12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is exactly what I was looking for. I was able to substitute 1/2 of the flour with whole wheat flour, without turning the loaves heavy. The only other change I made was to add an additional 1/8 tsp. soda, as I wanted to make sure it turned out with lots of "holes". Super easy and not at all difficult - used my kitchen aid stand mixer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoDakCook March 28, 2010

My mixer's bowl may not have been large enough as the first mixture with only 2 cups of flour and the liquid ended up all over the sides and base of the mixer lol! But, having added the third cup before continuing to beat the mixture, order was restored without any harm to the recipe as the loaves turned out lovely. This is most definitely the best bread for toast, in my opinion - a lovely chewy centre with holes to soak up your spread of choice, and a really crispy, crunchy outer crust - heavenly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shazzie November 17, 2013

I have been making this for about 2 mo now for a certified organic farm every weekend to sell. I make this into mini-loaves. I use bulk yeast, so I use 2 TABLESPOONS (yep!) of yeast, and use water instead of milk (so it is dairy free). This recipe makes 5 mini loaves, they take about 15 min to rise (maybe 20 if your room isn't warm), and then I bake for 22 minutes and they come out perfect every time! People can't get enough of these! Thanks for such a simple yummy recipe! My kids are mad at me though, I never make enough for them! lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennywren93 June 29, 2009

Super-easy excellent bread. I subbed half the four with whole wheat with no problems. This is my new go-to recipe for breakfast bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2BigMommas February 18, 2009

This is great bread! Very easy to make, and a perfect english muffin taste and texture. My only complaint is that it doesn't raise as high as a sandwich bread, but given how good it is, that's a minor complaint.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH February 15, 2009

Great recipe, it's also in my Light & Tasty cookbook. I made two loaves and cut each into 16 slices, that made it 1.5 points per slice (if you follow weight watchers). Delicious and I'll make it often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pardeemom September 19, 2008

Good bread for toast. I tried part "white whole wheat" flour and it tasted yummy this morning. One thing you need to remember is to spoon the bread into the bread pan, but don't pat it down! The baking soda starts creating the chewy holes quickly and if you smoosh the bread in the pan, you lessen the "nooks and crannies". (Yes, I learned the hard way! LOL)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurietheLibrarian April 13, 2008

Excellent! Tastes good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hedi777 September 13, 2007

Very good for toast -- and super easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wife2abadge April 02, 2007

Excellent!!!! So much better than the bread purchased in stores.....and so simple to make also!! I halved the recipe and used canned milk instead of skim milk and honey instead of sugar! Wonderful flavor and so cheap to make!!!! Thank You!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Button Baker February 26, 2007
English Muffin Bread II