22 Reviews

Amazing cake!!! I added some molasses to the batter to give it more flavor. I used a cream cheese mousse for the middle (recipe found on another site but basically whipping cream, powered sugar, vanilla and cream cheese) and a cream cheese frosting. I love that this doesn't have pineapple in it as I think pineapple ruins carrot cake. People who don't normally like carrot cake told me they love this cake. You won't be disappointed in this cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BYUMar December 15, 2012

Fantastic, easy recipe. Stays moist. I reduced the sugar and cinnamon a bit, omitted the nuts (allergic) and threw in a few raisins (probably 1/4 cup). I couldn't get the burnt sugar to work, so I just left it out. I baked it in a non-stick metal bundt pan (the only kind of pan for carrot cake, in my humble opinion!) at 300F for 1 hour 15 minutes. No problem removing it from the pan -- I had greased the pan with butter and dusted it with flour. Perfect both times I made it. Everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stormy Petrel January 09, 2010

Such a gorgeously moist cake. My pan was a bit too large and I couldn't split the cake in two, but I think it probably would have been to soft to do that safely anyway. Not a problem as I just piled the recommended cream cheese icing high!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Muffett October 17, 2009

This cake is moist and yummy. I've made it twice. The only problem I've had (both times) is getting it out of the pan in 1 piece (I use two 9 in. round pans). I grease the pans really well, and half of the cake just sticks to the pan. I guess I'll have to line them in parchment in the future. Anyway, this is a great carrot cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fredwina April 11, 2009

Wonderful wonderful cake! Really moist and tasty. I was looking for a carrot cake without all the extra bits like pineapple and this was perfect! I didn't do the burnt sugar bit and I used a deep round tin and then cut the cake in half to make the layers. The frosting was great too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caged_Mango March 16, 2009

It is just OK to me. Nothing special about it. I did the burnt sugar thing but as soon as I added it to the batter, it got hard like candy. It broke into little pieces but wouldn't melt into the batter. Is there a better way to do this since the recipe didn't specify when to add the carmelized sugar. It just says to pour immediately into the batter but after which step of mixing the batter? I don't know what to say since I followed the recipe exactly. I was excited about trying this recipe out too. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB January 27, 2009

Whoops! I accidentally submitted this review for a different recipe. This is THE ONE!FANTASTIC! This was so good, I bought a 1950's aluminum cake carrier at an antique flea mkt so I could make one and bring it to show off at a ladies luncheon. It is so good, you will see tasters nod to each other acknowledging your baking talent! I use one pound of carrots grated in my food processor. I bake it in two pans for a two layer cake. I also use another cream cheese icing recipe with some lemon juice in it for zip. And I frost sides with chopped roasted pecans. It is truly delicious - no mistaking it for a box mix or a spice cake - it is classically perfect, prize worthy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NHGibby November 07, 2008

The best carrot cake ever! I also used the Eva Rae cream cheese frosting which was excellent. I'll never use pre-made cream cheese frosting again...sorry Betty Crocker! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandi homemaker December 28, 2007

Very good carrot cake recipe. I followed the directions with the exception of omitting the burnt sugar. I used the recommended frosting which is also very good. I made in a 9 X 13 pan and the frosting was very thick, next time would decrease the amount of frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 April 09, 2007
Eva Rae's Carrot Cake