31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This chicken recipe came out great, it's perfect!! Thanks for the tip on softening the lemons. Believe it or not my boyfriend proposed to me!!!!!!! The weekend after i made this chicken. Simple and Delicious!!!! Thanks Ashbabe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mye Mye February 17, 2004

I told myself I wouldn't rate this recipe until I got engaged...and now I finally am engaged!! It did take me 2-3 times making a modified version of this dish before he proposed though :P Overall, this is a very nice base recipe. On its own, I think it would be too bland/simple for my tastes. To perk it up, I added some garlic cloves and sprigs of rosemary to the cavity of the bird, and sliced almost all the way through the lemons. I also made small slits in the skin under the breast/thigh meat and rubbed a mixture of lemon zest/butter/garlic slivers/rosemary under the skin for more flavor. I also rubbed zest over the outside of the hen along with the salt and pepper. Instead of using a whole chicken, I used a Cornish Game Hen to split between the two of us, and covered the dish with foil during the first half of cooking to keep it from drying out too much.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sephardi Kitchen May 28, 2011

So simple and yummy! Next time I'll add garlic cloves.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheCatalyst April 11, 2011

I have been making a similar recipe for over 30yrs now. The only difference is that I slice the lemons nearly through and add garlic cloves, peeled and also sliced nearly through, inside the chicken cavity with the lemons, salt and pepper. We love the lemon-garlic flavor, so I add 10 to 12 cloves and it's WONDERFUL!!!! I also roast breast down so that the juices gather in the breast and the meat is extremely flavorful and tender. Maybe this will flavor it up a bit for Tony :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindadragun February 08, 2009

This is one of the Best chicken Recipes I have ever made, it turned out absolutely Perfect, crispy skin, nice lemon flavor. I served it with steamed asparagus and herb roasted potatoes. Thank you Ashbabe for a Really special recipe.. This has already become a favorite in my home. If I could I would have given you **********10 stars!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki1402 March 16, 2004

This recipe is delicious!! It was a total hit with my family, I have made this twice so far and each time it has come out with a savory lemon flavor, the chicken is extremely moist and flavorful and with a VERY CRISP SKIN - PERFECT!! I wouldnt change a thing. Thanks so much Ashbabe you have definately given us a new favorite chicken recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonny NYC March 15, 2004

Looks yummy. Thought I'd mention... I have given up on trying to use lemon squeezers. I find that if I cut the lemons in half and just mash up the flesh with your thumbs, you get all the juice in a lot less time. You do have to figure how to strain the pulp and seeds out, if you want to get rid of them, but I don't mind the pulp and I just pick out the seeds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marion01 July 23, 2014

This chicken came out beautifully. I followed the recommendations that Sephardi Kitchen said to use - minus the garlic. <br/><br/>Very, very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeidreJane June 02, 2014

I made 2 of these at once. That is a lot of lemon juice to squeeze! It was easy to do, but I personally thought the flavor was a little *too* subtle. Very moist for chicken that hasn't been brined, so good to make in a pinch. I think I will try other recipes next time, though. I threw out one of the whole lemons, but then realized I could probably still use the juice in cooked recipes, so I saved the rest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch January 11, 2012

I love this chicken, my mom saw this in her glamor magazine and said I have to try this. I made this on my 6 year anniversary on May 16th for my boyfriend and then not even a month later on June 13th he took me to Michigan where the is from and we went up to Mackinac City. He took me to the top of the Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse and proposed there. I was so surprised! I called my mom and told her the great news and she said I guess the chicken does work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleykae86 December 22, 2011
Engagement Chicken