55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful and easy. Reminds me a bunch of some toffee I had at Disneyland. I made this last night for a New Year's Eve party - it was a huge hit! A couple of tips I used: 1. Use a Silpat (silicone) pan liner and put it on a large baking sheet or jelly roll pan. It won't spill out if you've cooked it to 300F. 2. Keep that pan close to the stove. I had mine across the kitchen and by the time I walked over with my pot to pour out the toffee, it was a tiny bit burned - but not a problem. 3. Give it a few minutes to soft-set, then "score" it with a pizza cutter. If you do it too soon, it will just merge together again and you can run over your lines again. 4. After scoring, I spread the chocolate chips, like others, and let them warm this way then used an off-set spatula (greatest invention in the world in my opinion) to spread. After spreading chocolate, I topped with pecans, a bit more finely chopped - just a preference. 5. If you are in a hurry, which I was, stick your pan in the fridge to get the chocolate to set. **I like my toffee with chocolate on both sides 6. When chocolate has set flip the whole mass over and heat more chocolate chips in microwave, stiring every 30 seconds until melted. Then coat the bottom with chocolate and add the pecans again. When hardened, just put pressure on it in the center to break it up. **If you wanted to be super-particular, you could break the toffee up before putting any chocolate on it into perfect squares, or rectangles, dip them in melted chocolate and roll them in finely chopped pecans - that's how I had it at Disney. Thanks for posting this recipe. I love simple and wonderful things.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maddison January 01, 2009

I've made four batches so far. I also put the chocolate chips on the warm toffee, let it sit and then go back and spread the melted chocolate. I used slivered almonds instead of pecans. I put a cup of the almonds in the candy just before pouring it on the silpat. I then crushed the rest and sprinkled them on top of the melted chocolate.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen December 23, 2007

I chose this recipe for English toffee since I misplaced my regular recipe and I couldn't send out cookie trays without it :) This recipe was very easy. I did the process a little different ~ I poured the hot toffee onto a greased jelly roll pan and let it harden, which is very quick. Then I scattered the chocolate chips over the toffee and spread them out as they melted then scattered the pecans over the chocolate. I refrigerated until the chocolate hardened and then broke into pieces. Very simple. The toffee is delish! Thanks for posting!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook December 24, 2008

One star for the recipe which is very good, but the recipe clearly states do not grease pan so going against my better judgment I did not... I shattered a pyrex trying to get it out because I did not grease it AND had to throw away all of the toffee because it had shards of glass in it. So in conclusion GREASE YOUR PAN so you can get it out... No this is not my first time at the rodeo folks, as dumb as I sound for doing this I am a professional chef.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheffie521 December 15, 2012

Wow! Great, easy! I went through all the reviews. No one mentioned that it took about 20 minutes to get to the 300 degrees. Definitely stir constantly to keep it from burning. I started it on medium high until it got boiling then lowered to around medium. I lined the pan with Silpat, worked great. I did score the toffee before spreading the chocolate on (need more chocolate, less pecans). Does not stick to my dental work which is a miracle!! Thank you!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amhmc November 14, 2012

This is almost the same as the toffee I've been making for years... and the requests for it grow each year! My recipe is from Better Crocker's Cookbook and does not include salt. I have doubled, tripled, and even quadrupled the recipe and it works fine as long as you use the a large enough pan when cooking. Like other reviewers, I sprinkle chocolate chips directly on the warm toffee. Until you are very adept at doing this, I recommend only making a double batch at a time because you have to work very quickly to pour and spread the toffee and top and with chocolate. If the chocolate chips do not melt completely, you can put in a 200 degree oven for a minute.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyMarie January 28, 2009

I loved this recipe! It has a really nice flovor, and it was super-easy to make. I would definitely recommend using a candy thermometer. Here is a little tip: Before the candy hardens completely, but after it has set up a bit(takes a minute or two), score the toffee with a knife sprayed with vegetable oil or non stick spray. This way you will have nice square pieces of toffee when you break it up.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilsa24 December 22, 2007

Simply amazing! I've never made toffee before and am always a bit apprehensive about making candy, but this turned out perfect! I would recommend not greasing the pan only if you are using a metal, nonstick pan. That's what I would have used if I owned one, but all I had were glass pans. So I lined my glass pan with parchment paper and then sprayed lightly with cooking spray. The toffee came right out. Like other reviewers, I sprinkled the chocolate chips over the just-hardened toffee then spread them out after they had melted. This toffee is absolutely delicious and I can't believe I made it myself!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks September 15, 2013

I found a similar recipe in my Betty Crocker cookbook. This is excellent! The only changes were to bring ingredients to a boil over medium heat and cook for 13 minutes, or until a small amount of candy mixture forms into a brittle thread when dropped in a glass of very cold water. I poured the mixture on an ungreased cookie sheet, sprinkled the chocolate chips over top, let them melt for a minute, then spread over the toffee. Finally, I topped with the chopped nuts. Delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC April 28, 2013

I made this recipe for my mom who loves toffee candy. I altered the recipe using 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and topped with walnuts instead of pecans as that's what I had on hand. It turned out perfect and was so buttery and delish! My mom was very happy! Will definitely make this again, no need to wait for Christmas!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mimi628 January 11, 2013
English Toffee