 8x8 glass square dish! :)

Happy Baking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
venison_fish_you_name_it April 10, 2012

I am gonna give this a whirl in the AM. My oldest doesn't like chocolate, and I made microwave brownie pudding cake tonight. And to my vegan friends. Bisquick is not vegan. It has dairy, and eggs in it. The reduce fat Bisquick has been said to be vegan but double check. (Sometimes companies change formulations.) However, Veganista's sub is a perfect alternative.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burny July 26, 2011
Everyday Coffee Cake (Microwave)