Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Escargot a La Bourguignonne Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Escargot a La Bourguignonne

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2003

      My mother fell in love with escargot on a cruise, and I tried several recipes before I found one that lived up to her gastronomic memories. It is, of course, this one! The balance of butter, parsley, and garlic is perfect in this recipe. Others I tried were overpowered by the parsley or garlic. And, as Bob noted, the brandy sends this dish over the top. I used escargot dishes rather than shells. (If you have never prepared escargot before, be aware that cooking the snails in the shells or escargot dishes is imperative - without a proper cooking vessel, the snails are likely to come out chewy instead of tender.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Superb with or without the brandy. I like extra garlic in mine, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This was my 1st attempt at making my own escargot vs having them in a restaurant. I subbed freshly-snipped chives for the shallots, otherwise made as written & served it in 12-hole escargot dishes I borrowed for an elegant dinner party Sat nite. I served it with Brennan's Garlic Bread by lazyme (made on crusty rolls so as not to waste a drop of the lovely butter sauce). It was such an easy-fix & done in less than 15 min. The use of brandy was inspired & should not be omitted. I cannot rave enough about this recipe ~ a HUGE HIT w/all of us! Thx for sharing this great recipe! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      Absolutely the BEST. Our Nephew and his wife are commited to cruising with us and if Escargo isn't on the menu we don't go. Just gesting but for an example we (my Nephew and I) on one cruise ate 6 plates ea. at one sitting. This is absolutely HEAVEN on a plate. OH, all you diet folks relax. We do this about once a year. Everything in moderation RIGHT. One thing that blows my mind is to see folks on a Cruise ship where Cuisine from around the world is every where eating fried chicken and Hamburgers YUK. If any of you have never tried this, PLEASE do, you are in for a Gastranomic delight. This recipe is the TOPS. Thank you and keep sending in them recipes. Cap'n Jack

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Have made a similar dish several times but the brandy made this outstanding. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      This is excellent. My husband actually found this recipe, I was a little reluctant to eat snails, but, it deffinitely grows on you after you've had them this way! He did change the butter to olive oil (for my sake, I have a dairy allergy) it was excellent. If you use olive oil, be sure to add salt to compensate for the loss of the butter. Thanks for the great recipe! (ps make sure you have some good bread around to soak up the delicious sauce)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2006

      I can't really rate this as I didn't have any brandy, but I did have some Chianti and used a splash of that. It definitely needs more garlic, but otherwise it's pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      These were excellent. I used tarragon instead of parsley. I, too, used the escargot dish. I did find it a bit bland though so I added some hot sauce. Just my taste. Thanks Julesong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      I used some onions instead of shallots, and did not have parsley. But I used a very good quality brandy and it was out of this world! A good brandy/cognac and the butter really turn the snails into wonderful escargot. I haven't seen brandy listed in any other recipe. Definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      When my 14 year old grandson wanted to try escargot, I selected this recipe; although my hubby wouldn't try it (said he'd rather eat "prairie oysters"), the grandson & I loved this dish! I followed the directions verbatim & baked in my escargot dishes. Make sure you have some crusty bread on hand to mop up the extra sauce. Thanx Julesong!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      This one is a keeper. I used this recipe rather than my old tried and true. Hey, this one is now my tried and true. I've never seen snail butter that calls for butter. It's the brandy that puts this recipe over the top. Don't leave it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Escargot a La Bourguignonne

    Serving Size: 1 (39 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.0
     
    Calories from Fat 207
    94%
    Total Fat 23.0 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 204.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    canned French snails

    snail shells

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes