Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Engagement Roast Chicken (Barefoot Contessa) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Engagement Roast Chicken (Barefoot Contessa)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2010

      Well this wasn't an engagement roast chicken, but DH might have wanted to propose all over again, lol!!! My chicken was almost 6 lbs so I cooked it a bit longer, but it was so flavorful and juicy, the whole family loved it. I served it with mashed potatoes, gravy made from the drippings and corn. Thanks for sharing the recipe!! Made for 123 Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Absoutely divine! We LOVED this, it made a wonderful Sunday Lunch for today! I followed this to the letter and was rewarded with moist and crispy chicken with a wonderful wine and lemon sauce. I cooked this in my woodburning stove for 2 hours, it was perfect. We ate this with steamed broccoli, carrots, garden peas, new potatoes and home-made stuffing. Made for Special Meals in the Photo's Forum and VERY much enjoyed thanks! A keeper for me! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      This dish was AWESOME. I didn't have lemons and substituted Green Peppers. It was so tasty. I followed the recipe exactly (other than the substitution).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      Can I marry you, Scoutie? Because this is some outstanding chicken - moist and bursting with flavor. I added potatoes, as suggested, which were also very tasty. And the gravy is divine! I will never make a roast chicken any other way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      Yum says it all..........wonderful flavor and the lemon shines thru beautifully. Sometimes roast chicken can have an oily taste but ths is sharp and clear. Thanks.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Delicious! Cooked perfectly, moist and flavorful. The sauce is very rich. Looking forward to making soup tomorrow from the leftovers and adding the rest of the rich sauce to the stock. Made for Best of 2012 game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      Excellent roast chicken! This was a wonderful cooking method and the results were perfect. I really loved the sweet onions surrounding the chicken. The gravy was great, too. I would only make one teeny change next time - I would omit the wine and instead double the chicken broth. I didn't care for the wine flavor in the gravy. That is definitely a personal preference though - not a reflection on the recipe. Roasting potatoes on a separate baking sheet is something else I will add in next time. Thank you for posting. I love Ina's recipes and this one was excellent. I'll be moving this recipe over to my best of the best file. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2014

      simply amazing....I cooked two 5lb. birds at once and I'm glad I did! Th e chicken was roasted to perfection and the sauce just makes it out-of-this world. You can taste the wine, lemon, onion and garlic yet nothing over powers anything else. Delish, I can see how this could "seal the deal"! *side note, I accidentally only bought 2 lemons even though I was doubling the recipe but this turned out just fine, as I think it would be too lemony for me- if I had had two lemons per bird as a opposed to two for each.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Engagement Roast Chicken (Barefoot Contessa)

    Serving Size: 1 (453 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1433.5
     
    Calories from Fat 870
    60%
    Total Fat 96.7 g
    148%
    Saturated Fat 27.6 g
    138%
    Cholesterol 443.0 mg
    147%
    Sodium 477.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 107.5 g
    215%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites