Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eva Rae's Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eva Rae's Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on December 15, 2012

      Amazing cake!!! I added some molasses to the batter to give it more flavor. I used a cream cheese mousse for the middle (recipe found on another site but basically whipping cream, powered sugar, vanilla and cream cheese) and a cream cheese frosting. I love that this doesn't have pineapple in it as I think pineapple ruins carrot cake. People who don't normally like carrot cake told me they love this cake. You won't be disappointed in this cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Fantastic, easy recipe. Stays moist. I reduced the sugar and cinnamon a bit, omitted the nuts (allergic) and threw in a few raisins (probably 1/4 cup). I couldn't get the burnt sugar to work, so I just left it out. I baked it in a non-stick metal bundt pan (the only kind of pan for carrot cake, in my humble opinion!) at 300F for 1 hour 15 minutes. No problem removing it from the pan -- I had greased the pan with butter and dusted it with flour. Perfect both times I made it. Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Such a gorgeously moist cake. My pan was a bit too large and I couldn't split the cake in two, but I think it probably would have been to soft to do that safely anyway. Not a problem as I just piled the recommended cream cheese icing high!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      This cake is moist and yummy. I've made it twice. The only problem I've had (both times) is getting it out of the pan in 1 piece (I use two 9 in. round pans). I grease the pans really well, and half of the cake just sticks to the pan. I guess I'll have to line them in parchment in the future. Anyway, this is a great carrot cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Wonderful wonderful cake! Really moist and tasty. I was looking for a carrot cake without all the extra bits like pineapple and this was perfect! I didn't do the burnt sugar bit and I used a deep round tin and then cut the cake in half to make the layers. The frosting was great too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      It is just OK to me. Nothing special about it. I did the burnt sugar thing but as soon as I added it to the batter, it got hard like candy. It broke into little pieces but wouldn't melt into the batter. Is there a better way to do this since the recipe didn't specify when to add the carmelized sugar. It just says to pour immediately into the batter but after which step of mixing the batter? I don't know what to say since I followed the recipe exactly. I was excited about trying this recipe out too. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Whoops! I accidentally submitted this review for a different recipe. This is THE ONE!FANTASTIC! This was so good, I bought a 1950's aluminum cake carrier at an antique flea mkt so I could make one and bring it to show off at a ladies luncheon. It is so good, you will see tasters nod to each other acknowledging your baking talent! I use one pound of carrots grated in my food processor. I bake it in two pans for a two layer cake. I also use another cream cheese icing recipe with some lemon juice in it for zip. And I frost sides with chopped roasted pecans. It is truly delicious - no mistaking it for a box mix or a spice cake - it is classically perfect, prize worthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      The best carrot cake ever! I also used the Eva Rae cream cheese frosting which was excellent. I'll never use pre-made cream cheese frosting again...sorry Betty Crocker! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

    • on April 09, 2007

      Very good carrot cake recipe. I followed the directions with the exception of omitting the burnt sugar. I used the recommended frosting which is also very good. I made in a 9 X 13 pan and the frosting was very thick, next time would decrease the amount of frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      Great Recipe, so easy with wonderful results! It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      Fabulous carrot cake. My son is very picky but he loved this, and that's really saying something! I skipped the nuts, preferring instead to decorate the tops of single pieces instead. I omitted the burnt sugar (laziness), used cake flour, and went with 1/4 c less oil. Took only 45 minutes to cook in an aluminum 9X13" pan. Eva Rae's cream cheese frosting is wonderful on this. Thanks, Kaarin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      YUMMY. Made your frosting to go with it and my son loved it. VERY MOIST, try it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      Lovely carrot cake, Kaarin! I used unbleached flour, threw in a bit of wheat germ, and cut down on the sugar slightly. Thanx for a keeper! Becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      It's the easiest and best carrot cake recipe I ever got hold on! I'm sold! I've baked this cake twice already! Thank you for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      Oh My Gosh!!! This was soooo good! Your not going to believe this but, I tripled this recipe and made 3 cakes!!! I also used your frosting recipe, so good. I took two of the cakes to youth group tonight and fed 30 teenagers with them both. I had kids telling me they don't like carrot cake and they were on there second piece. This is a real winner here, and you have to use the cream cheese frosting!! Thank you!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      Delish! I made this in my food frocessor so easy. Topped it with Pineapple, coconut cream cheese frosting #118878

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      Very nice moist cake,will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      Very good carrot cake...easy to prepare...turned out moist and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      A deliciously moist and flavoursome cake, and Kaarin’s frosting - Eva Rae's Cream Cheese Frosting - provides the perfect complement. I have eaten many carrot cakes over the years but this is the first one I've ever made and I feel as if I've hit the jackpot first time! It’s so much tastier than any carrot cake I’ve eaten before, and I can make it any time I like! I’ve made this for the 2005 Zaar World Tour - and for Pick a Chef! Fantastic recipe, Kaarin! Thank you, so much. I’ll be making this often to share with friends, so Eva Rae’s fame is indeed spreading to way beyond the edge of the arctic circle to the other side of the world! That in itself is exciting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eva Rae's Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1648 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 5356.2
     
    Calories from Fat 2654
    49%
    Total Fat 294.9 g
    453%
    Saturated Fat 26.8 g
    134%
    Cholesterol 744.0 mg
    248%
    Sodium 4869.1 mg
    202%
    Total Carbohydrate 640.0 g
    213%
    Dietary Fiber 20.3 g
    81%
    Sugars 423.6 g
    1694%
    Protein 54.7 g
    109%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes