Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / English Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    English Muffins

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2002

    • on August 09, 2006

      I made the dough for these in a bread machine on the dough cycle. After it was done, I broke the dough into 12 little balls, flattened them out, and cooked them on an electric griddle set at 325 degrees. They were so good that I have made them twice since. And SOO EASY! I love my ABM! Anyway. I did heed AW about the denseness, and used a whole packet of yeast (2 1/4 t. ) And they came out with all of the nooks and crannies that the store bought ones do' Honestly, before these, I thought english muffins where supposed to be a bit stale! LOL. I will never buy another. If you have problems with these, check the date on your yeast, and yes, do cook them on the stove top in a skillet, or on an electric griddle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      This was my first time making English muffins, and this recipe made it simple enough, while still explaining. I used a griddle (like what I use for pancakes) and they turned out well. I also added 3 t. cinnamon and some raisins. Fun to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      These came out more "biscuit-y" for me - could definitely be operator error. I'm going to try English Muffins (Bread Machine Method). and see if I fare better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      These were easy to make and taste great! I wasn't so sure though on the cooking method. I noticed other reviewers did theirs differently. I did mine in the oven and didn't quite have the texture of an english muffin. I will definitely try the griddle method next time. These are a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      This was delicious and a lot simpler than I thought it would be. I just used my cast iron skillet on top of the stove and turned out perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      These were outstanding. I did not however cook them over a burner or on a stone. I baked them in the oven till just golden. Everyone enjoyed these. I loved how soft and fluffy they were!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      DH made these last night. They were big and delicious! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      Like Allison Williams Am puzzled with baking/cooking instructions for this recipe No 16755 and that Temprature 350 Deg? Sirder

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      These were rather unfortunate. I tried to follow the recipe, but there wasn't nearly enough liquid to get a dough to form. And are these supposed to bake in the oven or cook on the stovetop? I tried them on the stovetop, as that seems to be the convention in most of the English Muffin recipes on this site, but after 20 minutes, they were still dense and doughy in the middle. On a positive note, they did smell wonderful. I'll definitely try again, just with a different recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      Great recipe S'kat! I liked that you roll the dough and slice rather than having to cut and reroll etc. These were so good right out of the oven! I used these to make faux sausage egg and cheese mcmuffins...YUM! Thanks S'kat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for English Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (772 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 187.7
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    23%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 13.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 231.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes