Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Erwtensoep - Dutch Pea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Erwtensoep - Dutch Pea Soup

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2002

      This soup is delicious. However, it did not thicken up real well for me and I had to use a little cornstarch to help it thicken some but that was my fault because I know that I used too much water. I made more than 4 servings and it made ALOT. I am going to have to freeze some. The soup is so wonderful and filling and all of the different meats in it is so good. Outstanding recipe. I will be making this again. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      10 Stars Pets ! Erwtensoep was never a favourite of DH's ( shame on him, a born and bred Dutchman LOL !!! ) but I adore the stuff and usually eat it alone. THEN, SiL got celeriac in her to-the-door organic box delivery and she hates the stuff so other SiL and I went half each and I went in search of a pea soup that would contain celeriac. Yours of course does, so is a REAL Dutch born and bred authentic version and I must say,... when DH tasted this and muttered that he might grow to actually LIKE erwtensoep every now and agin if it was make like THIS, then I knew that this was a winner indeed. Since I only had half of a celeriac, I also added celery .. heck the more the merrier, the taste of both is excellent. The spareribs touch is devine as I like this soup meaty but not too fatty. to this end I used a leaner bacon and plenty of it, and added a heap of Rookworst, again the more the better in my estimation. The end result is a super thick soup that you can not only cut with a knife when it's cold (true test of excellent Dutch Pea Soup tradition) but that will stack up very nicely indeed in your freezer. This is no wimp of a boullion soup, it's full and hearty and so substantial that it will keep you going on the coldest of days. Please see my rating system: 5 excellent stars for a recipes that uses celeriac AND convinced DH that Erwtensoep was actually pretty brilliant after all. Thanks !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      Quick tip: grate a potato into the soup in the last half hour of cooking. Helps to remove any scum from the split peas and pork, and helps to thicken it. Trick from my Dutch mother.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      this erwtesoep recipe is made of 100% win! I've made a few time now and it has been winner every time. Don't need to soak the split peas overnight, just start boiling them with the meat straight away. very good recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      This soup is great! My husband lived in the Hague for 12 years, and he says it is just like he remembers. We used ham hock instead of the bacon the first time, and Canadian bacon the second, and it was great both times. It is SO much better than any canned pea soups! It also freezes well, which is good since there are only the two of us now.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2005

      Delicious! Absolutely the best pea soup we've had - wonderful richness, depth and flavor, perfect for a cold winter night supper. It was surprisingly not greasy, despite the bacon, and was delicious served with crusty French bread and a cold, creamy slaw of cabbage and sprouts. I used more than 3 1/2 cups of peas, so as to not have a partial package left over. Also more ribs, 2.5 lbs., because the grocery store didn't have smaller packages. The store also didn't have slab bacon, so 10 oz. of salt pork was used,and smoked turkey sausage instead of Polish because it was on sale and also lower in fat (Dutch sausage was not an option). And last, I got too busy with family at the end of cooking to add the chopped celery and parsley, but a small dash of salt and a fresh grind of black pepper over individual bowls completed all the seasoning that was needed. Even with all the unintended changes, this soup was wonderful, and the recipe made a large quantity that will allow for serving another day, as well as a container in the freezer - well worth the minimal amount of work to make it. This was my first experience using celeriac, so I am glad to have learned about using it - an interesting and tasty flavor. A personal rule of thumb has been confirmed, though - any excuse for using leeks is probably good. Thank you for this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      My ex-husband is 100% Dutch so I was lucky enough to snag some real Dutch recipes from his non-English speaking Mum. Your mother is very correct in that it MUST be thick or it just isn't authentic. My kids have been alternately picky through their lives and they were surprised as I was when they reached for 2nd's and 3rd's. This recipe tasted exactly like my ex-MIL, Dank u! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2002

      This recipe was just superb! My family loved it, and I will absolutely make it again. We substituted Polish smoked sausage for the Dutch, but I will try to find some Dutch sausage in one of the towns near me with a big Dutch population. You're right -- it certainly is a hearty and filling soup. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      Excellent! Being married to a Dutchman and having lived in the Netherlands, adding a carrot and potato is essential. There are many variations to this recipe. I used a thick slice of European bacon from the deli which works out perfect. Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      Erwtensoep translates to little earth soup and is traditionally prepared on the Winter Solstice to celebrate the days getting longer. The green peas signify the earth turning green after the long winter. Originally this was a Pagan tradition and it still is in my household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Very good authentic erwtensoep, love it! I add a few potatoes and carrots as that's what we do in our whanau :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      My family are from the Dutch East-Indies, and we serve this soup a little differently. We prepare a large serving of white rice and serve the soup ladled on top of it. We usually have it with Sambal Ulek or Sambal Badjak. It goes well with a nice cold lager beer (It's not just a soup for cold weather, I eat it year round) My grandmother used to prepare the day long version of the soup using ox tail instead of spare ribs, however I have also come up with a "cheater" soup which got me through college (dutch-indo version of Kraft Dinner) I would use a couple of cans of French Canadian pea soup, and a Ukrainian double smoked sausage. I would heat up the soup with the sausage boiling in it, then take the sausage out and slice it very thin. I'd drop the sliced pieces back into the soup and let it boil until it thickened a bit. I'd make up some white rice in my cooker and then serve up a couple of bowls of rice and soup. It wasn't perfect, but it was still very tasty and I could make it in 20 min or less.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      Mmm...a very filling soup..if thats what you call it.!!very yummy too. Next time, i would add more smoked meat as i like a..umm..smokier flavour..couldnt get a dutch sausage so got a polish one instead, and also used knackwurst instead of frankfurters.My brother is a continental butcher so we love our meat..!!Also used kassler instead of the bacon..will use smoked bacon next time tho...oh..also had pumpernickel bread too..Happy wholesome goodness...will make again for sure..!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      Great soup! I also used a thick slab of European bacon in the soup. Didn't use spareribs or sausage - but that was just because I didn't have any on hand. Used only 2 1/2 cups of split peas, but will definitely use more next time. We had a friend in for dinner and he and my husband both ate 3 large bowlfuls! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      Just FANTASIC. Loved the depth of flavour of this soup. A really nice tastey soup. So easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as per Pets directions. I am certainly going to make the soup again. YUMMO! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      My mother used to put slices of carrot and a potato cut in cubes into it. Peasoup is my favorite soup and I am sure to try this one! I t sounds like my mothers recipe, but the ingredients are 'Americanized'. I never knew what kind of pork to use, but your idea of spareribs is great! Peasoup gets better when you cook it a day before you eat it.. It thickens and the flavors really develop... SO YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      Pets'R'us, that's a nice variation on the hamhock recipe. From a fellow cancer survivor. http://www.danen.org/h/cancer.php

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Erwtensoep - Dutch Pea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (585 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1385.0
     
    Calories from Fat 607
    43%
    Total Fat 67.4 g
    103%
    Saturated Fat 23.2 g
    116%
    Cholesterol 186.6 mg
    62%
    Sodium 807.3 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 111.1 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 44.7 g
    179%
    Sugars 15.5 g
    62%
    Protein 84.7 g
    169%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celeriac

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites