Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / English Muffins (Bread Machine Method). Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    English Muffins (Bread Machine Method).

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2008

      I should have reviewed this earlier because I've been using this recipe for some time now. I can only agree with another reviewer - I will never have store bought English muffins! These are wonderful with great taste and easy to make. Thank you for sharing this prize winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      Wow, I was impressed! I thought english muffins came from the Thomas' fairy, but you really CAN make them yourself! They turned out perfect and looked just like the store bought ones (unlike the bagels I make which taste good, but are malformed). Like other reviewers, I used the electric skillet at 325 (for 6 minutes per side, I believe) and they were perfect. Thanks for the great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Yum! These were very good! Very easy to make, burnt the first couple but eventually got the hang of it (same for me with pancakes, lol). Overall, good recipe! Will make again- already got requests! lol. I also made 16 instead of 8 though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      Just made these for the first time on the Easter weekend. I followed the recipe exactly, and made 8 large muffins. I did turn the burner down a little below medium, as the first muffin was browning a little too quickly for the insides to cook. Served them with brunch, hot from the oven! Yummy, to say the least, and well reviewed by the whole family. I will have to wait for another time to try them from the freezer as not one remained. Definitely a keeper for me. Elven Chef

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      I made this exactly as written.They were super simple and very straightforward. Kids toast them, put peanut butter on them and eat them on the way to the bus stop. Everyone gave them a big thumbs up and this will be a regular on my baking list!!!!;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      These are delicious! :) My picky husband, who likes the store bought well known brand, really liked these and wants me to make them again. I added fresh cranberries(I got hooked on the store bought version and they are only seasonal) to my dough and they came out really good. The only thing I would change is add just a little flour to the dough and the counter to make it manageable without sticking to everything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      We love English Muffins and these turned out perfectly. DH is the bread maker and gave this 5 stars for ease of preparation as well as taste. We must've used a smaller cutter 'cause we ended up with 11 muffins from one batch of dough. Better and cheaper than storebought. Stack these with a patty of frozen sausage and a piece of cheese, then wrap and freeze for a quickie breakfast sandwich. So long Mickey D's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      These are great for breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      very good, will definitely make again. instead of 8 muffins I got 16. when I split the dough into 8 portions it was too big for us. when I split it into 16 they were perfect in size.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      I could not believe how easy these are to make and how absolutely delicious they are! They came out perfect the first time. They were a bit puffy but they were just wonderful. This recipe is adicting because it is actually fun! I may make more tomorrow night! Thanks for giving me something new to add to my baking experience! 10/23/07 - Made them again tonight...and once again, a perfect batch! I got 11 out of this recipe. I can't wait until breakfast. I like to serve them with some sausage patties I found at Walmart that can be microwaved in a minute or so, and I add a slice of cheese. Beats paying for them at McDonalds every morning and they taste so much better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      these turned out well (made last week) - not as nooky & cranny-filled as Thomas's but still very delicous - did not last long! I think the dough needs to be very soft for the bubbles to form well. Thanks for recipe, Dustbunni, I will be making again when I can chew!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      These were very easy to make, and I had no trouble with the dough even on my first try. I used your suggestion to pat out the dough instead cutting the rounds and that worked just fine. I used an electric skillet set at 325 degrees to brown them. I split the muffins before I froze them, and put a piece of waxed paper in between the halves. They are just delicious toasted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      These were really good and easy to make. They were a little sticky and I will add a touch more flour next time. I pressed out the dough and cut with a canning cap to make 12 muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      This recipe is definitely a keeper! My daughter made them last night and they are almost all gone! We have 10 in our family so I had her double the recipe. They came out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      I made this recipe for my Dad for Christmas and he adored it! I now make it almost weekly for him. But I let it bake through the bread cycle and become a loaf. I did try to adjust it with powdered milk and eggs so I could put it on the timer, but it didn't come out as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Fantastic, have tried 3 other recipes, and this one was the great one. My husband said "You can never buy store bought again". Great taste! Easy to do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      These are really great. I made 1 1/2 recipe and it fit in my bread machine well. I had 16 english muffins. I used half for pizzas, and the other half for Egg McMoms. (OAMC) I also substituted 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour for the regular flour. They turned out great, not to dense or chewy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      YUMMMMMY!!!! Well I have been in search of good bread recipes & this one was great! THANKS FOR SHARING; I never made English muffins before either- this was a simple recipe! I woke up my bf & said surprise I made HOMEMADE English muffins; he was like HUH- surprised!???? I brought a couple to my neighbor next store & she LOVED them also- she said they were better than the ones she made years and years ago. She was surprised to see someone my age making homemade engligh muffins I guess- LOL LOL !!! OH WELL!!! I used the exact ingredients & used Dustbunni's top hint of not pressing into rectangle- not necessary. We had the last 2 today for lunch; we baked English Muffin Pizzas!!! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      These are excellent! I will never buy english muffins from the store again, my husband and I love them, I went and bought a big mouth cup to use to cut them because I couldn't find anything that would make them the size as the ones you get in the stores and that did the trick and it made 9 of them, the first batch I made was with fat free milk then the second I used hole milk and they were much better. I will be making these for years to come. Thanks so much for posting such a wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      These are so good and easy too! Tastes just like the real thing only better. I cooked them in my electric skillet at 325 for 6 min. per side.(I got 12) I did the fork method when they were cool and toasted under the broiler, fantastic. Thankyou for this recipe, I will be making these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for English Muffins (Bread Machine Method).

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 243.7
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    24%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 38.9 mg
    12%
    Sodium 208.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes