11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is brilliant. I've made them both ways, either all brown sugar or 3oz Brown sugar and 3oz GS. I have found that cooking them for 45 minutes at 150C or 300F makes them stick together more. Could be the pan I use, but 300F x 45 minutes works for me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs the Brit June 20, 2007

Great gluten free recipe only had 3 oz brown sugar so used granulated sugar too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nadia W. May 26, 2014

If I were just rating this recipe on taste, I'd probably give it 5 stars; it has a very nice toffee/caramel flavor. But, as a recipe for flapjack, I found it disappointing. (FYI, I followed Babs' recommendation to bake it for 45 minutes at 300 degrees, and Pat's recommendation to use half golden syrup and half brown sugar, which might have made a difference.) I think the ratio of oats to syrup is way off, because mine turned out more like a gooey candy with some oats in it. If I could change the texture of this recipe and keep the flavor, I think it would be a winner; so, I might try it again with 12 or even 16 oz oats, and see if that helps turn it into a syrupy oat bar rather than a soft oat-studded toffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarsonM May 01, 2011

I agree with the other reviewer that the oven temperature is too high - good thing I was watching them rather than just waiting for the timer to sound. I used half and half sugar and golden syrup. Made a tasty treaty flapjack Best to try not to think of how much butter is in them ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moyni January 10, 2009

I have made this quite a few times now, first i made them with half and half sugar and golden syrup fab!! next I double the recipe using sugar and GS and added 4 oz of chopped apricots - out of this world!! The next time I made them I used all sugar and no GS, nice and buttery but a slightly drier texture. I much prefer the ones with GS in, they give a much more baked and chewy texture. I would definatly recommend the apricots tho...they are so nice. Thanks Kitka9 this is my favourite flapjack recipe from now on...it even beats mine and I have been using it for the past 20 years!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tulip-Fairy January 31, 2007

I had to estimate with the ingredient measurements because I don't have a scale and because of that, my flapjacks didn't hold together well. But the taste more than made up for it (I used Golden Syrup). Will definitely make these again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellogs January 28, 2005

I used 50/50 sugar/syrup. Because I like my flapjaks to be quite moist I also used a can of cherries in syrup, let a lot of the syrup drain of, spread a thin layer of flapjack mix into the baking tin, then a layer of cherries in syrup and covered it with the rest of the mix. They were absolutely delicious and non survived the day! I might use a little less sugar next time as it was quite sweet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sylvie- August 09, 2004

My recipe for flapjack is as above but use 3oz sugar,3oz golden syrup and add approx 15 halved glace cherries when stirring in the oats.also could substitute cherries for chopped dates or dried apricots.this recipe is a firm favourite with my family and very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teapot tilly March 08, 2004

Try half the butter, half the sugar and add a large teaspoon of syrup instead. Flattening down is easier if the spoon is damp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wizzy November 23, 2003

The 50/50 syrup and sugar idea is a good one, but try using maple syrup and not just regular table or corn syrup for a delicous Canadian twist to a very traditional British classic

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tigress July 30, 2002
English Flapjack