Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Environmentally Friendly Toilet Disinfectant Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Environmentally Friendly Toilet Disinfectant

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2009

      Great stuff! I used lemon-eucalyptus essetial oil to give a fresh scent. I have a toddler who is still practicing with his aim, so I love the disinfectant properties of this! It cleaned up our little messes quite well LOL!! I didn't have any extra spray bottles around, so I picked some up at Home Depot 3 for $3. Made for VEG*N tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      I'm on a septic tank too, so this was great to find posted here. I used lemon oil for the scent. It doesn't work great on stains, but it is a good everyday cleaner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This is a great spray for the bathroom. I used Tea Tree and Lavender oils. It leaves a nice clean smell, not vinegary at all. It wasn't the greatest cleanser, but it is meant to be a disinfectant. As a bonus, it works great for shining the sink! I wasn't sure about the photo of my toilet on a recipe site, but I've seen stranger things around here. Deep Facial Honey & Oatmeal Cleanser: ;) made and Reviewed for Photo Tag - Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Finally found the essential oil! Made this using the citrus which leaves the bathroom smelling clean and fresh without using harsh cleaners. Surprisingly saw this in the weekend paper using tea tree oil which I have used but family members thought it too medicinal - the citrus seems to be fine with everyone - and one I really like. Will be adding more fragrances as I find them. Thank you - a keeper for me too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      A great friendly cleaner/disenfectant:) I used Juniper essential oil for its antiseptic properties and lemon essential oil. I also used this on my vanity and basin. Worked like a charm:) A real 'keeper' for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      Works like a charm... So easy to mix up and keep right in the bathroom to give it a quick spritz when it needs it. I chose to use tea tree and lemon essential oils for their germ killing properties and scent. I ended up using about 10 drops of tea tree and 5 of lemon... but I love the fact that I can change the scents and strength as I please. Very nice "green" cleaner for the toilet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      I also made this using pine oil and it worked like a charm, I will use again and again, thanks dreamer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I used pine oil and it made the bathroom smell nice and clean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      This worked great for me. I like the smell of vinegar so I used the vinegar in a spray bottle w/o oils. All the smell that is left is a very clean smell. Vinegar goes away. Made for Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      This totally did not work for me. I'm going to assume this is supposed to be a disinfectant only and not a cleaner, because it didn't make a dent in making my toilet any cleaner. It does smell good (I too had to use more than 3 drops of oil to make a dent in the vinegary smell) but it didn't clean very well at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      I used more than 3 drops of essential oils. I used 8 drops of satsuma (orange) essential oil from Body Shop and also 8 drops of lemon essential oils. This smells so good. Thanks Dreamer :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      I too found 3 drops was not quite enough. I used lavender oil. It made the whole bathroom smell better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Since we're up here in the mountains with a septic system and french drain, I really hate using anything too full of chemicals and this was great! I've used vinegar to clean a lot of different things, but the drawback is always, well, it smells like vinegar! I never would have thought of adding essential oils. I used lavender, and like other reviewers added more than three drops. It is great for the whole bathroom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      I tried to get a picture of my surprised kitty sipping from his environmentally toilet but as soon as he saw the camera he ran (probably because he is not supposed to be drinking from the toilet). Anyway, this is safe and I don't have to worry about any chemicals and this is what I plan to use from now on. Thank you Dreamer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      It worked just as well as my more expensive cleaning products and cost just pennies on the dollar. Great option as it is not only more environmentally friendly, I can worry let about a pet who has a habit of being a bowl drinker. No more worries about what he is ingesting. Thanks. I used orange oil for a light scent. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      Well, it's nice to have things we can make at home, to clean our comes and protect the environment at the same time. This cost pennies to make. Smelled lovely (I used a combo of orange and lavendar oils). I found I needed several more drop than the 3 called for to get anywhere near making a dent in the vinegary smell. I'm in no position to say how effectively this disinfects, but it did make the toilet smell fresh. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Environmentally Friendly Toilet Disinfectant

    Serving Size: 1 (476 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 85.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    essential oils

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites