Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Espinaca Dip (Fabulous Appetizer) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Espinaca Dip (Fabulous Appetizer)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2012

      I was excited when I found this recipe!! I did cut the recipe in half only 3 people in my house would even try it! I used "Del Monte_Petite Cut tomatoes with Zesty Jalapenos" instead of the Rotel tomatoes and did not add the jalapenos. I also used an extra-sharp cheddar cheese instead of the Velveeta. I knew I was making this dip for dinner and started in the afternoon, preparing the night before items together to soak in the fride for a couple hours. Then when I was ready to cook the dip I used my stop top to melt down the cheddar, cream cheese and milk stirring constantly. Then adding the prepared ingredients stired till everything was combinded. It came out perfect. Just like my family has enjoyed at our local mexican canitina!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Thank you so much for posting this!! I've been trying to re-create this for years (ever since moving away from KC)! I made a couple of changes, which I think makes it taste exactly like Jose Peppers. First off, I didn't use Velveeta. I used hot pepper cheese. (This is NOT pepper jack). This is white American cheese with jalapenos in it. I then didn't add the 1/4 cup jalapeno. If you don't have hot pepper cheese available, you could use white American (and then add the jalapeno). Then, instead of using 16 ounces cream cheese, I used only 8 ounces, increasing the hot pepper cheese then to 16 ounces. The first time I made this, it turned out to be an icky green color--still tasted good--but now I make sure to cook the spinach first, drain it (probably everyone else already knew to do this :)), and then I probably only use about 4 ounces of spinach, not the whole 8. Anyway, these are just my preferences, but if you're really searching for that Jose Pepper's taste, this is the closest I've ever gotten!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Jose Peppers is ok. but being from JO Co I have to tell you that MiRanchito blows the doors off Jose P's. Try their espinaca it is made with white cheese. Ive tried to make it at home and now that i've found this recipe...i use Cacique cheese from the local grocery store this is the closest i've found to MiRanchitos cheese. my mom use to use velveeta for nachos on movie night when growing up...sorry mom no longer a kid, i prefer a real cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      I've always thought queso was highly-overrated, but this recipe took it to a whole new level! I also used a white pepper cheese instead of Velveeta, but otherwise followed it exactly. Two of my children stopped by the next day and tried it. It had solidified in the refrigerator, of course, but they thought it was fabulous as a cold spread instead of a hot dip. I've been asked to make it as an Easter appetizer so they can decide which way they like it best. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Made this twice... once as a dip for New Years Eve party - everybody loved it. And then once for dinner. Mixed it with cooked, cubed chicken and mini penne pasta - delicious! Adult Mac & Cheese =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      Great recipe. Easy to make. Only used 2 bouillion cubes. I put all the ingredients in the slow cooker for an hour on high and it came out deliciously creamy. Thanks for posting. I'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      Absolutely LOVED this dip! Went very fast at a recent party, with rave reviews. I'm not a fan of Velveeta, so I substitued Chihuahua melthing cheese with jalapenos...which was fantastic. I did make the tomato and milk/cream portion the night before as suggested. Next time I may try subbing skim evaporated milk for the cream/milk to save some calories.

      Thanks for a new go to dip recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Fantastic recipe! Rich cheesy flavor with just the right amount of spice. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This is the best dip I have had in a very long time.... I recommend this to anyone..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      awesome everyone loved this,i served this at a birthday party and all the women asked for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Yummo!!! I make this a whole lot. It is requested for every function I attend. If you make it for a function be sure to take copies of the recipe, I promise that you will be asked for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      amazing, best queso I have ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      WOW!!! This is SO good! I've never heard of Jose Pepper's, but I sure love this dip! I made 1/2 the recipe and followed it pretty closely. Since I made only 1/2 of the recipe I used the microwave. I used 1/2 of a 10 oz can of rotel, drained and 1/2 of a 10 oz package frozen spinach. This made quite a bit. The full recipe would be perfect for a party/larger crowd. Super YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      This is wonderful! Like Chef 927582 I live in Johnson County (KS) and love Jose Peppers. This might even be better than Jose Peppers! If you've never had Espinaca give it a try--it's wonderful! I gave this 5 stars the first time I reviewed it but it did not show the stars. I'm editing the review and giving it the 5 stars (even though it deserves more)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      We moved to Colorado from Johnson County 2 years ago. One thing I really missed was Jose Pepper's espinaca dip. This recipe is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Espinaca Dip (Fabulous Appetizer)

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 550.8
     
    Calories from Fat 451
    82%
    Total Fat 50.2 g
    77%
    Saturated Fat 29.7 g
    148%
    Cholesterol 170.7 mg
    56%
    Sodium 1654.0 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 14.2 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes