14 Reviews

These were excellent cookies. Easy to make and everybody loved them. The only change to the recipe I made was I added about a half cup of butterscotch chips that I had leftover from Christmas. Thanks for posting this recipe Erin.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark H. February 05, 2002

These are great! I just finished making a batch for a potluck tonight and I'm eating one as I type this review. I agree with John; they are very moist. Just a couple of notes: I used 1 tsp. vanilla (the amount wasn't specified in the recipe) and I mixed the peanut butter in with the shortening and sugars (step #3).

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moishe Lettvin (1) December 17, 2001

Awesome and super moist.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John Clotfelter October 02, 2001

I whipped up a batch of these last night, using all brown sugar instead of half white, half brown. The few that were left this morning were quickly fought over by my daughters wanting to take them to school.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj December 04, 2001

Very, very good. I would definitely make them again. The only reason I didn't give this recipe a 5 is strictly personal taste...too many good flavors at once!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1TexasLizard February 15, 2002

I love this recipe. Just made it today. I used 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup applesauce, and onee and a half cups peanut butter. It's beautiful. Soft chewy cookies. Reminds me of ones I used to make all the time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maelea January 28, 2010

Very good cookies, very moist and chewy. Although the dough is a tad stiff. But maybe I need to cut back on the flour or oatmeal. I will make these again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mnheartbreaker September 14, 2008

These cookies were so good I have to give them a 5 star rating even though the vanilla was left out of the ingredient list and the peanut butter was left out of the instructions. I used chunky peanut butter ,we like the little chunks and cut back on the sugar, I used splenda, just a half cup of white and a half cup of brown mix. Had to bake mine for exactly 15 inutes, maybe a little larger than yours, I got 49 delicious cookies. Thanks for a keeper I will be making again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf March 16, 2008

These cookies were so delicious that they lasted about 3 hours in my house. Soft and chewy with just the right amount of peanut butter flavor. Definitely a keeper! I will be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
droseq November 18, 2007

sooo good! the only change i would make is to add more peanut butter because i couldn't really taste it. overall, very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexandra Inez June 20, 2007
Erin's PB, Chocolate Chip and Oatmeal Cookies