51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is simply scrummy, enjoyed by 8 women from work as our 'coffee' course to a pot luck dinner. The icing sugar was a surprise ingredient but gave the edges a tasty crispness. Thanks Mirj!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* May 03, 2003

An EXCELLENT pound cake recipe! Very tasty, perfect consistency and great with berries and whipped cream on top. Very good recipe directions to follow as well. A++++!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dine & Dish June 20, 2003

This is the first cake recipe I've ever had success with. I was surprised at the lack of leavening in it but it turned out very well. I had to hide the leftovers!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Avital January 26, 2004

This was delicious and as my boyfriend said as he helped me prepare it "this is so easy!" I can't taste to how much it tastes like Entenmann's but I saw the same recipe being touted as a copycat for Sara Lee, which I suppose it is decent copycat for- much better though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie January 08, 2004

So good, so easy, what more can I say.....I'll be throwing my MIL's pound cake recipe out....this one beats it by a landslide!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
City_Gurl November 19, 2003

YUMMY!!! I had a bit of batter left over so I also made it in a small loaf pan. Raisins were a great addition.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
menu November 16, 2003

Mirj. we like anything Entenmann's and this was DYNAMITE!!! Very moist too, tasted better than the one from the store. We topped ours with fresh strawberries, YUM!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH August 06, 2003

Excellent flavor! Follow the directions exactly- there was still a tiny bit of wetness on the toothpick at 65 mins, but I took it out anyway. When it was cooled and sliced, there is a little dark line on most of the pieces where it's not quite baked. BUT, it's still delicious. Mid-summer here, so I put it in the fridge in Tupperware. Next day, it is rather dry- maybe I should not have refrigerated?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn July 26, 2014

Not at all what I expected after reading nearly all 5 star reviews. I agree with the chef who said this had a hard top to it, not soft or cake like, and that it is too dry. Really wanted to love it but didn't. The flavor was good on a positive note but the texture is not correct for pound cake and the dryness, too noticeable. I followed the recipe to a tee. I think some tweaking to soften it up and moisten it up would make this a winner for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin4twins January 23, 2014

I have never eaten an Entenmann's cake, so I don't know if this tastes like one but if it does then I have been missing out all of these years! This cake is rich, buttery, and substantial just like any great pound cake should be. The crust on the cake is very nice, especially the top crust. There is no mistaking this cake for a cake mix, that's for sure! I made it exactly as written and it is absolutely delicious but it would be easy to change up the flavor a bit by using other flavors of extract or citrus juice and zest. I used locally made butter and free-range eggs and the taste was fantastic...with so few ingredients in this recipe, I thought it best to use the best I had in the house and I'm glad that I did. Thank you so very much, Mirj, for a great recipe that will become my go-to recipe for pound cake. Oh, and the instructions are crystal clear - I would have thinned the batter if it wasn't stated that it was supposed to be really thick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheffie M January 24, 2012
Entenmann's Pound Cake