Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / English Flapjack Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    English Flapjack

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2007

      This recipe is brilliant. I've made them both ways, either all brown sugar or 3oz Brown sugar and 3oz GS. I have found that cooking them for 45 minutes at 150C or 300F makes them stick together more. Could be the pan I use, but 300F x 45 minutes works for me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      Great gluten free recipe only had 3 oz brown sugar so used granulated sugar too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      If I were just rating this recipe on taste, I'd probably give it 5 stars; it has a very nice toffee/caramel flavor. But, as a recipe for flapjack, I found it disappointing. (FYI, I followed Babs' recommendation to bake it for 45 minutes at 300 degrees, and Pat's recommendation to use half golden syrup and half brown sugar, which might have made a difference.) I think the ratio of oats to syrup is way off, because mine turned out more like a gooey candy with some oats in it. If I could change the texture of this recipe and keep the flavor, I think it would be a winner; so, I might try it again with 12 or even 16 oz oats, and see if that helps turn it into a syrupy oat bar rather than a soft oat-studded toffee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I agree with the other reviewer that the oven temperature is too high - good thing I was watching them rather than just waiting for the timer to sound. I used half and half sugar and golden syrup. Made a tasty treaty flapjack Best to try not to think of how much butter is in them ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      I have made this quite a few times now, first i made them with half and half sugar and golden syrup fab!! next I double the recipe using sugar and GS and added 4 oz of chopped apricots - out of this world!! The next time I made them I used all sugar and no GS, nice and buttery but a slightly drier texture. I much prefer the ones with GS in, they give a much more baked and chewy texture. I would definatly recommend the apricots tho...they are so nice. Thanks Kitka9 this is my favourite flapjack recipe from now on...it even beats mine and I have been using it for the past 20 years!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2005

      I had to estimate with the ingredient measurements because I don't have a scale and because of that, my flapjacks didn't hold together well. But the taste more than made up for it (I used Golden Syrup). Will definitely make these again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2004

      I used 50/50 sugar/syrup. Because I like my flapjaks to be quite moist I also used a can of cherries in syrup, let a lot of the syrup drain of, spread a thin layer of flapjack mix into the baking tin, then a layer of cherries in syrup and covered it with the rest of the mix. They were absolutely delicious and non survived the day! I might use a little less sugar next time as it was quite sweet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      My recipe for flapjack is as above but use 3oz sugar,3oz golden syrup and add approx 15 halved glace cherries when stirring in the oats.also could substitute cherries for chopped dates or dried apricots.this recipe is a firm favourite with my family and very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      Try half the butter, half the sugar and add a large teaspoon of syrup instead. Flattening down is easier if the spoon is damp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2002

      The 50/50 syrup and sugar idea is a good one, but try using maple syrup and not just regular table or corn syrup for a delicous Canadian twist to a very traditional British classic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2002

      When making flapjacks I have always used a 50/50 syrup, sugar mix, heating the butter, sugar and syrup together before adding the oats. This recipe, adding the sugar cold, makes preparation quicker (no need to wait for all the sugar to melt). The results look delicious (too hot yet to taste!) Thanks for a quickie method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for English Flapjack

    Serving Size: 1 (567 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 272.5
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    50%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 36.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 143.0 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    66%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes