Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ethiopian Tomato & Cucumber Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ethiopian Tomato & Cucumber Salad

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2012

      Excellent and refreshing salad, and authentic too. I spent a month in Ethiopia in 2009, and their salads tend to have sharp, sour flavours. I made half a batch, but the full amount of dressing so it's ready for the repeat salad I will make tomorrow. :) Used red onion, balsamic vinegar and an anaheim chilli. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      REALLY good salad to pair with a spicy entree. I thought it could've called for a bit more vinegar to give it a stronger taste. I would definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      Fantastic! EASY to do!<br/>Light the light, fresh taste...made with prawns today! Was GREAT! WHOO HOO!<br/>I used red win vinegar and a hot green chili!<br/>DEFINITE keeper this recipe is for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

      I liked this recipe & think it will be perfect with summer's fresh tomatoes. The dressing is light & with a slight heat. Very good! Made for ZWT7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

      Enjoyed for dinner tonight. Light and refreshing. Liked the red wine vinegar and lemon mixed for the dressing. Thank You. ZWT7~Emerald City Shakers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      A wonderful light and refreshing salad! I used red wine vinegar and a jalapeno. We quite enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing! ZWT7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      For such a deceptively simple recipe this certainly has loads of great flavor! I meant to marinate it for a while, but in the end ran out of time and got it mixed together minutes before serving dinner. No matter--the flavors were terrific and the vinegar worked its magic on the raw onion, making it approachable for people like me who can't normally handle raw onion. I can't wait to make this again as the tomato season comes into full swing this summer. For me the lemon set this apart from other similar recipes, and I can't wait to try it with a pepper (skipped it this time for the benefit of little ones). Thanks for posting, Dreamer! Made for ZWT 7, for the Vivacious Violets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      This salad was delicious, a nice twist on the traditional cucumber salad. I added a bit more lemon & red wine vinegar and let it marinate for a couple of hours--great flavor. I may try it with balsamic next time just to see how it tastes. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      The hot pepper adds a nice kick and sets this cucumber and tomato salad apart from others of its kind.
      I really appreciated that this salad was quick, easy and healthy. Made as written. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      Fresh, fresh, fresh! This simple salad was excellent. Perfect for a hot summer evening. It came together in no time. It had just the right amount hot pepper to really add some zing. I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      What a great salad. I made this for the African Vegetarian Challenge for ZWT7. Very fresh and full of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Yummy! I used grape tomatoes, baby cukes, and only half of a jalapeno... So easy and delicious salad with a little twist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      I made exactly as listed and I loved everything about this salad; the flavours, the colours and the lightness of the dressing/vinagrette. I will be adding this to my favorites of 2011. Made for ZWT 7 - Food.Commandoes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      Loved the colors...loved the taste. First cucumbers from the garden. Great easy recipe perfect for summer. Made for ZWT7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      It was too hot today to cook, so I made this salad. I used regular tomatoes, and jalapeno peppers, because I really wanted to bring some heat to the dish. I served it with couscous, so it made for a light, vegetarian meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      Very good and easy! We had it with fish but I think it will be wonderful with almost any main dish. For the hot pepper I used a jalapeno. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ethiopian Tomato & Cucumber Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 54.2
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    41%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 152.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes