Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ethiopian Lentils With Berebere Spice Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ethiopian Lentils With Berebere Spice Mix

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2009

      Although I thought the flavour combination is fantastic and I am at this moment making up another big batch of it for using on just everything I am only giving it 3 stars because it was unbearably hot. I am very used to hot food and found it way too hot and my poor husband could barely eat it. I followed the spice mix directions ecaxctely. I subbed half the lentils for the same weight in sweet potato and because it was so spicy I added one zucchini, and some spinach and also lemon juice. I served it with rice. I am making it again because I like the spice combination but I am not adding any chili this time but will add it in depending what I am cooking. thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      I read the reviews first so I only used 2 tablespoons of the pepper flakes, I could probably do 3 and be just fine. Also, I felt like it was missing something so I added a small amount of brown sugar and yams for texture. It was wonderful and I will be making this regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Fantastic and spot on, though as I had some I drizzled some spice butter over the top and crumbled a little feta on as well. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      I love Ethiopian food, and this is a very good recipe. I took longer than 30 minutes to prepare (mainly roasting chiles), but it was worth it. I also added some hot peppers as the recipe is not very hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      These were absolutely delicious. They had a kick to them that wasn't evident right away. I could not find fenugreek (after going to 3 different stores I gave up), and the cardamom was VERY expensive ($14 for a regular spice jar), I would be interested in knowing if there are different options than those two for future reference. I cut the recipe down to serves 2 and we still had a lot of leftovers - they will make a perfect lunch. This is a definite make again recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I made a few changes--scaled down the amount, used pink lentils, used prepared berbere from the store, used sweet onion instead of red, and omitted the green chili but added some cayenne--but it was DELICIOUS! Next time, I'll make sure to have all the ingredients on hand and try it that way...thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Yummy! Made this recipe with red lentils, vegetable broth and only 1 and 1/2cup of chilies (1 green pepper and 2-3 anaheim peppers). Since we had a guest at our table, I didn't want to make it too spices, so after making the spice mix, I only added 1 tablespoon instead of 2. I have to say eating the left overs the next days was even better. Served with Injera and Potato salad. I think from now on I will make the Ethiopian dishes a day in advance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Great - we ate this with the injera and added hard boiled eggs to the dish and allowed them to soak up the flavours for a few hours. We used a mixture of red and brown lentils to give it some texture. I prefered the brown and would use more brown lentils than red in future, The spice mix is great and we made plenty to make the dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      This was amazing! I made the spices myself, because we don't have anything like that in the grocery stores here. I also cut the onions and chilis in half (just a personal preference - our chilis weren't seeded, so we didn't want our mouths to burst into flames), and it was wonderful!! We really enjoyed it, and we'll definitely make it again. Oh, also used the veggie broth, and I definitely recommend that. It smelled SO tasty. Made this with Injera and Ethiopian Ginger Vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ethiopian Lentils With Berebere Spice Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 168.4
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    12%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1208.2 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 12.3 g
    49%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes