Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / English Pub Beef & Kidney Stew in Yorkshire Pudding (Adopted Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    English Pub Beef & Kidney Stew in Yorkshire Pudding (Adopted

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2012

      I made the yorkshire pudding base for chicken pot pie and it was absolutely deliscious. Very versatile recipe. This will definitely go into my rotation. I would love to make it the way it is posted but my husband doesn't like kidney. Nonethe less it's a 5 star recipe !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      This is a great dish. I make it minus the kidneys and use a claret wine. It is a tender, flavorful, filling, hot meal that has taken the place of "regular" stew in our home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      This was warm, filling, and delicious! I am not able to use the kidneys, and didn't even have any steak on hand, so I had to modify it somewhat severely and use ground beef and some chicken breasts. I also couldn't use the dairy milk for the pudding part, so substituted coconut milk. That said, if you can accept that it was the same recipe made as posted, this was a wonderful dinner! I served it with mashed potatoes, as suggested, and broccoli on the side. The pudding puffed up beautifully and browned to a nice crunch around the edges. The gravy was divine. I would also add that at least in my family, this made 6 hearty servings and not just 4. Thanks for adopting this recipe, Honni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Very good! I had some difficulty in getting my pud to rise though, it really stayed small and flat with the stew in the middle. That said it was delicious and perfect for the rainy cool day yesterday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      Oh YUM. We had people over for dinner, so we made this in a large roating pan, everyone came back for not just seconds, but thirds. It was soo yummy, and easy to double. I don't like kidneys, but felt that this recipe called for them, and I was glad I put them in, they made the recipe complete.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      The snow is falling hard here in Upstate NY and this stew was perfect. I adapted it a little. We used steak only and left out the kidneys. Just after the meat was done browning I added a touch or two of some Merlot, reduced that and removed it from the pan. Then I browned the onions in a bit more oil. Didn't have tarragon, used a bit of sage, basil, and thyme. This is not the first time I've made this and it won't be the last! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2005

      This was perfect for a winter dinner tonight. I think this could have had a richer flavour, and if I could eat kidneys and had left them in-I'm sure it would have! I added more herbs and salt and pepper to compensate. I was worried about heating a Corning Ware casserole, then pouring in cold batter, so I made this in a cake pan. Out of interest, I found a six cup one in my cupboard. It wasn't large enough to hold all the batter and stew mixture, so I would suggest using an 8 cup dish/pan. Thanks Honni for a dinner we all enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2001

      being in a house hold of australian vegetarians it was neccessary to delete the meat from the menu. this was their first time tring traditional british grub and they were all agreed to it's hidden delights. i will certainly be using your recipes again, and hoipe to change the snobbish, ignorant attittudes of those who presume brittish food inferior. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for English Pub Beef & Kidney Stew in Yorkshire Pudding (Adopted

    Serving Size: 1 (601 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 929.9
     
    Calories from Fat 362
    39%
    Total Fat 40.3 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 299.0 mg
    99%
    Sodium 1094.5 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 84.9 g
    169%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    veal kidneys

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites