Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / English Toffee Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    English Toffee

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2009

      Wonderful and easy. Reminds me a bunch of some toffee I had at Disneyland. I made this last night for a New Year's Eve party - it was a huge hit! A couple of tips I used: 1. Use a Silpat (silicone) pan liner and put it on a large baking sheet or jelly roll pan. It won't spill out if you've cooked it to 300F. 2. Keep that pan close to the stove. I had mine across the kitchen and by the time I walked over with my pot to pour out the toffee, it was a tiny bit burned - but not a problem. 3. Give it a few minutes to soft-set, then "score" it with a pizza cutter. If you do it too soon, it will just merge together again and you can run over your lines again. 4. After scoring, I spread the chocolate chips, like others, and let them warm this way then used an off-set spatula (greatest invention in the world in my opinion) to spread. After spreading chocolate, I topped with pecans, a bit more finely chopped - just a preference. 5. If you are in a hurry, which I was, stick your pan in the fridge to get the chocolate to set. **I like my toffee with chocolate on both sides 6. When chocolate has set flip the whole mass over and heat more chocolate chips in microwave, stiring every 30 seconds until melted. Then coat the bottom with chocolate and add the pecans again. When hardened, just put pressure on it in the center to break it up. **If you wanted to be super-particular, you could break the toffee up before putting any chocolate on it into perfect squares, or rectangles, dip them in melted chocolate and roll them in finely chopped pecans - that's how I had it at Disney. Thanks for posting this recipe. I love simple and wonderful things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      I've made four batches so far. I also put the chocolate chips on the warm toffee, let it sit and then go back and spread the melted chocolate. I used slivered almonds instead of pecans. I put a cup of the almonds in the candy just before pouring it on the silpat. I then crushed the rest and sprinkled them on top of the melted chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      I chose this recipe for English toffee since I misplaced my regular recipe and I couldn't send out cookie trays without it :) This recipe was very easy. I did the process a little different ~ I poured the hot toffee onto a greased jelly roll pan and let it harden, which is very quick. Then I scattered the chocolate chips over the toffee and spread them out as they melted then scattered the pecans over the chocolate. I refrigerated until the chocolate hardened and then broke into pieces. Very simple. The toffee is delish! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      Wow! Great, easy! I went through all the reviews. No one mentioned that it took about 20 minutes to get to the 300 degrees. Definitely stir constantly to keep it from burning. I started it on medium high until it got boiling then lowered to around medium. I lined the pan with Silpat, worked great. I did score the toffee before spreading the chocolate on (need more chocolate, less pecans). Does not stick to my dental work which is a miracle!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      I loved this recipe! It has a really nice flovor, and it was super-easy to make. I would definitely recommend using a candy thermometer. Here is a little tip: Before the candy hardens completely, but after it has set up a bit(takes a minute or two), score the toffee with a knife sprayed with vegetable oil or non stick spray. This way you will have nice square pieces of toffee when you break it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This is almost the same as the toffee I've been making for years... and the requests for it grow each year! My recipe is from Better Crocker's Cookbook and does not include salt. I have doubled, tripled, and even quadrupled the recipe and it works fine as long as you use the a large enough pan when cooking. Like other reviewers, I sprinkle chocolate chips directly on the warm toffee. Until you are very adept at doing this, I recommend only making a double batch at a time because you have to work very quickly to pour and spread the toffee and top and with chocolate. If the chocolate chips do not melt completely, you can put in a 200 degree oven for a minute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      Simply amazing! I've never made toffee before and am always a bit apprehensive about making candy, but this turned out perfect! I would recommend not greasing the pan only if you are using a metal, nonstick pan. That's what I would have used if I owned one, but all I had were glass pans. So I lined my glass pan with parchment paper and then sprayed lightly with cooking spray. The toffee came right out. Like other reviewers, I sprinkled the chocolate chips over the just-hardened toffee then spread them out after they had melted. This toffee is absolutely delicious and I can't believe I made it myself!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      I found a similar recipe in my Betty Crocker cookbook. This is excellent! The only changes were to bring ingredients to a boil over medium heat and cook for 13 minutes, or until a small amount of candy mixture forms into a brittle thread when dropped in a glass of very cold water. I poured the mixture on an ungreased cookie sheet, sprinkled the chocolate chips over top, let them melt for a minute, then spread over the toffee. Finally, I topped with the chopped nuts. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      I made this recipe for my mom who loves toffee candy. I altered the recipe using 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and topped with walnuts instead of pecans as that's what I had on hand. It turned out perfect and was so buttery and delish! My mom was very happy! Will definitely make this again, no need to wait for Christmas!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      Delicious and so easy to make! I just sprinkle chocolate chips over the top once the toffee hardens and after a couple of minutes, it spreads easily with the back of a spoon. For a change, put pumpkin seeds on top. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      This is fantabulous!!! So easy to make (although takes a while to get to 300 degrees) and sooooo good! I think that I will try melting the chips on the toffee as others have suggested.
      The toffee hardens very quickly, so have your pan right near the stove. I also used more chips, as the chocolate seemed skimpy. I lost a fair amt of the pecans when I took it out of the pan and broke it up, so either press in better or use smaller, ground up nuts. Too yummy! Can't wait to give it to others!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      One star for the recipe which is very good, but the recipe clearly states do not grease pan so going against my better judgment I did not... I shattered a pyrex trying to get it out because I did not grease it AND had to throw away all of the toffee because it had shards of glass in it. So in conclusion GREASE YOUR PAN so you can get it out... No this is not my first time at the rodeo folks, as dumb as I sound for doing this I am a professional chef.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      Very Tasty recipe, though I did not have near enough chocolate to cover the toffee, while I had way more than I needed of the pecans.. Also, suggest using parchment instead of just putting into pan. I had some trouble getting it out f the pan..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      This was my first attempt making Toffee. I must've chose well, this was very tasty! Instead of melting chocolate over hot water, I found it is much easier to sprinkle chips over toffee after you pour it onto pan. the chips melt in a minute and just spread. Super YUMMY!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      This is very good. It is an especially good recipe for people with corn allergies as many of the recipes use corn syrup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      I used margarine and my toffee turned out great! I didn't add the chocolate or nuts, but I put mine in a cupcake: http://mrscrislip.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/bits-o-toffee/ Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      This recipe is perfect! I've made it several times for my family over the holidays and recently I brought some to work for a potluck. It was a huge hit! I don't use a candy thermometer...I cook it until it develops a light caramel color and it is perfect texture and flavor every time. The only thing I do different is using toasted slivered almonds instead of pecans (I'm a big fan of almonds)...although with pecans I imagine it would still be delicious. Thank you for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      This really was wonderful. A must is a candy thermometer. So easy and so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Received rave reviews from friends and coworkers alike. I used pistachios, extra dark chocolate, and added some crispy maple bacon just for fun. Going to have to make another batch to send home for the holidays. A word of advice though: If making a double or triple batch, use a pretty big pot. It kinda foams up fast and before you know it you have a candy stove top. Not an easy clean up at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      This did not work for me at all. My first batch separated so I tossed it out and googled how to make toffee since I had never made it before but after two more failed attempts I ditched the project. Some more detailed instructions would have been nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Candy Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for English Toffee

    Serving Size: 1 (683 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3563.7
     
    Calories from Fat 2593
    72%
    Total Fat 288.1 g
    443%
    Saturated Fat 138.4 g
    692%
    Cholesterol 488.0 mg
    162%
    Sodium 2796.6 mg
    116%
    Total Carbohydrate 269.6 g
    89%
    Dietary Fiber 15.4 g
    61%
    Sugars 250.5 g
    1002%
    Protein 15.5 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites