Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ethiopian Flat Bread (Injera) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ethiopian Flat Bread (Injera)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2009

      Very good substitute for injera. I didn't have self rising flour so I used 1.5 Tbsp baking soda and 1.5 tsp salt plus enough all purpose flour to make 3 cups. My blender is shot but I added water to the bowl at the end (I just guessed the consistency) and mixed well with my fork. I also added a splash of vinegar to make it taste sour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      YOWZA! This was perrrrrrfect! I had an art show of Ethiopian theme and made this w/ the chickpea wat. I cooked half in an iron skillet and half in a non-stick, both worked, but nonstick cooked faster. At the reception, I piled the injera next to the wat and left a stack of store bought pitas as well(nervous people wouldn't try my cooking). The injera lasted 2 seconds! People who never heard of Ethiopian food were flipping over the stuff, and were shocked I made it myself! THANK YOU for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      Love it. I have made this twice, didn't put in blender either time. First time was perfect. Second time I had to rush and didn't let it sit for an hour. Learned that that is a crucial step.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      This is pretty spot-on, though I found that it tastes better if allowed to sit longer (6-8 hours) and with the addition of 2 t. of salt just before you cook it. The real key is getting the thickness right - I used a non-stick skillet, which I really think works best. Otherwise, try substituting rye or barley flour for the whole wheat and/or cornmeal. Tef is the flour they use in Ethiopia, and after much research I discovered it's a relative of rye. The key is not having any more than 1 part 'other' flour to the 3 parts self-rising flour (high gluten flour works best).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      This was a very good substitute recipe for injera, though it didn't have that characteristic "teff tang". A huge advantage is it's possible to do on much shorter notice even if you have teff, as an authentic injera realistically takes at least a day for proper fermenting. Have you thought of trying this with a sourdough starter to get some of that sour flavor? Regardless, it's still very tasty and the texture is virtually identical to the real thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2013

      Teff is available at Whole Foods Markets

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      This was fun recipe to try. I added a bit of vinegar as others had suggested. Mine had kind of a raw flour flavor that I couldn't get past.I had a really hard time not flipping them, they looked like they were begging to be flipped, but I stayed true to the recipe and left them alone. I was really surprised that they didn't want to stick to the pan or burn. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      I used another recipe on this site for the self rising flour, since I didn't have any. I make bread often enough so I had all the other ingredients around. After a couple of tries to get the heat in the pan right (same as with crepes or pancakes), I ended up with a batch of about 20 of these. They also reheat well in the microwave. Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      Since I've never had this type of flat bread or even heard of it, can't comment on it's authinticness (is that a word) but I sure had fun making it, it was pretty simple with clear instructions and I was pleasantly surprised with how much we liked the taste. More bread like (though flat) than most flat breads and less like a tortilla and we enjoyed that. I did follow another reviewers idea and added a splash of vinager as we LOVE sourdough, next time I think I will use my sour dough starter with this just to try it out. I also had no self rising flour so just used a recipe on here for making my own and it worked fine. Made for "Help a Naked Recipe Game"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      I've never had "real" Injera so I can't judge it's authenticity. I can say that this is really good and fun to make though. I started it at 6 am and they were finished by the time I had to leave for work before lunch. I can't tell you how much I wanted to flip them over (force of habit!) but managed not to and they turned out great and were much enjoyed, my DH ate 3 and it's *very* rare for him to even take a second on anything so that was a huge compliment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      A great, easy substitute for Injeera. I was very happy with the results. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      This worked perfectly for me! I also had to spray my pan with cooking spray, but they turned out great. I was shocked I could get proper texture and almost authentic taste, as I was told you needed special equipment. This is a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      My husband had been dying to have Ethiopian for quite a while. I made this, along with mesir wat, and he loved it! He said it tasted very similar to injera he got at an Ethiopian restaurant. You can get teff flour online from The Teff Company and sub it in for the wheat flour, but it tastes great either way. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      This recipe may not be "authentic," but it certainly tasted very close to the delicious injera my husband and I get at a local Ethiopian restaurant. It was so easy to make, and I wouldn't change a bit of the recipe EXCEPT that I cooked it in a hot skilled--well-made and nonstick skillets--but I had to use some cooking spray. Once I did this, however, the injera came out perfect! We served it with the yam/lentils recipe from this site and with goman wot--Ethiopian greens. Thanks for sharing! We'll definitely use this one over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      it had the right texture but not the sourdough taste. in fact, it just tasted like bread in crepe form.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Very good! Texture was awesome! I think it helped to keep the batter when thinning it on the thicker side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Tried many injera recipes but can't somehow commit to 3 to 7 days (including the starter) of making bread...though I absoltely love injera. This was by far the BEST recipe, especially when following your instructions. I used teff and wheat, but was unable to get the sour taste :(. I tried using cream of tartar on the last few ones, there was a slight difference but not enough. Still this one deserves 5 stars...taste and texture great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      went great with my chickpea wat..i love ethiopian food and love the recipe u have for injera...injera and chickpea wat is a customatic african festivalmeal..thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      My fiance and 5 year old son loved this Injera! It was simple to make and tasted almost like the real thing. Definitely satisfied my craving for an Ethiopian meal. I made this with Chickpeas Wat (Ethiopian Chickpea Wat) and the meal was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      Like your other recipes, Cherry Blossom, this was soo good. No complaints! (I made it as it is written without teff flour.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ethiopian Flat Bread (Injera)

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 119.4
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    14%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 321.0 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes