Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ethiopian Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ethiopian Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2011

      Wow, we really like this recipe! I did not peel the red skin potatoes, thought it gave a nice color to the dish. Made for ZWT7 Saucy Silverado's

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      This was run-of-the-mill cabbage and potatoes w. a dash of turmeric and cumin. There was some ingredient missing that would have given it an Ethiopian flair.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      I might have liked this, but in comparison to some of the same that I get from a nearby Ethiopian restaurant, this was bland, and there were too many potatoes compared to cabbage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2014

    • on January 06, 2013

      This is my favorite dish at Ethiopian restaurants, and though it does taste different, it is quite comforting and good. I used only a tablepoon of oil (with a nonstick pan), less salt, and probably triple the spices, plus a pinch of berbere to spice it up a tiny bit. I thought the ratio of all the ingredients was just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      This was very good. In step 2, I simmered it for 15 minutes and step 3 for 10 minutes, this left the cabbage and potatoes firm but not crisp. I'll be making this again. With this recipe, you can have a side dish to any meal in a short time. Made for ZWT7-Africa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      I thought this was a little bland, and I also had a problem with it sticking to the bottom of the pan despite using oil. I dumped in a whole bunch more spices and about a cup of water to keep it from sticking to the pan and that turned out pretty tasty. This is probably good for someone who's not used to spicy foods, but we love lots of strong flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      This is very down home style dish that made for a nice vegetarian lunch. Made as written and am sure we will be enjoying again soon. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Delicious. As a previous commenter noted, I boiled the potatoes separately to speed things up. I used a very large dense head of cabbage, so half was fine. I used green onions from my garden as well as Jerusalem artichokes in place of some of the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This dish was good, but I thought the potatoes were very bland. I doubled the spices which made the cabbage, carrots and onion very flavourful. If I make it again, I will leave them out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      THis was absolutely delicious. My daughter and I had it as a main course and will definitely be having it again. The flavours are exquisite for such a simple and easily prepared recipe and quite unique.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      I thought this dish was good- not as good as the one I get at the restaurant. I added more cabbage, potatoes and spices the second time I made it to have leftovers as well as I wanted the spice a little stronger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Excellent!!! Delicious, fragrant and beautiful to look at. My son, a chef, was impressed as well. Easy to put together. I did parboil the potatoes very briefly while the other veggies were sauteeing. Then drained them in colander and added to the mixture and completed cooking. Definitely a keeper. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      This dish was fantastic! Per one reviewer I did add a whole head of cabbage instead of half & that was a great recommendation. There was a perfect amount of cabbage versus potatoes. The whole family enjoyed this dish & we ate leftovers for lunches/snacks. We paired it up with Ethiopian Injera and it was a perfect combination! Can't wait to do it again. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Very tasty recipe. There was way too much potato and way too little cabbage, however, and I recommend cooking it with 2-3 potatoes and a whole head of cabbage. The flavor was great, and similar to restaurants I've been to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ethiopian Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (320 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 361.1
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    26%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 661.7 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.9 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    39%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes