22 Reviews

A great, easy substitute for Injeera. I was very happy with the results. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird February 22, 2012

This worked perfectly for me! I also had to spray my pan with cooking spray, but they turned out great. I was shocked I could get proper texture and almost authentic taste, as I was told you needed special equipment. This is a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meowser January 19, 2011

My husband had been dying to have Ethiopian for quite a while. I made this, along with mesir wat, and he loved it! He said it tasted very similar to injera he got at an Ethiopian restaurant. You can get teff flour online from The Teff Company and sub it in for the wheat flour, but it tastes great either way. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonnata December 09, 2010

This recipe may not be "authentic," but it certainly tasted very close to the delicious injera my husband and I get at a local Ethiopian restaurant. It was so easy to make, and I wouldn't change a bit of the recipe EXCEPT that I cooked it in a hot skilled--well-made and nonstick skillets--but I had to use some cooking spray. Once I did this, however, the injera came out perfect! We served it with the yam/lentils recipe from this site and with goman wot--Ethiopian greens. Thanks for sharing! We'll definitely use this one over and over again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bette August 11, 2010

it had the right texture but not the sourdough taste. in fact, it just tasted like bread in crepe form.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tyk June 29, 2008

Very good! Texture was awesome! I think it helped to keep the batter when thinning it on the thicker side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef JenJ April 10, 2008

Tried many injera recipes but can't somehow commit to 3 to 7 days (including the starter) of making bread...though I absoltely love injera. This was by far the BEST recipe, especially when following your instructions. I used teff and wheat, but was unable to get the sour taste :(. I tried using cream of tartar on the last few ones, there was a slight difference but not enough. Still this one deserves 5 stars...taste and texture great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julore74 January 03, 2008

went great with my chickpea wat..i love ethiopian food and love the recipe u have for injera...injera and chickpea wat is a customatic african festivalmeal..thanks so much!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezee1984 July 13, 2007

My fiance and 5 year old son loved this Injera! It was simple to make and tasted almost like the real thing. Definitely satisfied my craving for an Ethiopian meal. I made this with Chickpeas Wat (Ethiopian Chickpea Wat) and the meal was wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StrikingEyes00 June 19, 2007

Like your other recipes, Cherry Blossom, this was soo good. No complaints! (I made it as it is written without teff flour.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WeazelChef March 10, 2007
Ethiopian Flat Bread (Injera)