104 Reviews

I have made these many times and they come out great every time.
Thanks for the great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chava Cohen December 28, 2012

I have made these four times now and I am having a problem with getting my pan at low enough of a heat to get them cooked through. They barely last 2-3 minutes per side. I've burned quite a few, because it goes from golden to black kind of quickly. Is anyone else having this problem? I used a cast iron skillet and my electric stove between 1 & 2 on temperature. They do taste good, but very doughy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peggysueross December 18, 2012

I had no idea these were so easy. Thank you so much! Once I get a sourdough starter going, I'm gonna try this recipe as sourdough muffins. They're my favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diamond Girl December 10, 2012

These were ok buns but these are not like any English muffins I have ever tasted. It wasn't light and airy, full of holes on the inside but instead, more bread or bun like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC December 02, 2012

We tried this recipe this afternoon and it worked out perfectly. We used your tip and divided the dough, and rolled the circles in corn meal. This made 8 HUMONGOUS muffins! (Not that my DH is complaining.) I think this recipe could easily make 10 or 12. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyful_F&C May 22, 2012

These are fantastic. The dough was very easy to work with, I just used a large glass to cut the circles which worked perfectly. I left mine to rise for about 40 minutes after being cut on a piece of parchement. Next time I will make sure they are off my cold granite countertop, and maybe ontop of a cookie sheet in the oven. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u February 15, 2012

These were so easy to make. I divided the dough into 8 balls then flattened them for the rise at room temperature.Should have made 10 they do make very large muffins. I did use Oatmeal Flour for 1 cup of the flour to 2 cups of bread flour. It did take 6 minutes per side to cook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ February 04, 2012

Excellent recipe. The muffins have a nice soft texture and they also freeze well. I find the dough to be very sticky so I usually add about an extra 1/2 cup of flour during the kneading process. I'v also made cinnamon raisin muffins, as one the reviewers posted below, adding a teaspoon of cinnamon and a cup full of raisins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dasme October 15, 2011

This doesn't need another review.....BUT.....really youve got to make these! They are easier to make than bagels (which I just did) and just as enjoyable. PERFECTION!! Will freeze and enjoy for many days. I made 15 out of this batch and size is perfect. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Born2cook May 18, 2011
English Muffins (Bread Machine Method).