Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / English Batter Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    English Batter Buns

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2010

      Good buns, even better-tasting the next day. HUGE!! Made in my Kitchenaid mixer, very easy and very quick. Thanks . . . Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I made this today to go with my ham hock lentil soup. It was fantastic. Everyone should try it. Very easy to make and no kneading required. I loved the texture of this buns. Thank you Bonnie!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Delicious yeast dough, but with half the rising time usually required for dinner rolls. The danger with these is that they are like potato chips... you can't eat just one. Straight out of the oven we had to taste test but that turned into two & three. I used my KA to mix initially & then stirred by hand the second time. I think these would be great with some garlic powder or fresh minced garlic mixed with the melted butter too. Thanks for sharing, Bonnie! Made for My 3 Chefs Nov 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      Made these in my KA mixer then did the 25 strokes by hand. Used butter-flavored Crisco because that's what I had on hand. So easy to make and I couldn't believe how delicious these are! These are definitely on my list of things to make for company or when I want to splurge, since I couldn't stop at eating just one! Made for Family Picks from the Great Britain region for ZWT8, team Diners, Winers, and Chives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      We really enjoyed these quick and easy to make buns. They were perfect with our dinner this evening. They were really quick and easy to make, with excellent results. A light, tender, fluffy bun with great flavor. Thank you for sharing the recipe Bonnie G. Made for the Fearless Red Dragons - ZWT8 - Family Picks Round

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Loved how little time it took to make these yeast rolls!!! I made 1/2 of the recipe and they turned out just as expected. They were great with some leftover spaghetti pie today for lunch. Plan to use the rest for dinner. Next time I might try doing 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      Loved these buns. So easy and quick with a total of 50 minutes rise time. Love being able to cook dinner,knowing I can pop these in the oven and have them ready to go. Thank You. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      Easy, quick, and good! Bypasses a lot of the kneading and shaping steps; the sticky dough is a little tricky to measure, but rises into the pan. I think this chef's muffin pans are larger than mine; I got fifteen nice-sized rolls. I probably underbaked mine, but they're perfect inside. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      Easy, fluffy, soooo good!!! These are keepers. Thanks, Bonnie G! Made for ZWT8 - Great Britain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      Easy-peasy and yummy too. Was a cinch to mix up and the dough was very soft and a pleasure to handle. I made mini-loaves and served them with honey-butter. I'm the hero of the day around here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      These breads are so yummy. I made them with my bread machine. I had to add maybe 1/2 cup of flour cause it was too liquid. When I removed the dough from the bread machine, I divided in 12 and shaped them to put in the muffin pan. I baked them 13 minutes. They are so yummy. Very tender and great flavor. They won't last long. When I took the photo, there was already 2 breads that were eaten. So I had to do fast LOL Thanks Bonnie :) Made for the Zwizzle Chicks of ZWT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      These huge morsels of delicious goodness are wonderful. They have a perfect flavor and so light and fluffy that they deserve 10 stars. I was able to get 12 VERY large rolls from the recipe. I let my melted butter cool while baking so that when I brushed the butter on I only was using the solids from the butter and not the liquids. This gave the rolls a wonderful taste of sweet butter as well. Made and reviewed for PAC Spring 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      I made these buns and they turned out beautifuly but they had no taste. I would have thought that with that much yeast they would have tasted very yeasty but not so. I will not make them again and I really hate it because they were so pretty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for English Batter Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 262.0
     
    Calories from Fat 112
    42%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 38.9 mg
    12%
    Sodium 233.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites