11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love toffee and this is a great recipe. Easy to put together and even easier to eat!! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KyJo December 10, 2002

Yummy, easy, it makes a bunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky16 December 23, 2009

This recipe is fantastic! It was incredibly easy to put together and had that light, pleasant crunch that is English toffee. I was put off by the amount of butter, but decided anything with that much butter in it had to be good. I grated an 8-oz. Hershey's bar and combined that with finely chopped walnuts to put on both sides of the candy. This one definitely goes into my Ts&T collection.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Socks February 17, 2008

I made a bunch of this for Christmas and it each batch came out delicious!!! Thanks so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redbeardslady January 06, 2008

Wonderful toffee, made this as part of my christmas baking and love it. I did add a tsp. of vanilla to the butter sugar mixture and instead of grating the chocolate bar and placing the nuts on the cookie sheet I poured the toffee into a greased and foiled 9X13 pan and then pour a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips over the top and pressed them in with my hand then poured the walnuts over that and pressed the walnuts in with my hand also. I looked lovely and tasted even better. Thank you for the great and easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria December 23, 2007

This is a great recipe. This was my first time making it and it turned out delicious. Love it, very easy to put together. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe. Very yummy...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rxbetty November 25, 2007

I love this recipe. It takes about 12 minutes to get the mixture up to temperature--so be patient. My daughter and I ate the whole batch in about 3 days. You might want to get it out of the house before you become addicted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Valerie December 01, 2006

This recipe was very easy. I am new to making candy and thank goodness I had a candy thermometer! Everyone loved and it and it is disappearing quickly!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathee B. January 08, 2006

This is the best toffee recipe I've found. It's nice and crunchy and very tasty. I used unsalted butter, so I added 1 teaspoon of salt, which was just about right. I also stirred in some toasted sliced almonds right after I took the toffee off the heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryMc December 27, 2004
English Toffee