Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / English Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    English Muffins

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 30, 2001

      Correction regarding Ingredients Although these are not true English muffins as you would buy in an English Cake shop[You cannot get them this side of the Atlantic] I would use this recipe. there is however one serious flaw in it, half way through it states. Turn out the dough and knead for a minute or two and then cut with a glass. This is extremely dangerous as a few years ago I was doing just that when the glass shattered in my hand. I was before I retired a professional cook and I have British professional qualifications. From: Hilda@harris-clan.org Link back to recipe: http://www.recipezaar.com/604

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      These were good and the dough was fabulous to work with. Next time I'd roll them out a little thicker. And I would be tempted to add powdered milk or use all evaporated milk in a future batch. They didn't taste quite as rich as I was hoping...maybe more salt wouldn't hurt, either. They didn't have the nooks and crannies that I like in an English Muffin, but if I want that type, I'll use Alton Brown's recipe (though it is more labor intensive). I liked being able to roll them out, cut them out, and leave them in my cool kitchen overnight for their final rise. Like the quantity, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      I was really nervous about making these because I've never tried to make any bread type recipes before and I've never used yeast. These came out fantastic! Even a novice like me was able to make yummy English muffins, which I will no longer be buying from the grocery store.<br/><br/>Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      their must have been a crack in the glass to have it do this.. I always use glasses for cutting my biscuits and everything else.. and have NEVER EVER had one shatter on me.. I also have my Chef's lisences and have been so for 10 years.. My advice.. Inspect your Glass if your using one before hand for chips or cracks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Getting English Muffins in the Dominican Republic is not an easy thing. Thomas's show up from time to time, but frozen and really expensive. This recipe is great and fairly straightforward. The first time I made them they came out a little bland. 1 ½ tsp of salt for 4 ½ cups plus of flour is a little too little in my opinion. And since I was using unsalted butter, I decided to double the salt this time to 1 tbs. and liked them even better. I'm eating English Muffins again! Even though I'm not supposed to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      I make these using my bread machine for the dough, then as the recipe directs to cook them. They are SO GOOD! Complete with the nooks and crannies, they are softer and better flavored than store bought. My kids go through them like candy! I've got a batch in the bread machine right now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      These turned out nicely, although maybe not as good as the ones I get at Whole Foods/my local co-op. I substituted whole wheat flour for half of the flour to give it a bit more nutrition and taste. I also veganized it by using flaxseed-water mix for the egg, margarine in place of butter, and unsweetened soy milk. I tried using oil spray instead of melted butter when frying but this was a mistake as they didn't really brown up. I also had to leave them on for a lot longer to get them sufficiently done but that's more of my fault than anything. The taste was good though, especially with a little margarine and preserves. Just wish I could have gotten some nooks and crannies! :) Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      Very good. I was lazy and baked them in the oven, which is probably why they weren't flat on both sides like they should be. But they still tasted good as a breakfast sandwich with an egg and some ham!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      How fun and tasty too! Although they don't have as many nooks and crannies as store bought, and a bit softer, they're still a great little muffin that was easy to make. My cornmeal wasn't sticking very well to the dough so I brushed just a wee bit of water on them and then dipped which worked out better for me. Thanks for sharing your recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Best tasting English Muffins that I have ever made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Perfect English muffins, now I can stop looking for an English muffin recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I made these and they came out perfectly. This recipe is the same as "English Muffins" we get here in the states. You know, the kind you cut in two pieces and stick in the toaster, then smother with butter and peanut butter or your favorite jelly or jam and savor every mouthful? These are IT! Love them!!! I used a glass (PLASTIC one) or you can use a round biscuit or cookie cutter as well. Anything round works, even a glass glass, which I have used for years and NEVER had one break. Must have been a flaw in the glass Hilda used. Housewives and bakes alike have been using glasses to do biscuits and muffins for the last 100 years. If it scares you then use plastic. Works just as well. The muffins came out so good and flavorful, and I loved the recipe, so I will use it again instead of buying Thomas' English Muffins again. They are so expensive and these don't cost much at all to make. Love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for English Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.2
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    25%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 22.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 213.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites