Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / English Muffins (Bread Machine Method). Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    English Muffins (Bread Machine Method).

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2009

      This is the third time I've made this recipe, and I've figured out a few issues, so I am ready to review. This has become a household staple for us. A few things that work for me: A bit more flour may need to be added to get the dough to a soft but not too sticky consistancy. (I find I need to add an extra tablespoon and a half or so). I pat the dough out on a cutting board "flour"ed with corn meal and cut it out with a large egg/pancake ring. I cut 2 cookie sheet sized pieces of parchment paper into 6 pieces each, and place each cut out english muffin dough round on a square of parchment paper before letting them rise. When it comes time to turn the dough onto a hot skillet to cook it, all you need to do is lift each muffin with the parchment paper, and flip it over right into the pan/skillet, then peel off the parchment paper from the top. Before I started doing this, I found I would lose most of the rise when trying to lift the proofed dough off the cookie sheet so I could get it into the pan. After cooking I let them each cool on cookie racks, use a fork to split them (not the whole way through) and freeze them. Just thaw and toast. Delicious recipe..Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      My family loves these english muffins!!! They're so easy to make and taste delicious. They also freeze really well. I always make a couple of batches at a time and freeze some. The first time I made these, I made 8, but I found those to be a little too big. So now I make 12 out of one batch. I use 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of white. I also make some with 1 t. of cinnamon and 1 cup of raisins. Those are our favorites! Never buying english muffins again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      These came out great. I did you someone elses tip of putting them on squares of parchment paper to rise. I used my electric skillet set to about 350 and did them for 7 minutes a side. I did happen to get 11 muffins out of this recipe. I used a tuna can to cut them out. I will definately be making these again. Oh and I also used bread flour not all purpose. Very Good !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      I made mine the "traditional" way (heated milk w/sugar and yeast, allow to foam, then add remaining ingreds: beat egg first and melt butter, then let dough hook work for a minute or two to "knead" the dough). A few suggestions: generously sprinkle cookie sheet with cornmeal, too, no need to cut parchment paper as an earlier reviewer suggested. Figure on making 12 muffins--by pressing dough a bit thinner than 1/2-inch. My muffins finished "doughy" I think because I went with the 1/2-inch thickness. Toasted mine in a lightly buttered pan, then drizzled with honey and sprinkled with garlic salt--try it--you'll like it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      Just made this recipe...
      I made it exactly as written, however, my cutter was a little big...after cooking on the griddle, I popped them in a 350 Deg oven for 8 minutes just to make sure they were cooked through...
      They came out WONDERFUL....this is my new favorite english muffin recipe...Thanks for sharing it...!!~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      Ok, so these are on the griddle right now, and the house smells FABULOUS!!! The dough came out perfectly - just a teeny bit sticky, but easy to work with. I have the griddle set to 300 because they have puffed up so huge I want to be sure that they will be done in the center. The only thing I will do differently in the future is that I will make them a bit smaller; they have gotten GINORMOUS while cooking...and they are awesome!!!! My 8-year-old son (a child who likes his English Muffins with cream cheese every morning) and I made a double batch of these together. He used one bread machine and I used the other (saves time to pick up an extra at a second hand store or whereever), and the batch that he did by himself was perfect!!
      In short, easy, tasty, KEEPER!! Thanks for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      We think it is great. I had the same problem. The first batch eas B-A-D. My fault. I had to stand over the birds with a shotgun to get them to eat the rejects. But after cooling my ego and trying again the second batch was fabulous. Used a little extra flour, cooked on a lower temp. and the "Sigficant other loves them. Thanks ever so much. The recipe is on the inside of the cabinet door over my mixing area. :O) Cap'n Jack

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2014

      How fantastic! Muffins skillet fried! Very good they are, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      I was so excited to make these, saw the great reviews and was astounded at all the high marks. I guess I have very high standards. The only thing that was good about these were the outer look and shape. They look amazing on the out side. They rose great after being cut into shape too. It stops there though, open them up and they are more dense like a dinner roll. No large bubble areas like the classic english muffin. And then taste...they are extremely blah. Not enough salt, not enough flavor. English muffins have a subtle sour dough taste to them and this was not at all present in these. For now I will keep this recipe and try making minor adjustments to see if I can correct the issues, if I can not find a better recipe. Thank you for your recipe though, but sorry, just not my favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      Fantastic! They came out perfect the first time thanks to all the other reviews with hints for success. I'll always make mine at home now instead of using the store bought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      I liked them. I might add more salt next time, but other than that, these were a great replacement for the store. I had the skillet on 350, but I might have it on 250 next time. It heated faster than the 5 to 7 minute guide.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      easy and yummy! we buy English muffins no more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2013

      I will be making these again! I found they were a bid doughy but I don't mind that. Even so I want to improve them and will try some of the reviewer's suggestions. I'd also like to experiment with some wholemeal flours! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      I tried the recipe today.... they taste great... but did not turn as bulky as I expected... but I had a lot of distraction happening, phone etc.... well I'm thinking it must of been because I rolled them out too thin.... I'm thinking I'll do them again.... a little while latter when things quiet down ... I come to the realization that with all my excitement and distraction ... I forgot to do the second rise.... Well it was all my fault... they do taste great I will retry when they get eaten... I know it will do better next time... and no fault to the recipe... it was my fault... looking forward in doing it again... thank you for such a great recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      I have made 5 batches this week for family and friends. I added some extra sugar, and a bit of cinnamon. I also used someone else's suggestion and baked at 350 for 8 minutes after the pan because they were getting brown rather fast. Never buying english muffins again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      These are so good. Recipe was simple to follow. Never again will I buy store packaged English Muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      This is a fool proof easy and quick recipe! I will never buy store bought again. These are sooo yummy & perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      I have made these many times and they come out great every time.
      Thanks for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      I have made these four times now and I am having a problem with getting my pan at low enough of a heat to get them cooked through. They barely last 2-3 minutes per side. I've burned quite a few, because it goes from golden to black kind of quickly. Is anyone else having this problem? I used a cast iron skillet and my electric stove between 1 & 2 on temperature. They do taste good, but very doughy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      I had no idea these were so easy. Thank you so much! Once I get a sourdough starter going, I'm gonna try this recipe as sourdough muffins. They're my favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for English Muffins (Bread Machine Method).

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 243.7
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    24%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 38.9 mg
    12%
    Sodium 208.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites