Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / English Muffin Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    English Muffin Bread

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2012

      Yummy easy bread. I did add an egg and 3 tbsp butter. I used the idea to boil water in the micro and then put the bread in to rise with the micro off & it rose in 45 min. Easier to make than the muffins. I tried to use the dough hook but would recommend the paddle to mix in the stand mixer. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      Great flavor, but I very heavy. The dough was very thick and stiff. I did two versions, 1 loaf and then made 8 muffins. They were big. For the muffins I fried them up and used a lid to get the centers to cook. These have great flavor and sizzled in the toaster. I think this has spoiled the family and they will not look at store bought the same. I read the longer you let the dough rise the more holes. I will keep trying to get the right texture. I read on another recipe to heat up 1 cup of water in the microwave, then let to dough rise in the hot/moist microwave(not on). This worked really well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      I was looking for an English muffin recipe and came across this, figured I would give it a try. I halved the recipe and made a couple of modifications, instead of spooning the loaf into two pans I divided the dough into 8 and made them into balls (when handling the dough use lots of flour) I then flattened them, placed them on a parchment lined baking sheet. I let rise for the 45 minutes and then baked for 15 minutes. They are a bit heavier then your standard English muffin but tasted just as good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      This was very easy and quick to put together and the result was delicious! I combined your recipe with the directions for #44821 - mixing half the flour and dry ingredients with liquids then adding remaining flour a cup at a time. The dough was indeed very stiff and I was a bit concerned, but I let it rise and voila - perfect English Muffin Bread to go with my homemade Strawberry Preserves. My friends and I thank you for sharing a recipe I will look forward to making again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Made this for a weekend getaway with friends to rave reviews. Will definately be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

    • on November 23, 2009

      I was looking for an english muffin recipe and saw this. It looked so easy I thought I would give it a try. Boy, am I so glad I did. This recipe is fantastic. It truly does taste like real english muffins! This recipe is as easy to make as it sounds. I made it exactly according to the directions and wouldn't change a thing. (except to maybe make several batches at a time and freeze a few loafs for later) Thanks so much for this recipe! My family loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      This must be one of the easiest breads to make. Thank you! I halved the recipe and used up some remaining Zopf flour and rustic bread flour plus multi-purpose flour and it still turned out tasty and good-looking. My loaf took about 55 minutes to proof (to reach the volume I wanted) and it baked for 28 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      English Muffins are almost $4.00 for 5 in Yarmouth. I am so thankful I have Recipezaar to save the day for me. Thank you for this great recipe Larry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      This bread is delicious!! It mixes up so easy and I'm SO glad I didn't half the recipe like I had planned. One loaf was gone before the other had even cooled off LOL I was going to post a picture , but Breezytoo's sliced picture looks better. She got the texture of it. I couldn't do that. LOL Actually , it was that photo that made me want to make the bread. Thanks for posting this recipe Larry!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      This is my mom's recipe (Mary Ann Risser) and is THE BEST! I was going to put it up but am glad you had already shared it! Thanks! :) TIP - she taught me to use the Kitchen Aid Mixer and use the thermometer when heating the milk and water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      My husband loves english muffins and toast. So I thought this would be perfect for him and it was. Used my Kitchen Aid mixer to mix and let rise for 45 mins. It came out perfect. I will definitely make this on a regular basis. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Wonderful bread! I halved the recipe and started it in my bread machine on the dough cycle. Used water and dry milk powder in place of the milk. Wasn't sure how much to let this rise, though. It hadn't doubled after 45 min. but I baked it anyway and am satisfied with the results. Thanks for another keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      Wonderful! So quick and easy to make and you have great tasting English Muffin bread quickly! The first piece I had right out of the oven sliced hot with butter, yum! The second went in the toaster and I was in heaven! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe that will definitely be used often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      I halfed the recipe and shaped dough into rolls. They were very good. Glad I found this. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      If I could give this 10 stars I would. Not only is it easy but makes a picture perfect loaf of wonderfull right on the money English Muffin taste-ing bread. So glad I found this & thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I found this recipe on another website and made it the other day. Hubby and I can't get enough of it and I know I'll be making this again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I made this, and it turned out very different from what I was expecting. However, I think that was my fault - my yeast was very old - and the result was still quite tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      This was really good. I halved the recipe and I didn't have any cornmeal but it still turned out great. Tastes just like an english muffin and excellent toasted. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      My mom used to make this, and I was searching for a good recipe: Thanks! Very nice on its own, and even better toasted. I think I might add a bit more salt next time to suit my taste, but otherwise it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for English Muffin Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.4
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    53%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 5.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 435.8 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites