25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy easy bread. I did add an egg and 3 tbsp butter. I used the idea to boil water in the micro and then put the bread in to rise with the micro off & it rose in 45 min. Easier to make than the muffins. I tried to use the dough hook but would recommend the paddle to mix in the stand mixer. Enjoy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawni October 30, 2012

Great flavor, but I very heavy. The dough was very thick and stiff. I did two versions, 1 loaf and then made 8 muffins. They were big. For the muffins I fried them up and used a lid to get the centers to cook. These have great flavor and sizzled in the toaster. I think this has spoiled the family and they will not look at store bought the same. I read the longer you let the dough rise the more holes. I will keep trying to get the right texture. I read on another recipe to heat up 1 cup of water in the microwave, then let to dough rise in the hot/moist microwave(not on). This worked really well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coppercloud September 13, 2012

I was looking for an English muffin recipe and came across this, figured I would give it a try. I halved the recipe and made a couple of modifications, instead of spooning the loaf into two pans I divided the dough into 8 and made them into balls (when handling the dough use lots of flour) I then flattened them, placed them on a parchment lined baking sheet. I let rise for the 45 minutes and then baked for 15 minutes. They are a bit heavier then your standard English muffin but tasted just as good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKA_Muddee November 09, 2009

This was very easy and quick to put together and the result was delicious! I combined your recipe with the directions for #44821 - mixing half the flour and dry ingredients with liquids then adding remaining flour a cup at a time. The dough was indeed very stiff and I was a bit concerned, but I let it rise and voila - perfect English Muffin Bread to go with my homemade Strawberry Preserves. My friends and I thank you for sharing a recipe I will look forward to making again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candy C April 23, 2003

Made this for a weekend getaway with friends to rave reviews. Will definately be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
closet chef in ma February 28, 2010

I was looking for an english muffin recipe and saw this. It looked so easy I thought I would give it a try. Boy, am I so glad I did. This recipe is fantastic. It truly does taste like real english muffins! This recipe is as easy to make as it sounds. I made it exactly according to the directions and wouldn't change a thing. (except to maybe make several batches at a time and freeze a few loafs for later) Thanks so much for this recipe! My family loves it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Johnson Family November 23, 2009

This must be one of the easiest breads to make. Thank you! I halved the recipe and used up some remaining Zopf flour and rustic bread flour plus multi-purpose flour and it still turned out tasty and good-looking. My loaf took about 55 minutes to proof (to reach the volume I wanted) and it baked for 28 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RotiJala November 27, 2008

English Muffins are almost $4.00 for 5 in Yarmouth. I am so thankful I have Recipezaar to save the day for me. Thank you for this great recipe Larry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reya doucette November 08, 2008

This bread is delicious!! It mixes up so easy and I'm SO glad I didn't half the recipe like I had planned. One loaf was gone before the other had even cooled off LOL I was going to post a picture , but Breezytoo's sliced picture looks better. She got the texture of it. I couldn't do that. LOL Actually , it was that photo that made me want to make the bread. Thanks for posting this recipe Larry!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlene. October 23, 2008
English Muffin Bread