106 Reviews

This is the third time I've made this recipe, and I've figured out a few issues, so I am ready to review. This has become a household staple for us. A few things that work for me: A bit more flour may need to be added to get the dough to a soft but not too sticky consistancy. (I find I need to add an extra tablespoon and a half or so). I pat the dough out on a cutting board "flour"ed with corn meal and cut it out with a large egg/pancake ring. I cut 2 cookie sheet sized pieces of parchment paper into 6 pieces each, and place each cut out english muffin dough round on a square of parchment paper before letting them rise. When it comes time to turn the dough onto a hot skillet to cook it, all you need to do is lift each muffin with the parchment paper, and flip it over right into the pan/skillet, then peel off the parchment paper from the top. Before I started doing this, I found I would lose most of the rise when trying to lift the proofed dough off the cookie sheet so I could get it into the pan. After cooking I let them each cool on cookie racks, use a fork to split them (not the whole way through) and freeze them. Just thaw and toast. Delicious recipe..Thank you!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyKatarina August 08, 2009

Just made this recipe...
I made it exactly as written, however, my cutter was a little big...after cooking on the griddle, I popped them in a 350 Deg oven for 8 minutes just to make sure they were cooked through...
They came out WONDERFUL....this is my new favorite english muffin recipe...Thanks for sharing it...!!~

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenniferlynne11 May 14, 2011

My family loves these english muffins!!! They're so easy to make and taste delicious. They also freeze really well. I always make a couple of batches at a time and freeze some. The first time I made these, I made 8, but I found those to be a little too big. So now I make 12 out of one batch. I use 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of white. I also make some with 1 t. of cinnamon and 1 cup of raisins. Those are our favorites! Never buying english muffins again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momofM&M March 02, 2011

These came out great. I did you someone elses tip of putting them on squares of parchment paper to rise. I used my electric skillet set to about 350 and did them for 7 minutes a side. I did happen to get 11 muffins out of this recipe. I used a tuna can to cut them out. I will definately be making these again. Oh and I also used bread flour not all purpose. Very Good !!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whiskerkitty June 27, 2010

I made mine the "traditional" way (heated milk w/sugar and yeast, allow to foam, then add remaining ingreds: beat egg first and melt butter, then let dough hook work for a minute or two to "knead" the dough). A few suggestions: generously sprinkle cookie sheet with cornmeal, too, no need to cut parchment paper as an earlier reviewer suggested. Figure on making 12 muffins--by pressing dough a bit thinner than 1/2-inch. My muffins finished "doughy" I think because I went with the 1/2-inch thickness. Toasted mine in a lightly buttered pan, then drizzled with honey and sprinkled with garlic salt--try it--you'll like it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber July 17, 2011

Made them twice, adding the extra tbsp of flour as suggested by a reviewer. Perfect both times! Maybe next time I'll add a bit more salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delfinaleanes March 14, 2016

I was so excited to make these, saw the great reviews and was astounded at all the high marks. I guess I have very high standards. The only thing that was good about these were the outer look and shape. They look amazing on the out side. They rose great after being cut into shape too. It stops there though, open them up and they are more dense like a dinner roll. No large bubble areas like the classic english muffin. And then taste...they are extremely blah. Not enough salt, not enough flavor. English muffins have a subtle sour dough taste to them and this was not at all present in these. For now I will keep this recipe and try making minor adjustments to see if I can correct the issues, if I can not find a better recipe. Thank you for your recipe though, but sorry, just not my favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Freeman February 04, 2014

I am trying to quit buying so many bread items since home made is SO much better. This recipe did not disappoint. I was amazed how easy it was to make. I used half bread flour and half fresh ground whole wheat. They rose really big even though I was watching. (My electric griddle took longer to preheat than I expected.) Next time I will flatten them more. I want to try them with a coarser grind of cornmeal too. I ended up with 11.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momsthecook February 04, 2011

Ok, so these are on the griddle right now, and the house smells FABULOUS!!! The dough came out perfectly - just a teeny bit sticky, but easy to work with. I have the griddle set to 300 because they have puffed up so huge I want to be sure that they will be done in the center. The only thing I will do differently in the future is that I will make them a bit smaller; they have gotten GINORMOUS while cooking...and they are awesome!!!! My 8-year-old son (a child who likes his English Muffins with cream cheese every morning) and I made a double batch of these together. He used one bread machine and I used the other (saves time to pick up an extra at a second hand store or whereever), and the batch that he did by himself was perfect!!
In short, easy, tasty, KEEPER!! Thanks for posting!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pawsfurthought August 19, 2010

We think it is great. I had the same problem. The first batch eas B-A-D. My fault. I had to stand over the birds with a shotgun to get them to eat the rejects. But after cooling my ego and trying again the second batch was fabulous. Used a little extra flour, cooked on a lower temp. and the "Sigficant other loves them. Thanks ever so much. The recipe is on the inside of the cabinet door over my mixing area. :O) Cap'n Jack

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Firehousecook AKA Cap'n Jack December 02, 2008
English Muffins (Bread Machine Method).