22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good substitute for injera. I didn't have self rising flour so I used 1.5 Tbsp baking soda and 1.5 tsp salt plus enough all purpose flour to make 3 cups. My blender is shot but I added water to the bowl at the end (I just guessed the consistency) and mixed well with my fork. I also added a splash of vinegar to make it taste sour.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
okinok October 01, 2009

YOWZA! This was perrrrrrfect! I had an art show of Ethiopian theme and made this w/ the chickpea wat. I cooked half in an iron skillet and half in a non-stick, both worked, but nonstick cooked faster. At the reception, I piled the injera next to the wat and left a stack of store bought pitas as well(nervous people wouldn't try my cooking). The injera lasted 2 seconds! People who never heard of Ethiopian food were flipping over the stuff, and were shocked I made it myself! THANK YOU for posting this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kaydia Ji April 23, 2008

Love it. I have made this twice, didn't put in blender either time. First time was perfect. Second time I had to rush and didn't let it sit for an hour. Learned that that is a crucial step.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
syndi22 January 16, 2013

This is pretty spot-on, though I found that it tastes better if allowed to sit longer (6-8 hours) and with the addition of 2 t. of salt just before you cook it. The real key is getting the thickness right - I used a non-stick skillet, which I really think works best. Otherwise, try substituting rye or barley flour for the whole wheat and/or cornmeal. Tef is the flour they use in Ethiopia, and after much research I discovered it's a relative of rye. The key is not having any more than 1 part 'other' flour to the 3 parts self-rising flour (high gluten flour works best).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liz.tarquin September 10, 2008

This was a very good substitute recipe for injera, though it didn't have that characteristic "teff tang". A huge advantage is it's possible to do on much shorter notice even if you have teff, as an authentic injera realistically takes at least a day for proper fermenting. Have you thought of trying this with a sourdough starter to get some of that sour flavor? Regardless, it's still very tasty and the texture is virtually identical to the real thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lerxst November 02, 2007

Teff is available at Whole Foods Markets

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
freshairla November 01, 2013

This was fun recipe to try. I added a bit of vinegar as others had suggested. Mine had kind of a raw flour flavor that I couldn't get past.I had a really hard time not flipping them, they looked like they were begging to be flipped, but I stayed true to the recipe and left them alone. I was really surprised that they didn't want to stick to the pan or burn. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview January 19, 2013

I used another recipe on this site for the self rising flour, since I didn't have any. I make bread often enough so I had all the other ingredients around. After a couple of tries to get the heat in the pan right (same as with crepes or pancakes), I ended up with a batch of about 20 of these. They also reheat well in the microwave. Very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan E. January 14, 2013

Since I've never had this type of flat bread or even heard of it, can't comment on it's authinticness (is that a word) but I sure had fun making it, it was pretty simple with clear instructions and I was pleasantly surprised with how much we liked the taste. More bread like (though flat) than most flat breads and less like a tortilla and we enjoyed that. I did follow another reviewers idea and added a splash of vinager as we LOVE sourdough, next time I think I will use my sour dough starter with this just to try it out. I also had no self rising flour so just used a recipe on here for making my own and it worked fine. Made for "Help a Naked Recipe Game"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 September 12, 2012

I've never had "real" Injera so I can't judge it's authenticity. I can say that this is really good and fun to make though. I started it at 6 am and they were finished by the time I had to leave for work before lunch. I can't tell you how much I wanted to flip them over (force of habit!) but managed not to and they turned out great and were much enjoyed, my DH ate 3 and it's *very* rare for him to even take a second on anything so that was a huge compliment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 11, 2012
Ethiopian Flat Bread (Injera)